We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old fashioned and good” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Southern Sweets Ice Cream Parlor & Sandwich Shop

Southern Sweets Ice Cream Parlor & Sandwich Shop
Ranked #2 of 8 Dessert in Beaufort
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$2 - US$10
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Southern Sweets Ice Cream Parlor & Sandwich Shop is a hidden treasure in the downtown Beaufort Historic area. Not a place you want to miss when visiting Beaufort. Located in the Old Bay Marketplace (behind Lulu Burgess). Step back into the 50's with all your ice cream favorites. The full sandwich menu offers some southern classics that are sure to please. The hot dog menu is so much fun with an Elvis dog, Cha Cha dog, and Reuben dog, just to name a few. Ice Cream comes from a family owned dairy (cannot be bought in a store). Everything about Southern Sweets is simply "Southern Sweets!"
Mobile, AL
Level Contributor
390 reviews
255 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“Old fashioned and good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

It is an ice cream parlor with an old fashioned style. The reason it gets a five star rating from me is the girl behind the counter. Friendly and accomodating. A refreshing change from the 'hurry up and order' style in so many places

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kegan36604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    31
    10
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

So quaint and so delicious. We bring our family here almost every time we come to town. Very personable staff and wonderful experience every time.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank tdrew17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joliet, Illinois
Level Contributor
27 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best old fashioned ice cream!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

It was so good we went twice! My husband is a butter pecan man and it was perfectly salty and sweet with huge pecans! The first time I had the sea turtle sundae and it was outstanding with homemade whip cream. The second time had mint chocolate chip which was good but the praline and cream was outstanding! Home made waffle cones and a 50's atmosphere make this a must stop in Beaufort!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ahzeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
76 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great break during our Beaufort visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

We took a day trip to Beaufort and stopped at Southern Sweets for some ice cream during a day of shopping on Bay Street. Our kids had single scoops, and my wife an I shared a brownie sundae. The kids gave the ice cream a thumbs up, and our sundae hit the spot. We liked the atmosphere with its traditional ice cream parlor feel (we ate at the counter), and the staff was super friendly. After smelling the gumbo ordered by the gentleman next to me, I wished we had eaten lunch there as well.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank BluegrassBrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Ice Cream/Soda shop”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

This place was such a treat!! Reminds us of an old time soda shop and the Ice Cream was great. They have so many flavors to choose from and all kinds of inventive sundaes. Kid tested and mother approved! Loved this little place and will definitely go back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Anghep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Southern Sweets Ice Cream Parlor & Sandwich Shop also viewed

Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
 
Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
 
Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Southern Sweets Ice Cream Parlor & Sandwich Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing