We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“DO NOT STAY AT THIS SHABBY, OVER RATED FACILITY”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beaufort West
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Beaufort
Punta Gorda FL
Level Contributor
67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“DO NOT STAY AT THIS SHABBY, OVER RATED FACILITY”
Reviewed 2 May 2010

My wife and I stayed at this hotel several years ago, and it was fine. Now it has deteriated to teriible! Apparantly taken over by a new owner. We stayed from 4/28 to 5/2 2010. and found the following. Carpets and furniture stained and dirty. Hotel was out of most of the so called expanded breakfast items every day we were there. Maids slipped a note under the door on Sat. at 9:15 AM stating that since we were still in the room, it would not be serviced! We were in Beaufort for the annual food festival and it did not begin on that day until 11AM. We left the room at 10AM, the maid was still next door, saw us, gave us an evil stare , and never returned to service room!

There are many really nice hotels in Beaufort ( super town!) that do not treat gusts as though they were in the slums of Calcutta. Carlson should really Vet their franchisees better. This place should be on their list of shame.

Dr. Harvey

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank armyveteran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    178
    121
    77
    81
    86
See reviews for
328
85
22
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Beaufort, South Carolina
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2009

We had to request a room change upon checkin as the "hot tub" room reeked of smoke, even thought they have switched over to a non-smoking facility. Our new room was fine. The breakfast was very good; a nice variety of foods.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S_cubedBeaufort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntsville, Alabama
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 July 2009

The only thing I saw that could be a negative was the carpets needed cleaning. There were several large stains in the hallways and the carpet in the room looked dirty. Other than that everything was very clean and the staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisarn63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
missouri
1 review
Reviewed 29 June 2009

We traveled to the area to visit family and have a summer vacation with three small children. We booked two rooms for 2.5 weeks. The night we arrived we found one bed unmade, stains in the carpets and the rooms smelled musty. In the bathroom there was mold along all the seams of the tub and shower area. When we went to the front desk to ask about another room we were told they were full......we happened to be on the ground floor facing the front parking lot, other "guests" staying there were propping the end hall door open for acces to the bar across the street. There was constant traffic in and out ALL night long and when we questioned the security of this were told "well its a graduation weekend" Back to the mold and mildew and the full rooms, the front desk clerk went to the back office came out with a half bottle of Clorox clean up and handed it to me.......then stared at me and actually said "what you want me to spray it on for you?"
Unfortunately we were stuck for the night it was after midnight at this point. The next morning we again requested new rooms, were given new keys to rooms on the third floor and told to hurry up and move out of our current rooms so they could turn them over for the next reservations. I went to check the new rooms and as I walked into the first one and stepped in to check the bathroom for mold............the ENTIRE light fixture cover fell out on my head! I took the fixture downstairs to the desk with now ALL four keys to all the rooms and we checked out..........down the street to the Hilton.......fabulous move!

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissouriGolfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Beaufort hotels

Galax, Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2009

we spent 3 night there and were very pleased with the accomodations and the friendliness of the staff. The breakfast had a varied selection of items, all very good.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank voyageur20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, SC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2009

The Country Inn and Suites was nice. Our room had 2 queen beds, very comfortable. The bathroom was large and well lit. Water pressure was not the best though. There is a refrigerator and microwave in the room, as well as coffee pot and hairdryer, iron and board. There is an indoor pool. Complimentary breakfast, mostly continental or microwave type stuff and make your own waffles. Lobby is nice. Cookies and coffee are always available there. Free wireless internet access. Why is it the less expensive hotels offer that amenity?? More expensive ones charge for that and breakfast. The room was very clean and all staff working were very friendly and helpful. Even though we were staying for free, using points, we were not treated any less than a "paying" customer, which is sometimes the case I have experienced.

The location is not but a few miles from the historic district and the waterfront park there is awesome!! A must visit! Just drive up and down the streets down there for some awesome old home views too. Shops and restaurants/cafes, etc. as well. overall, a nice hotel. You could hear people talking int eh halls and we could hear the people above us walking across the floor, but it was not too disturbing.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bingo3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 July 2008

We originally booked 5 rooms together to attend a family wedding in Beaufort. At first the hotel seemed lovely, but a few hours after checking in we found out that the charges for all five rooms were being taken off of one of our party's debit card, rather than the five individual family members cards. Upon speaking with the front desk clerk we were informed that a credit would be put on the card immediately to correct the error. Well, here we are four days later and the hotel has still not corrected the error, even though the other rooms were paid for with cash. We have tried to contact hotel management only to be told that the General Manager of the hotel would have to take care of it and, unfortunately, no one knows when the GM plans to come in to work.

The family member who has had the charges for five king size rooms for two nights put on her card was the one member of our party who could least afford such an expenditure and was stuck hundreds of miles from her home on a weekend, unable to access any funds because her debit card had such a large hold on it.

We will NEVER use this company again for accomodations and I seriously suggest that other travelers consider wisely their choice.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Management, front desk service
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank mjtitsworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beaufort hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Beaufort
Hampton Inn Beaufort
#6 of 15 in Beaufort
4.0 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sleep Inn Beaufort
Sleep Inn Beaufort
#7 of 15 in Beaufort
4.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
0.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Beaufort
Comfort Suites Beaufort
#9 of 15 in Beaufort
4.0 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Beaufort at Highway 21
1.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Beaufort
1.2 mi away
Quality Inn at Town Center
Quality Inn at Town Center
#11 of 15 in Beaufort
3.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beaufort West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beaufort West

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beaufort West
Address: 2450 Boundary St, Beaufort, SC 29906-3769
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Beaufort
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Beaufort
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beaufort West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Country Inn and Suites in Beautiful Beaufort South Carolina features 77 Guest Rooms and Suites including Jacuzzi Suites. We offer a Free Hot Breakfast, Free High Speed WI-FI Internet, Indoor Heated Pool. The Country Inn and Suites, Beaufort, South Carolina is a 100% Non-Smoking Property. Enjoy our Southern Charm as our "Team" will make your stay a pleasant one. Come visit and Let Us "Welcome You To Our Home, Our Country"! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Beaufort West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson Beaufort West
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Beaufort West Hotel Beaufort
Country Inn Beaufort
Beaufort Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing