We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“love the scenery just not in July”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Beaufort
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hunting Island State Park Campground
Certificate of Excellence
TN
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“love the scenery just not in July”
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Wkee went in our Rv and our campsite was about halfway back. The beach was nothing like I've seen before. It seemed to go on for miles. It was a dog friendly beach which was great. Being in July, there were a ton of mosquitos. Bring tons of candles, anthing to get rid of them. We left for a couple of minutes and caught a raccoon on picnic table. Be sure to keep your food and garbage up. Just be prepared. The people were very friendly. The campstore was well stocked and had great souveniers. Next time I would like to get a camp site closer to the ocean. The showers were nasty. The floor was covered with dirt and sand but you are on the beach. The showers have a dressing area then goes into the individual showers. It would be nice if when you step out of the shower there were individual changing areas.

Room Tip: suggest sites closest to beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    33
    17
    7
    3
See reviews for
80
45
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

If you love nature and the beach, Hunting Island is perfect. With the campground being ocean front and heavily shaded, with paved roads and multiple access points to the beach, we have to rate Hunting Island Campground 5 out of 5. There are plenty of hiking/biking trails that lead to the lighthouse, the marsh walk and the pier. Our two boys, ages 6 and 8 had a blast riding their bikes everywhere in the mornings and evenings and spending the days on the beach. The campground store is full of necessities and treasures and it has wi-fi that reached to our particular campsite which was about 40 yards away. There is a code that locks the gate to the campground at 10pm, but is available at the information area within the store for those dining out late. Only inconveniences were the muddy floors and sinks in the bathhouses...but they are cleaned well daily - but a beach campground bathhouse is impossible to keep clean. Camping sites are a bit close to each other too, but still all well worth the experience. We will return.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank lcparsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beech Island, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

its a great state park with alot of things to do. has a nice campground. always have friendly people. lots of nature to see. great kayaking, fishing, and beach walking. have never had a bad trip here.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cowtown036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Just got back from Memorial weekend camping here, 3 nights of sun and fun with another family. We booked 2 oceanside sites 11 months ago, which you have to do to get your choice of site. Our particular site did not have electricity but didn't really miss it since. The on-site store is great and has everything you need at reasonable prices. We were blessed with great weather and a beautiful full moon on the Saturday night, will definitely be booking again for next year!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jennifer E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

This is a stunning camp site situated on the North side of Hunting Island. A short trail leads to a pristine beach, with a flat slope into the sea.

There are lots of loops depending on your camping requirements. There are two sets of primitive camp sites, no water or electricity, in very private settings.
The beach sites are standard water/elec hook up sites, but are not very private, the sites look to be pretty crammed in, but you're right on the beach. I visited the restrooms in that area; they weren't the best in the campground...

There are also some more secluded loops, all set in stunning scenery of pines, palms etc. You have to visit to scope out which is the best site for you, some are a little more open to the one lane road that runs throughout, some are 'protected' by where you park your car. All very private, and beautiful. My favorites are the ones furthest from the beach (unfortunately), they seem a little larger and the terrain varies a little. Some are next to a tidal inlet and get a little humid/buggy though...
There's a playground for kids, a small but well stocked (especially for tourist trinkets...) shop, and oh, did I mention the awesome beach??!!
In the middle of the island is a state park with a cool lighthouse, and the bottom of the island has a pier that's great for catching blue crabs, and fishing. There's also a boat launch and a little trail over the marsh to a small island. There are also walking trails around the main island.

Watch out for the wildlife, you will see and hear deer, raccoons and other critters running around all night, as well as the birds and bugs. And keep your food locked away, the raccoons WILL get it!

Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Yorkiebrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrboro, North Carolina, United States
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

We rented a tent only site for two nights. Ours was the last one available when we booked (a week ahead), so book early if you would like your choice of spots. The sites are more expensive than some (ours was $30 a night), but this may reflect either upkeep for the park facilities (lighthouse, nature and visitor's center, trails).

Our site ended up being isolated from the other tent sites (lot 73), right next to a beach access point. None of the spots we saw seemed all that private, so we didn't mind seeing people walk by (and our dog enjoyed greeting other dogs on their way to the beach). However, we did hear lots of noise the first night, as people talked while walking to the beach at night with flashlights that shone into our tent.

Most of the campsites were occupied by RVers, so this campground lacks the rustic feel of some others (such as Live Oaks near Edisto or Oyster Point in North Carolina). However, the facilities were better than some state parks--there were bathrooms with showers, and we had a tap at our site. Some reviewers have complained that the facilities could use updating, but this park was better equipped than Oyster Point, where we stayed last, which had only a composting toilet, no sinks or showers. It's called camping, people. If you want luxury bathrooms stay at a hotel!

The beach here is pleasant, with not too many people (since it is campers and day use only). There are tons of sand dollars if you dive down in the water at the beach to find them. We saw a jellyfish washed up on shore, but fortunately were not stung while swimming. Dogs are allowed on the beach, on a leash, although we did see people let their dogs off leash early in the morning and at night. No one seemed to mind.


The park store is well stocked (much more elaborate than most), with almost anything you'd need in terms of camping supplies and basic variety store-type food items. They do not carry anything too perishable (no eggs), so you'll need to travel a bit further down the road into Beaufort if you need groceries.

Further down from the campground, you can visit the lighthouse, a visitor's center, marsh boardwalk, fishing pier, and nature center. There are also quite extensive nature trails (most around 2 miles or less), so this is not for hard core hikers. But you can map out a 4-6 mile hike if you'd like, or take a shorter one through the unique maritime forest. There's lots to do without leaving the park. We fished on the pier (no license needed), hiked in the forest, and walked out on the marsh boardwalk at low tide to see the fiddler crabs scavenging. The visitor's center and nature center were both small, with not too many exhibits, but were worth stopping by.

Beaufort, SC is a nice little town with friendly people, a boardwalk with cute waterfront cafes, antique shops, and historic buildings. Worth exploring as well. Overall, a fun camping spot with lots to do.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jordynn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodruff, South Carolina, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2013

We were there in March of 2013 and there was an incident where three rangers got drunk and the law had to be called. According to the local newspaper there was a fire arm introduced. I heard through the campground grapevine that the head ranger was involved. It sounds like there are some judgment issues here. My family and I do not feel safe with stuff like that going on. I understand through some camper friends that the head ranger is still there. With people like that working in the park, we will have to re-think visiting Hunting Island again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CharlieSandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beaufort
8.5 mi away
Quality Inn St. Helena
Quality Inn St. Helena
#1 of 1 in Saint Helena Island
98 reviews
24.9 mi away
The Sanctuary Hotel at Kiawah Island Golf Resort
22.5 mi away
Andell Inn
Andell Inn
#1 of 3 in Kiawah Island
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
City Loft Hotel
City Loft Hotel
#1 of 15 in Beaufort
943 reviews
14.3 mi away
The Beaufort Inn
The Beaufort Inn
#4 of 15 in Beaufort
1,187 reviews
9.2 mi away
Wyndham Ocean Ridge
Wyndham Ocean Ridge
#1 of 1 in Edisto Beach
547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hunting Island State Park Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hunting Island State Park Campground

Property: Hunting Island State Park Campground
Address: 2555 Sea Island Parkway, Beaufort, SC
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Beaufort
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Beaufort
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 178
Also Known As:
Hunting Island State Park Campground Hotel Beaufort
Hunting Island State Park Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing