We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So much fun!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Beaufort
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hunting Island State Park Campground
Certificate of Excellence
Centennial, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“So much fun!”
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We were totally enthralled with this state park. The beach was clean and the water was warm! My kids (8.6.4) did the junior ranger program to help give some structure to our visit and it was great. The rangers were very helpful and gave us lots of great information to make our stay more exciting. We traveled down to climb the lighthouse and went to the visitors center (where we saw a wild alligator with its baby) and fished off the ocean pier near the nature center (where we caught a baby shark!) In the middle of June when we visited we didn't think the mosquitoes were any worse than anywhere else in the Southeast - but you definitely need spray and need to stay inside after dark. Our campsite was 112 - it was quite private and off the beach but still just a short walk. The bathrooms were about what anyone could expect at a state park with a sand beach - sandy - but they weren't filthy. We still were thankful for the showers even with the communal dressing area. I found that other people were quite polite about it - one lady even waited for me to finish dressing before coming in to use the other shower. We plan to visit again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    33
    17
    7
    3
See reviews for
80
45
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
charlotte,nc
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Hunting Island is a beautiful island and a great place for camping. We have been going there for last six years. However, this year's 4th f July trip turned into disaster for us.

We were swimming in the ocean and got pushed to the rocks and were cut by barnacle on the rocks. We were eight people who were hurt and had to visit ER in Beaufort hospital. After talking to the ranger and hospital staff, I found out that people get hurt there very frequently, The warning sign is there but it's very small and does not convey the message that well.
So, please be very very careful while swimming there. If I can help somebody avoid this injury from our experience, this review is worth it.
It will also be a great help to contact to authorities who maintain park and request them to put more warning signs there.
Thanks

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank bob1234Charlotte_nc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TN
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Wkee went in our Rv and our campsite was about halfway back. The beach was nothing like I've seen before. It seemed to go on for miles. It was a dog friendly beach which was great. Being in July, there were a ton of mosquitos. Bring tons of candles, anthing to get rid of them. We left for a couple of minutes and caught a raccoon on picnic table. Be sure to keep your food and garbage up. Just be prepared. The people were very friendly. The campstore was well stocked and had great souveniers. Next time I would like to get a camp site closer to the ocean. The showers were nasty. The floor was covered with dirt and sand but you are on the beach. The showers have a dressing area then goes into the individual showers. It would be nice if when you step out of the shower there were individual changing areas.

Room Tip: suggest sites closest to beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

If you love nature and the beach, Hunting Island is perfect. With the campground being ocean front and heavily shaded, with paved roads and multiple access points to the beach, we have to rate Hunting Island Campground 5 out of 5. There are plenty of hiking/biking trails that lead to the lighthouse, the marsh walk and the pier. Our two boys, ages 6 and 8 had a blast riding their bikes everywhere in the mornings and evenings and spending the days on the beach. The campground store is full of necessities and treasures and it has wi-fi that reached to our particular campsite which was about 40 yards away. There is a code that locks the gate to the campground at 10pm, but is available at the information area within the store for those dining out late. Only inconveniences were the muddy floors and sinks in the bathhouses...but they are cleaned well daily - but a beach campground bathhouse is impossible to keep clean. Camping sites are a bit close to each other too, but still all well worth the experience. We will return.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank lcparsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beech Island, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

its a great state park with alot of things to do. has a nice campground. always have friendly people. lots of nature to see. great kayaking, fishing, and beach walking. have never had a bad trip here.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cowtown036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Just got back from Memorial weekend camping here, 3 nights of sun and fun with another family. We booked 2 oceanside sites 11 months ago, which you have to do to get your choice of site. Our particular site did not have electricity but didn't really miss it since. The on-site store is great and has everything you need at reasonable prices. We were blessed with great weather and a beautiful full moon on the Saturday night, will definitely be booking again for next year!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jennifer E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

This is a stunning camp site situated on the North side of Hunting Island. A short trail leads to a pristine beach, with a flat slope into the sea.

There are lots of loops depending on your camping requirements. There are two sets of primitive camp sites, no water or electricity, in very private settings.
The beach sites are standard water/elec hook up sites, but are not very private, the sites look to be pretty crammed in, but you're right on the beach. I visited the restrooms in that area; they weren't the best in the campground...

There are also some more secluded loops, all set in stunning scenery of pines, palms etc. You have to visit to scope out which is the best site for you, some are a little more open to the one lane road that runs throughout, some are 'protected' by where you park your car. All very private, and beautiful. My favorites are the ones furthest from the beach (unfortunately), they seem a little larger and the terrain varies a little. Some are next to a tidal inlet and get a little humid/buggy though...
There's a playground for kids, a small but well stocked (especially for tourist trinkets...) shop, and oh, did I mention the awesome beach??!!
In the middle of the island is a state park with a cool lighthouse, and the bottom of the island has a pier that's great for catching blue crabs, and fishing. There's also a boat launch and a little trail over the marsh to a small island. There are also walking trails around the main island.

Watch out for the wildlife, you will see and hear deer, raccoons and other critters running around all night, as well as the birds and bugs. And keep your food locked away, the raccoons WILL get it!

Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Yorkiebrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beaufort
8.5 mi away
Quality Inn St. Helena
Quality Inn St. Helena
#1 of 1 in Saint Helena Island
99 reviews
22.5 mi away
Andell Inn
Andell Inn
#1 of 3 in Kiawah Island
448 reviews
24.9 mi away
The Sanctuary Hotel at Kiawah Island Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.6 mi away
Sleep Inn Beaufort
Sleep Inn Beaufort
#7 of 15 in Beaufort
348 reviews
14.3 mi away
The Beaufort Inn
The Beaufort Inn
#4 of 15 in Beaufort
1,196 reviews
9.2 mi away
Wyndham Ocean Ridge
Wyndham Ocean Ridge
#1 of 1 in Edisto Beach
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hunting Island State Park Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hunting Island State Park Campground

Property: Hunting Island State Park Campground
Address: 2555 Sea Island Parkway, Beaufort, SC
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Beaufort
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Beaufort
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 178
Also Known As:
Hunting Island State Park Campground Hotel Beaufort
Hunting Island State Park Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing