We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Natural Beaches!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Beaufort
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hunting Island State Park Campground
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

I Rated Room @ 1 Because We Stayed In Our Camper Not In a Cabin. The Campground Isn't Fancy But The Location Is Amazing! 20+/-Miles South From Beaufort, 50+/- Miles North From Hilton Head. Great Shell Hunting!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Weeza1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (174)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 174 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2013

We are frequent campers at this location - going back for the 4th time this fall and looking forward to it!

The pros:

- immaculate beach, clean, protected, with miles of beach walking.
- lighthouse a fun visit a few miles away
- a few restaurants close by for an easy family meal
- clean bathrooms!! So important!
- well-stocked camp store

The cons:

- if you are tent camping, choose your site wisely! Some sites are covered entirely in sand. Makes for dirty camping. But if you choose wisely (perhaps call ahead and ask) get one of the tent sites covered in grass - there are several.

- Raccoons!! So many its almost hilarious. Especially if your site is in the woods. They come out at night. Make sure your food is well locked up.

- Biting insects: no-see-ems mostly. Come with bug spray! Or spend a lot of time on the beach where it is windy.

Otherwise, an idyllic place to go with family... so incredibly beautiful.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank MontereyMama83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We were totally enthralled with this state park. The beach was clean and the water was warm! My kids (8.6.4) did the junior ranger program to help give some structure to our visit and it was great. The rangers were very helpful and gave us lots of great information to make our stay more exciting. We traveled down to climb the lighthouse and went to the visitors center (where we saw a wild alligator with its baby) and fished off the ocean pier near the nature center (where we caught a baby shark!) In the middle of June when we visited we didn't think the mosquitoes were any worse than anywhere else in the Southeast - but you definitely need spray and need to stay inside after dark. Our campsite was 112 - it was quite private and off the beach but still just a short walk. The bathrooms were about what anyone could expect at a state park with a sand beach - sandy - but they weren't filthy. We still were thankful for the showers even with the communal dressing area. I found that other people were quite polite about it - one lady even waited for me to finish dressing before coming in to use the other shower. We plan to visit again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debbie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Hunting Island is a beautiful island and a great place for camping. We have been going there for last six years. However, this year's 4th f July trip turned into disaster for us.

We were swimming in the ocean and got pushed to the rocks and were cut by barnacle on the rocks. We were eight people who were hurt and had to visit ER in Beaufort hospital. After talking to the ranger and hospital staff, I found out that people get hurt there very frequently, The warning sign is there but it's very small and does not convey the message that well.
So, please be very very careful while swimming there. If I can help somebody avoid this injury from our experience, this review is worth it.
It will also be a great help to contact to authorities who maintain park and request them to put more warning signs there.
Thanks

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
5  Thank bob1234Charlotte_nc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Wkee went in our Rv and our campsite was about halfway back. The beach was nothing like I've seen before. It seemed to go on for miles. It was a dog friendly beach which was great. Being in July, there were a ton of mosquitos. Bring tons of candles, anthing to get rid of them. We left for a couple of minutes and caught a raccoon on picnic table. Be sure to keep your food and garbage up. Just be prepared. The people were very friendly. The campstore was well stocked and had great souveniers. Next time I would like to get a camp site closer to the ocean. The showers were nasty. The floor was covered with dirt and sand but you are on the beach. The showers have a dressing area then goes into the individual showers. It would be nice if when you step out of the shower there were individual changing areas.

Room Tip: suggest sites closest to beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

If you love nature and the beach, Hunting Island is perfect. With the campground being ocean front and heavily shaded, with paved roads and multiple access points to the beach, we have to rate Hunting Island Campground 5 out of 5. There are plenty of hiking/biking trails that lead to the lighthouse, the marsh walk and the pier. Our two boys, ages 6 and 8 had a blast riding their bikes everywhere in the mornings and evenings and spending the days on the beach. The campground store is full of necessities and treasures and it has wi-fi that reached to our particular campsite which was about 40 yards away. There is a code that locks the gate to the campground at 10pm, but is available at the information area within the store for those dining out late. Only inconveniences were the muddy floors and sinks in the bathhouses...but they are cleaned well daily - but a beach campground bathhouse is impossible to keep clean. Camping sites are a bit close to each other too, but still all well worth the experience. We will return.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank lcparsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

its a great state park with alot of things to do. has a nice campground. always have friendly people. lots of nature to see. great kayaking, fishing, and beach walking. have never had a bad trip here.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cowtown036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beaufort
16.0 mi away
Sleep Inn Beaufort
Sleep Inn Beaufort
#7 of 15 in Beaufort
352 reviews
13.7 mi away
The Beaufort Inn
The Beaufort Inn
#3 of 15 in Beaufort
1,230 reviews
14.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Beaufort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
City Loft Hotel
City Loft Hotel
#1 of 15 in Beaufort
966 reviews
24.2 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
23.5 mi away
Andell Inn
Andell Inn
#1 of 3 in Kiawah Island
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hunting Island State Park Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hunting Island State Park Campground

Address: 2555 Sea Island Parkway, Beaufort, SC
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Beaufort
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Beaufort
Price Range: £12 - £15 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 178
Also Known As:
Hunting Island State Park Campground Hotel Beaufort
Hunting Island State Park Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing