We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect camping..peaceful and quiet”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Beaufort
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hunting Island State Park Campground
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Arrived on a Saturday, March 22nd...check-in is 2:00pm. Wife and I arrived at 6:00pm or so. Found our reserved campsite (181). Sites are mostly large enough for camper and another vehicle. We camped in 25 ft. popup. Easy setup. Roads to campsites are fine for any size vehicle. Pre-ordered some wood to be delivered that day and it did indeed arrive around 7:00pm or so. We got a truckload for about $80.00 (more than enough for our 7 day stay). Bring your bikes. Beach is short ride from our campsite which is not ocean front but is much less windy and cramped. Ocean front campsites are much more crowded as would be expected. Due to the palms and oak trees, the inner sites are our preference. Bike riding is great on the hard sand. At low tide you can ride to the historical lighthouse or ride about 3/4 of a mile in the opposite direction. The historical city of Beaufort is also worth visiting for a side trip. Savannah is within driving distance (60 miles or so) but we haven't made it there yet. This is definitely one of our favorite parks and we will definitely be back. Memphis is only 625 miles away!!! We camp in the spring and fall. Love state parks...
Bathrooms and showers are adequate but don't have a lot of room in them. Showers do have hot water with good pressure. Beautiful place...

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tmoor2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (174)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 174 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

Had a great time camping and visiting the beach. I would advise anyone that visits to lock away your coolers in your car or tent at night and anytime you leave your site. Raccoons managed to open our cooler and ran off with much of our food for our last day before they were driven off by the people camping next to us. We saw what looked to be evidence of a few other robberies at the hands of the wild life while we were there. Just be prepared for what might happen.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank ZackAllen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

It was our first time camping in our vintage pop up. It is right on the ocean. We were in spot 55 which had a slight view of the ocean and was just a short walk from the beach. The beach is washing away. Someone wrote go while you can... I agree... It is so pretty and peaceful. There are big rv's, pop ups, tents... A good mix. The beach is dog friendly. The bugs were not bad at all. The raccoons are insane. While we were opening our camper they got into our truck bed and ate our food! Lol... We are green campers!! They are fearless! But cute. Bathrooms are clean but no soap or paper towels. Camp store is great!!! We bought all kinds of cool, unnessary items! Like an extendable metal back scratcher for 3.00! Lol... There is a store not too far from the entrance. It is the last place you pass before getting to the park. They have the best sandwiches in the world!! And their grilled donuts with fresh strawberries and whipped cream are great! They serve breakfast! I was trying to get a beach view spot but really most of loop 1 and loop 2 are really by the ocean. On the map our spot, 55, looks like it is far away from the water but it is not. I loved the campground!! We will go back! It is just a jewel and did I mention that the park rangers rock???!!!! :)

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DeeGist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Fishing in the surf, the tidal creeks, or from the pier; swimming, hiking, biking, crafts, shelling, history lessons - they're all still here. You can borrow the fishing gear in the nature center at the pier, first come, first served. The fishing is included in the entrance fee.Adults: $5.00
SC Seniors: $3.25
Children 6-15: $3.00
Children 5 & Under: Free
If you camp (from $30.00), all fees are included.

My kids loved Hunting Island as they were growing up. In college, they brought friends along on our family vacations and all hoped to be invited back. As parents, they plan their own vacations camping or in cabins and we take the grandchildren any time we can. The glorious truth about Hunting Island is that the rangers work very hard to make sure that generation after generation, the island is unspoiled, clean, uncrowded. That means there are limited spots for camping or cabins. Reserve as early as possible.
Of course, Spring and Summer are the most popular times, but South Carolina weather makes the island popular all year round. Reserve as early as possible, as much as 6 months in advance if you want a beachfront site or a cabin, less if you only need a wooded site.
http://southcarolinaparks.reserveamerica.com/campgroundDetails.do?subTabIndex=0&contractCode=sc&parkCode=huni

Be sure to bring bikes for the kids. Just before breakfast, and after supper, the roads are filled with kids on bikes, calling and laughing and heading to the playground. The children's friendships are quickly made. On the beach, the children share the best place to find shells; they invite others to help build castles; they yell for the others to come see a horseshoe crab or a sand dollar.

But the beach is large enough to accommodate those who want complete quiet. Bring your chairs and a book. Settle into a sunny spot at a remove from all others. Enjoy the calm.

Room Tip: The cabins are simple and clean, 2 bedrooms for $200/night. The woods tend to have mosquitoes June...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Off-the-veranda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

This place is a hidden gem! I love coming here every year. The beach is beautiful, it's wooded and private, the fishing is great! The lighthouse is a work out, but worth the view. You can see dolphins all the time. The fishing pier is a must see, you can always catch a fisherman pulling something in. So many memories are waiting to be made here. The island is eroding and won't be here forever, so go while you can, but make your reservations on advance!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Honesttravel22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013 via mobile

The most relaxing, beautiful places on earth! We feel like we are home every time we pull in and cry we it's time to leave. We love walking on the beach and on the trails and watching all the animals in the campground. Everyone is so, so friendly!

Stayed: November 2013
4  Thank DARAJOHN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

A most relaxing vacation at Hunting Island. Natural setting, with deer and raccoons. (keep your food up) a fishing pier and a beautiful lighthouse. We are already planning our return trip next year. You want to check availability, campsites book up quick. We had #13, an excellent view of the ocean.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Carrie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beaufort hotels
14.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Beaufort
14.8 mi away
Quality Inn at Town Center
Quality Inn at Town Center
#10 of 15 in Beaufort
241 reviews
16.0 mi away
Sleep Inn Beaufort
Sleep Inn Beaufort
#7 of 15 in Beaufort
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
The Beaufort Inn
The Beaufort Inn
#3 of 15 in Beaufort
1,257 reviews
15.3 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Beaufort at Highway 21
16.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Beaufort
Comfort Suites Beaufort
#9 of 15 in Beaufort
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hunting Island State Park Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hunting Island State Park Campground

Address: 2555 Sea Island Parkway, Beaufort, SC
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Beaufort
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Beaufort
Price Range: £12 - £15 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 178
Also Known As:
Hunting Island State Park Campground Hotel Beaufort
Hunting Island State Park Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing