We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Long wait” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sushi Sakana

Sushi Sakana
Ranked #109 of 160 Restaurants in Beaufort
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian, Korean
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Beaufort, South Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Long wait”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

The food here was good but I had to wait almost an hour for 2 California Rolls. By that time I wasn't even hungry anymore!!!!!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    9
    2
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
153 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Tasty, reasonably priced taste of the Orient”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

My father, a retired USMC officer who spent years in Korea, Japan, and Vietnam, as well as lots of time in other east Asian countries, took my husband and I here for lunch this week. He really likes the place, and said it looked and felt pretty authentic. We were there for lunch (very reasonably priced!) and had sushi and a variety of rice bowls. I had the bulgogi (Korean BBQ) and it was pretty tasty.

I'm giving it 5 stars because it's one of the better options in the area, and certainly a welcome change from McDonalds etc. Our server was very friendly without hovering, and overall we were all quite pleased with out meals.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Katlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Sushi Sakana”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

Do not anger the sushi chef! We sent back Uni because it was old. When we finished our original order, we added an order for a flaming roll. 45 minutes later it had not arrived so we asked for a check and left because it was very obvious that the chef would not make up this order. The rolls were exceptional, but I will not return

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clayton, New York
Level Contributor
115 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Second Try and well worth it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

The first time I tried this place the food was good but the service and staff were not. I tried it again because like I said the food was good! Was an amazing experience this time! Food still great but the staff was a million times better! Great food! Yum! You must try!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ELISABETH H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaufort, SC
Level Contributor
56 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The freshest fish”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2013

NIcely done fine sushi; very fresh; bit high priced for the area; waitstaff quite friendly; management could be a bit more cordial; will go there again as something may have been troubling them.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sigmund w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sushi Sakana also viewed

Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
 
Port Royal, Coastal South Carolina
Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Sushi Sakana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing