We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun bar crowd”

The Old Bull Tavern
Ranked #1 of 163 Restaurants in Beaufort
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$18
Cuisines: Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: The Old Bull Tavern is a modern day Gastropub serving old world recipes prepared with care and where possible with locally sourced ingredients. The beverages offering includes craft cocktails, regional beers, and a comprehensive wine list.
Reviewed 28 August 2014

Very friendly staff and fun bar crowd! Great place to meet up with the girls and have a fun night out. Haven't been there since the expansion and not sure if it's completed but will def go back!

Thank Bigdog0519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marshalljohn1, Owner at The Old Bull Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2014

Bigdog0519,
We are all about fun. Thanks for the nice post.
The expansion is rockin' so grab the girls and check it out.
Best,
John, Oscar, Stacie, and the staff of the Old Bull

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (993)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

739 - 743 of 994 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2014

Great place, wife and I loved the atmosphere and the service was top notch. The food matched the service. Go early, make reservations, place is filled with locals.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marshalljohn1, Owner at The Old Bull Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2014

Paul H,
Thanks for dropping in. Glad to know you found the food, service, and atmosphere
" top notch". Thank you for the nice post.
Best,
John, Oscar, Stacie, and the staff of the Old Bull

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We always make it a point to visit The Old Bull Tavern when we're down at Fripp. Never had an experience that wasn't five stars. The cocktails are fantastic. My favorite is the Sazerac, but the Lucky Peach and the Purgatory are great too. I'm sure they can mix anything. The draft beer menu changes frequently and they have a good bottle selection (Franziskaner Weissbeir for $4!). We always go for some the rosemary cashews and tavern cheese with toast from the pizza oven. The mixed green salad is huge and needs to be shared. Our favorite entrees include the angus shoulder, the Scottish salmon, and the Mibek burger. The recently added a pizza oven and on our last visit we had a white pizza with prosciutto and asparagus - excellent. The wait staff is friendly and the service has always been great. We always take our grown kids and their spouses to The Old Bull and they love it.

1  Thank frippflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marshalljohn1, Owner at The Old Bull Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2014

frippflyers,

So happy to know you enjoy our little gastropub.
Hope you fly back to Fripp and stop in again soon.
Thanks for the nice post.
Best,
John, Oscar, Stacie, and the staff of the Old Bull

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

My son treated us to a night out. We don't go out much, but how can you turn down your own child?? Had a WONDERFUL time! The noise didn't bother me a bit. And the food.......well, if we hadn't been seated toward the front I probably would have licked my plate clean! Had the salmon, and all I can say is, OMG! Best I've ever had. Our waitress, Brinn, was awesome! And I even met an old classmate that I hadn't seen in many moons, Stacy! Had such a great time we are already talking about going again & again!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Charlotte W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marshalljohn1, Owner at The Old Bull Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2014

Charlotte W
So glad your son brought you our way for dinner and you enjoyed your visit.
I'll let the kitchen know that the salmon gave you an OMG moment, and share your post with Brinn and Stacie… Hope to see you again very very soon.
Best,
John, Oscar, Stacie and the staff of the Old Bull

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

After an unexpected delay in Beaufort, trip advisor failed to disappoint again! The tavern was incredible. From the awesome handcrafted cocktails to the delicious food. We were left totally satisfies. HIGHLY recommend the pork sandwich starter!

Thank Tito M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marshalljohn1, Owner at The Old Bull Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2014

Thanks for the post. Glad we could make your unexpected delay your unexpected pleasure.
It was our pleasure to serve you. Come visit us again when your travels take you to beautiful Beaufort.
Best,
John, Oscar, Stacie and the staff of the Old Bull

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Old Bull Tavern also viewed

Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
 
Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
Beaufort, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to The Old Bull Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing