We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Rhett House Inn
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Beaufort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 November 2013

My son graduated from Marine Boot camp at Parris Island. While looking for a hotel I went to TripAdvisor first. I did NOT want to stay in a regular "hotel" - as my husband and I never get away together. I found Rhett House Inn and we went a few days early. It was spectacular. Josh and Joyce the two innkeepers went OUT of their way to help us out. Suggestions for hotels, and, as Josh is a Marine, gave us advice on when to go, how to get off base and beat most of the traffic on the way home. SO grateful, they did a wonderful job. The hotel was older and you can see it, but instead of being "worn" it was full of character. Because my husband rises around 4am, they both had coffee set up for him and had us just hit "brew" on the machine. Hubby said (as he is quite the coffee expert and drinks it all day) it was fabulous full-bodied coffee. The cakes/pies at night were wonderful and I especially loved the snacks put out in the evening, when I mentioned I LOVED the "crackers" I was given the recipe for the hot cheese bites. OUTRAGEOUSLY good. There is a TON of history there, more famous people have stayed there then live in Hollywood it seems if that floats your boat, but I enjoyed the fireplace in our room, the OUT OF THEIR WAY friendly service, spotless cleaning and good breakfasts. Devondra was so sweet while bringing our food. Truly a place to stay. I am NOT sorry I went down early and was sad to leave so soon. I would absolutely recommend this for anyone. Mostly couples I think, if two or three couples travel together - this would be the place to go. You can walk to any type restaurant/shopping/horse drawn carriage rides. The restaurants in the area were great as well. We loved Luther's, Emily's and Bull Tavern.

Room Tip: Room #3 with King size bed, very comfortable and veranda had view of large oak w/Spanish moss.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CocoGuns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anya C, Manager at The Rhett House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2013

On behalf of the entire staff thank you for your wonderful review. We are so glad you appreciated the charm and character of the Inn and were able to explore and learn the history of our beautiful town in addition to attending the graduation at Parris Island. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you have the opportunity to visit Beaufort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,038)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

510 - 516 of 1,038 reviews

Reviewed 23 November 2013

LOVED my stay at the Rhett House Inn. The room was beautiful, and the view of the huge live oak at night from the second-floor veranda will live in my mind forever. The french toast breakfast was delicious and the staff attentive and friendly. I also made some interesting, fun new friends who were staying there as well, and plan to keep in touch with them. Many thanks for a memorable experience.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AidaRogers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anya C, Manager at The Rhett House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2013

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and were able to make some new friends. We hope you have the opportunity to visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

This is a lovely inn in a charming small town between Charleston and Savannah. We have stayed several times at this inn, always in the main house on the second floor w/access to the lovely porch. We have enjoyed the fine linens and tasty breakfasts on the verandah. The best part are the dessert offerings later in the evening in the kitchen. You will not regret leaving "the beaten path" to stay here.

Room Tip: Ask for Barbra Streisand's room on the 2nd floor of the main house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dee D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anya C, Manager at The Rhett House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Thank you for your continued support of the Rhett House Inn. We are glad you enjoy your stays with us. Thank you for helping to spread the word and we look forward to your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Our first trip to low country and after reading the reviews we were looking forward to southern hospitality at the Rhett House. The common areas, especially the porches are very nice. But the staff was untrained and indifferent. Breakfast was mediocre. The wine and snacks were so so, although dessert was very good. The bathrooms really needed an update and shower was dirty. Not even well cleaned after a request.
Compared to other inns this one is overpriced. And they even added a 10% service charge, an addition that we have never before seen.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank truthkeystone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anya C, Manager at The Rhett House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

We are very disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at the Rhett House Inn. It is very unusual for us to hear comments like this about the staff and the amenities we offer. I will share your feedback with the owner's of the Inn and the staff. We do appreciate your comments as this will only help us to improve each guest experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Loved everything about our stay at the Rhett House Inn. Warm southern hospitality at it's best. Great location in a beautiful historical town....simply put, I don't think you can possibly go wrong booking this property.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anya C, Manager at The Rhett House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

On behalf of the entire staff it was our pleasure to show you what Southern hospitality is all about. Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Rhett House Inn is in an historic antebellum home, and is somewhat more of bed and breakfast than an inn. Like going back in time, the property is within walking distance to most everything special in Downtown Beaufort. The rooms are spacious with very high ceilings and are nicely appointed. The service was great, as was the traditional southern fare. A wonderful place to relax in a hammock on the veranda. Rhett House Inn is a quaint, comfortable and unique place. Only downsides were limited kitchen privacy when others are enjoying the veranda. All told, this is a very special place.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarolinaTripfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anya C, Manager at The Rhett House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

We are glad you enjoyed your stay and the charm of the Inn and our beautiful town. We can suggest rooms that are more private and quiet when booking. We hope you are able to return the next time you have the opportunity to visit Beaufort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Beautiful rooms with a very accommodating staff of professionals This is the only place to stay in Beaufort if you looking for Southern Charm and hospitality. The breakfast is wonderful and afterwards take one of their bicycles and tour the town and water front.

Room Tip: Two options both have immense charm, if I want quite and time to be alone one; of rooms in the cotta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anya C, Manager at The Rhett House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Dear Greg B, On behalf of the entire staff thank you for your review and continued support of the Rhett House Inn. We always look forward to your visits. Thank you for helping to spread the word.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beaufort hotels
0.2 mi away
The Beaufort Inn
The Beaufort Inn
#3 of 16 in Beaufort
1,301 reviews
0.2 mi away
City Loft Hotel
City Loft Hotel
#1 of 16 in Beaufort
998 reviews
0 mi away
Best Western Sea Island Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Beaufort at Highway 21
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Beaufort
Hampton Inn Beaufort
#7 of 16 in Beaufort
775 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Beaufort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rhett House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rhett House Inn

Address: 1009 Craven St, Beaufort, SC 29902-5577
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Beaufort
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Beaufort
#3 Business Hotel in Beaufort
Price Range: £137 - £218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rhett House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The multi award winning historic Rhett House Inn, located in Beaufort, SC, with its sprawling verandahs and white columns, is known for it's Southern Hospitality and has been the home away from home for many movie stars like Barbara Streisand, Ben Affleck, and Gwyneth Paltrow. Bordering the Intracoastal Waterway and in Beaufort's Historic District, the Rhett House Inn is a few walking blocks to all restaurants, bars, and shops. Complimentary champagne on arrival and after dinner deserts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your The Rhett House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rhett House Hotel Beaufort
The Rhett Hotel
Rhett Hotel Beaufort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing