We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Rhett House Inn
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Beaufort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We recently had the opportunity to stay at the Rhett House. It is a wonderful bed and breakfast. The accomodations were excellent and the food for breakfast was scrumptuous. The service was impeccable. We needed to stay in 2 rooms because of scheduling and saw both an older room in the inn and a more contemporary room on the property. Both were very nice but if you prefer gracious Southern charm and a natural fir place then opt for room #4. We look forward to our next visit to Beaufort and The Rhett House. Steve Grant.

Room Tip: 4, there is no spa or fitness facility
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anya C, Manager at The Rhett House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Steve G,

We are thrilled to hear all the great things you had to say about The Rhett House Inn! Being Beaufort's only 4 Diamond inn, we pride ourselves on the caliber of service we provide to all our guests.

I am disappointed to hear that you were not informed of the accommodations that we have set up for our guests. All of our guests can enjoy visiting the beautiful Cat Island Sanctuary which features a refreshing pool, fitness center, golf course, and restaurant. The next time you plan a visit to the beautiful Beaufort South Carolina, I would love to set you up with all those fabulous amenities.

Thank you for staying with us, and I cannot wait to welcome you back!

Josh and the staff of The Rhett House Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,024)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

472 - 478 of 1,024 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2014

My husband, daughter and I were in Beaufort for a wedding. We talked many times about how nice and relaxing our stay was and how much better a B&B (especially this one!) is over a hotel. The staff, from check-in to breakfast servers was fantastic! I would HIGHLY recommend the Rhett House Inn to anyone staying in Beaufort. It is a VERY SHORT walk to anything you want to do and they take great care to make your stay relaxed and special.

Room Tip: Room #7 walks out onto a beautiful garden/patio. We loved having this direct access outdoors and co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 123Kathy456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anya C, General Manager at The Rhett House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

123Kathy456,

Hello and thank you for leaving such a fabulous review! We are all thrilled to hear that the service we provided to you, and your daughter was nothing short of the best. I always love to hear what guests think of our location! Being right in the middle of the historic district, and only a block away from the beautiful downtown Beaufort. Our guests enjoy an enchanted walk back in time through the charming Spanish moss filled streets, to watch the sun set over the famous Henry C. Chambers Waterfront Park.

The staff here at The Rhett House Inn thank you for staying with us, and we welcome you to the family!

Josh and the staff of The Rhett House Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We generally prefer small hotels over B&B's, because so many of them are decorated in a bad and oftentimes uncomfortable Victorian style. The Rhett House is beautifully furnished, with an eye toward tasteful details and customer comfort. We had 5 rooms for the weekend for a special family event, and everyone loved their room. Ours had king sized bed and a sitting area with a fireplace, making it a perfect place to sit and chat after dinner.
The owners have thought of everything...there is a glass of champagne to welcome you upon arrival; cheese, hors d'oeuvres, and an honor bar in the living room in the early evening; and several delicious complimentary desserts later each night. Josh, at the front desk, is an absolute treasure. He is warm, inviting, knowledgable and a truly gracious host. He gave us excellent restaurant recommendations, insider tips, and shortcuts to get places. Josh not only helped us when we asked, but was proactive in making sure we had everything we needed.
There were interesting guests staying the weekend we were there, including the owner's sister who was delightful. I would stay at the Rhett House again in a heartbeat. Every B&B should be run like this.

Stayed: January 2014
Thank Lulunolu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anya C, Manager at The Rhett House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Lulunolu,

First of all, I officially welcome you to the Rhett House Inn family! Second, thank you for the kind words. The staff here prides themselves on giving each guest a true southern experience. We want every guest to not only come to Beaufort for the experience, but we also want them to have an experience of a lifetime at The Rhett House Inn!

Once again, we are thrilled that you enjoyed yourself with us, and we cannot wait to have you back!

Keep in touch!

Josh and the staff of The Rhett House Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Our stay at the Rhett House was "over the top"! It is walking distance to the Waterfront Park and to all of the unique shops in downtown Beaufort. Being a former Beaufortonian, it was nostalgic to walk the historic areas and recall so many fond memories. We stayed in one of the cottages away from the main house. It was private, having a separate porch with rockers to enjoy the scenery and breathe the fresh salty air!! We have a small yorkie that travels with us and it was so pleasant to visit a place that felt so much like home. Your blood pressure is sure to take a dip when you stay here! Breakfast was prepared as ordered from a very pleasant staff!
Kudos to the Rhett House...you are 5 stars in our book!!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PattyRoy1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anya C, Manager at The Rhett House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

PattyRoy1965,

Welcome back to Beaufort! Thank you for choosing The Rhett House Inn as your base camp while taking a trip back in time to your Beaufort days! Our kitchen staff is very happy to hear how much you enjoyed there famous southern breakfast, and I am thrilled to hear that we are no longer a 4 diamond inn but a 5 in your book!

Please plan another getaway with us, and I will be sure to leave our pet friendly room open for you!

Welcome to the Rhett House Inn family!
Josh and the staff of the Rhett House Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We stayed in Room #3 which had a King Size bed and a fireplace. Since the weather was chilly, the fireplace was a nice thing to come back to in the afternoon. If you stay in this room, make sure they show you where the thermostat is (In the hall) and how to use it! I was a little concerned about the room being on the 3rd floor but it wasn't a problem because the main living level is on the 2nd floor. You only have to walk up one flight to the room after breakfast. The staff is friendly and accommodating. It is especially nice to come back from sightseeing and have a drinks and snacks in the lounge and at night they have desserts waiting for you in the kitchen when you come back from dinner. The Inn is located right in the center of things and the horse drawn carriages go right by. It is a great place to stay on the way south or even as a destination on its own.

Room Tip: Choose the 3rd floor- you have access to a veranda with seating and a hammock.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anya C, Manager at The Rhett House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Linda K,

Hello, and thank you for choosing The Rhett House Inn for your relaxing getaway! We are so thrilled to hear that you enjoyed out delicious southern breakfast, tea, lemonade, and homemade pastries, and our famous homemade desserts! Our location is one of the best. Being only one block away from Bay Street, the waterfront park, and all the restaurants, I can see how you found so much time to sight see.

We look forward to the next time you visit beautiful Beaufort South Carolina, and come see us!

Josh and the staff of The Rhett House Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

We stayed in September 2013 - Beaufort and Rhett House Inn was one of our all time favorites. We are not big B&B people - but this one is so relaxing, gracious and private. Loved the breakfasts on the bog porch. Cocktails and appetizers in the gardens was a lovely way to chat with other travelers. Enjoyed a great dinner in Beaufort both nights and then back to Rhett House for wonderful dessert, It was just a wonderful two nights - sitting on the upper porch - enjoying the late summer air and beautiful trees. Truly a step back to another way of life.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveler062010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anya C, Front Office Manager at The Rhett House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Doug P,

First of all, thank you for letting us show you the meaning of true southern hospitality! Second, you have incredible taste because those grits really are amazing! I am happy to hear that you took advantage of all the wonderful amenities that the Rhett House Inn has to offer. I am sorry to hear that it was to cold to enjoy our verandahs, but at least you could enjoy our delicious homemade desserts, and evening hors d' oeuvres by one of our magnificent hand carved fireplaces. I am very glad to hear that the Rhett House Inn is one of your favorite B&B's and I sure hope we see you again soon!

Josh and the staff of the Rhett House Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We stayed in a cottage room at this Inn on Feb 7 & 8th. It's now one of our favorite B&B's! The staff was attentive and friendly. Evening pies were yummy and breakfast was very good. The best grits we've ever eaten! Looking forward to staying there again during warmer weather to take advantage of the porch. You won't be disappointed with the Rhett House Inn.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doug P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anya C, Manager at The Rhett House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Doug P,

First of all, thank you for letting us show you the meaning of true southern hospitality! Second, you have incredible taste because those grits really are amazing! I am happy to hear that you took advantage of all the wonderful amenities that the Rhett House Inn has to offer. I am sorry to hear that it was to cold to enjoy our verandahs, but at least you could enjoy our delicious homemade desserts, and evening hors d' oeuvres by one of our magnificent hand carved fireplaces. I am very glad to hear that the Rhett House Inn is one of your favorite B&B's and I sure hope we see you again soon!

Josh and the staff of the Rhett House Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beaufort hotels
0.2 mi away
The Beaufort Inn
The Beaufort Inn
#3 of 15 in Beaufort
1,257 reviews
0.2 mi away
City Loft Hotel
City Loft Hotel
#1 of 15 in Beaufort
977 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Beaufort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Best Western Sea Island Inn
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Beaufort
Hampton Inn Beaufort
#7 of 15 in Beaufort
751 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Beaufort at Highway 21
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rhett House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rhett House Inn

Address: 1009 Craven St, Beaufort, SC 29902-5577
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Beaufort
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Beaufort
#2 Romantic Hotel in Beaufort
#3 Business Hotel in Beaufort
Price Range: £133 - £220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rhett House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The multi award winning historic Rhett House Inn, located in Beaufort, SC, with its sprawling verandahs and white columns, is known for it's Southern Hospitality and has been the home away from home for many movie stars like Barbara Streisand, Ben Affleck, and Gwyneth Paltrow. Bordering the Intracoastal Waterway and in Beaufort's Historic District, the Rhett House Inn is a few walking blocks to all restaurants, bars, and shops. Complimentary champagne on arrival and after dinner deserts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Rhett House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rhett House Hotel Beaufort
The Rhett Hotel
Rhett Hotel Beaufort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing