We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place to Stay in Beaufort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Rhett House Inn
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Beaufort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We recently stayed two nights at this B&B based on the reviews here and their website. We also got a good rate through Expedia. We have stayed at many B&Bs across the country, some excellent, some very bad. This is a very good B&B. The house is, of course, very old so that there was maintenance work in progress and there is always room for improvements: chairs in our room were a little worn and not comfortable for sitting, bed creaked, etc. But for the most part the beds were comfortable and the bath clean (my biggest criteria for my home away from home). Our only problem with our room #2 is that the air from the vents in the top of the wall blew directly on the head of the bed which was not comfortable for me. My husband actually closed the vent on the 2nd night. As there are two vents in the room this did not cause any problems with the temperature. Also, the thermostat was outside the room in the hall which meant you had to get mostly dressed in the middle of the night if you had to make an adjustment. Not terrible, but keep this in mind if you have this room. The TV, DVD, clock, etc. all worked well. The room also had a separate entrance to the 2nd floor porch which was convenient to have a nice sit in the morning or afternoon.
Breakfast was the same every morning, but with a choice of several items in many combinations this was not a problem. And the food was good. Only wrong note, the orange juice was concentrate - very watery our 2nd day. It should at least come out of a carton. Cookies complementary in the afternoon, cheese, and light finger foods in the early evening before dinner out and desserts in the kitchen in the evening all complimentary. However, except for sparkling wine or regular wine when you first arrived, no glass of complimentary wine with the cheese, crackers, etc. in the evening. Most B&Bs we have stayed in that offered evening cheeses provided a glass of wine. Bar set up and wine all on the honor system at an extra fee.
On the whole, this was a very enjoyable stay and if we are in the area again we would not hesitate to make this our "home away from home."

Room Tip: If you choose room 2 be aware that the thermostat is in the hall if this matters to you. Some noise...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DLRGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anya C, Manager at The Rhett House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

We are glad you would choose the Rhett House Inn as your home away from home. Thank you for your constructive comments as this feedback only helps us to improve each guest experience. We look forward to welcoming you back someday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,017)
There are newer reviews for The Rhett House Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

417 - 423 of 1,017 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2014

My wife and I stay mainly at bed and breakfasts when we can and we seek out historic inns when they are available. First of all many reviewers seem to think that old houses are going to be perfect but like seniors like me they are not. Old houses have their marks from being in existence so long and Rhett House has its historic blemishes. To us that adds to the character and does not detract from its charm. The first floor room we chose was very nice and well maintained but perhaps a little like a more modern hotel room but still excellent for our stay. It was quiet for being on the main floor and we slept well. The staff was very accommodating and courteous and helped us with our needs such as recommendations and reservations for dining. The two recommendations were Breakwater and Old Bull Tavern which were both great choices for our dining needs. The breakfast were excellent and the servers were great as was the view from the porch. The only down side to the view is looking at the back of the Best Western motel(not totally ugly but less than wonderful and certainly no fault of Rhett House). The evening snacks and desserts were both nice and we travel with our own wines and beers so we had those rather than the fee based wine and liquor selection. The staff and the accommodations and the town were all excellent and we will certainly return to both Rhett House Inn and Beaufort in the near future! Hope this helps you make your lodging choice for Beaufort as the history, shopping, art, low country, islands and lodging are very inviting, enjoyable and will certainly draw us back! Hope it does you!

Room Tip: We chose room one and if you want first floor it is great but still some stairs to climb as old hous...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scot1ru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anya C, Manager at The Rhett House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

On behalf of the entire staff thank you for your compliments. The Rhett House Inn dates back to 1820 and we are glad you appreciated the historical elements of an almost 200 year old home. We look forward to welcoming you back to Beaufort and The Rhett House Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We stayed in the Rhett House Inn one night on our way from Charleston to Savannah and loved it! It has a laid back comfortable feeling, like a home away from home. We look advantage of the bikes they had and road around town sightseeing. Their "included" hot breakfast was wonderful! We felt so at home that we sat in their kitchen and ate a piece of homemade coconut cake. We loved Beaufort too! I highly recommend Beaufort and the Rhett Inn. It was delightful, their staff is so nice!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank B_Lind2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anya C, Manager at The Rhett House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

We are so glad you enjoyed the relaxing feel of The Rhett House Inn and were able to use the bicycles to explore the area. I will share your compliments of the food with our kitchen staff. Thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back the next time you have the oppportunity to visit Beaufort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We stopped at the Rhett House a couple of years ago while traveling in the SC low country. It was such a splendid place we went back again last June for a more lengthy stay. The town is littered with antebellum mansions that have been kept in excellent repair (the Rhett House is one of them). Take the walking tour from a native to get the full flavor and then take the tour of the sea islands close by from The Spirit of Old Beaufort tours. This is a must. The tour guide, Evelene, is a treasure trove of stories. You should read Pat Conroy's The Water is Wide, a novel that was informed by his experiences teaching on the islands. Evelene's tours are so good that we've been with her twice to the islands. If Gullah Grub is open, by all means have lunch there. You'll get the best shrimp you'll ever have. Speaking of food, this little town is packed with good restaurants. Saltus Grill is among our favorites. Try Plums too. Nippys, alas, has been closed to build some bank or other, although the guidebooks still have it listed as open. The staff at Rhett House know all the good restaurants, so trust them for advice.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Triumph3A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anya C, Manager at The Rhett House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay with us again on your return visit to Beaufort and helping to spread the word about our beautiful, historical town and The Rhett House Inn. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stopped here for one night while traveling from Charleston to Savannah. The service was wonderful and the property was beautiful. They offered many different styles of lodging, a couple different dining options, bicycles to ride around town (which I would recommend). Our room had all of the amenities that you would expect, the bathroom was slightly small and the internet was a little slow, but we were on vacation so it was a reminder to put down our electronics. The location was great for walking around town, the water is just a block away as is the main road of shops and restaurants. We will definitely be back when we travel that direction. Thank you Rhett House Inn team for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: Their website is great for showing each room in detail and you book the room you want.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DJWallflower41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anya C, Manager at The Rhett House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

On behalf of the staff thank you for your compliments. We are fortunate to be located right in the heart of the historic district. The bicycles are a great way to explore the town and we are glad you had the opportunity to use them. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you visit Beaufort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

During our recent road trip between Savannah and Charleston, we decided to spend the night in Beaufort. Lovely town. Take a carriage tour or a walking tour to check out the town Have dinner at one of the many charming waterfront restaurants. Anyhow, we stayed at the Rhett House Inn. Because we are a family of four, we booked Room 7. It was perfect for us. Large room. Private entrance/exit out to a courtyard which was essentially your own private courtyard. Great staff! They made sure we took the Inn's umbrellas with us when off to walk to dinner (short walk to restaurants and shopping) because it looked like rain. Told us not to order dessert at the restaurant as the Inn will have homemade desserts for us when we arrived home. Pecan Pie, Key Lime Pie and Lemon Bars. Yum! Sat outside and talked on the veranda. The next morning had breakfast on the veranda. Lovely! Bikes were available for guests use but we unfortunately lacked time for a bike ride. Recommend this room if traveling with older children who enjoy history and/or films as many films have been shot in Beaufort. I believe there is complimentary use of a pool nearby, too.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Riagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anya C, Manager at The Rhett House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

We are so glad you enjoyed our charming town and your accommdations at the Rhett House Inn. I believe the amenities we offer set us apart from the rest. Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

My husband and I spend last weekend at the Rhett House Inn to celebrate my birthday and it was an unforgettable one. We took the Romance Package which included a bottle of champagne, but we chose white wine instead, red roses and a horse carriage ride around downtown. The staff members were very nice and helpful. We loved the southern breakfast every morning on the front porch, the hors d'oeuvres in the afternoons in the parlor with a glass of wine, as well as their delicious homemade desserts like their famous pecan pie after dinner in the kitchen. We felt like we were at home. Our room was beautifully decorated and very comfortable. We loved the location of the Inn because it was walking distance to the Marina and restaurants. We will be back. Thank you all for your southern hospitality. Frank & Adri J.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Adriana J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anya C, Manager at The Rhett House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear Adriana J, Thank you for choosing to celebrate your birthday at the Rhett House Inn. On behalf of the staff it was our pleasure to show you what Southern hospitality is all about. We are so glad you enjoyed the delicious amenities we offer and we hope to welcome you back some day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beaufort hotels
0.2 mi away
The Beaufort Inn
The Beaufort Inn
#3 of 15 in Beaufort
1,217 reviews
0.2 mi away
City Loft Hotel
City Loft Hotel
#1 of 15 in Beaufort
956 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Beaufort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Best Western Sea Island Inn
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Beaufort at Highway 21
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Beaufort
Hampton Inn Beaufort
#7 of 15 in Beaufort
737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rhett House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rhett House Inn

Address: 1009 Craven St, Beaufort, SC 29902-5577
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Beaufort
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Beaufort
#2 Romantic Hotel in Beaufort
#3 Business Hotel in Beaufort
Price Range: £154 - £262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rhett House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The multi award winning historic Rhett House Inn, located in Beaufort, SC, with its sprawling verandahs and white columns, is known for it's Southern Hospitality and has been the home away from home for many movie stars like Barbara Streisand, Ben Affleck, and Gwyneth Paltrow. Bordering the Intracoastal Waterway and in Beaufort's Historic District, the Rhett House Inn is a few walking blocks to all restaurants, bars, and shops. Complimentary champagne on arrival and after dinner deserts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Rhett House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rhett House Hotel Beaufort
The Rhett Hotel
Rhett Hotel Beaufort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing