We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$176
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
City Loft Hotel(Beaufort)
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$175
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Beaufort Inn(Beaufort)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 25/07
US$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Suites Beaufort(Beaufort)(Great Value!)
US$112
ComfortSuites
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton Inn Beaufort(Beaufort)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$154
Hampton.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sleep Inn Beaufort(Beaufort)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$121
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$220
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,067)
Filter reviews
1,067 results
Traveller rating
849
135
47
27
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
849
135
47
27
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspiescookiespecan pieevening dessertsouthern hospitalitycrackersthe main househonor systemscreened porchprivate entrancefriesliving roomcottage roombed and breakfasthonor barother guestsspanish moss
Filter
Updating list...
458 - 463 of 1,067 reviews
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

What a perfect place to stay! It was welcoming, comfortable, clean, and everything else you can imagine just from looking at the pictures! The evening desserts are to die for! It could not be more of a perfect end to our vacation. Suiting in the side yard by the fountain at night or sitting on the veranda everywhere on this property is charming.

Stayed: May 2014
Thank CocoBianca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anya C, Manager at The Rhett House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

We are glad you enjoyed the charming feel of the Rhett House Inn and the amenities we offer and that it was a perfect place to end your vacation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

My husband and I wanted to celebrate our 42nd wedding anniversary in style so we booked a room at the Rhett House Inn in Beaufort, South Carolina. Since the weather was in our favor that weekend, we took our boat from Savannah up the Intracoastal Waterway past Hilton Head to Beaufort. It's a lovely three hour trip. We docked at the Beaufort City Marina (must have a reservation), and using one of the marina's carts, we carried our luggage the two blocks to the Inn. This bed and breakfast is absolutely beautiful! You definitely feel as though you've stepped back into time. The main building has large white columns in front with an inviting porch and, of course, is surrounded by massive old live oaks. Cookies and lemonade await each guest in the front drawing room. After checking in to our comfy room in the nearby cottage, we set off on foot to explore Beaufort"s city center. It's a small place with many restaurants and shops, and the city planners have done a very nice job with developing their waterfront park. In the afternoons, the Inn's guests can have a cocktail or a glass of wine in the front room (there is a charge for this, I believe) before dining at one of Beaufort's many eating establishments. The gentleman at the front desk had recommended and made reservations for us at the nearby Old Bull Tavern. It was a fantastic experience and we really enjoyed the food and the service. For those guests who have a sweet tooth, the Inn serves several wonderful desserts back in the kitchen until 9:00PM. Breakfast the next morning is served on the Inn's veranda or in the dining room. The bloody Marys were wonderful as were our breakfasts. Before we checked out, we borrowed bicycles to ride around the historic section of Beaufort to see the old mansions and houses. It was a quiet Sunday morning except for the church bells that were ringing. The neighborhoods that we rode through were beautiful and the friendly people who lived there waved and spoke to us. It was the perfect ending to our lovely anniversary stay in Beaufort before heading back to Savannah on our boat! I must mention that our daughter and her husband had spent their honeymoon at the Rhett House Inn and they, too, fell in love with the ambiance and all that the Inn had to offer.

Room Tip: Rooms in the cottage are delightful, especially the one upstairs with the porch that overlooks the street. It makes you feel like you are up in a tree house among the old moss-draped oak trees.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Timetraveler48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anya C, Manager at The Rhett House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Thank you for choosing to celebrate your anniversary at the Rhett House Inn. We are so glad you enjoyed the charm of the Inn as well as Beaufort and were able to explore on the bicycles. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you venture to Beaufort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We stayed at the Rhett House Inn for five days while we toured the entire area. First Beaufort is a beautiful city and you don't need to go anywhere else...The Rhett House Inn was a gorgeous homestead with a fabulously friendly and helpful staff. There was not a minute that they were not totally professional and thorough. Breakfast was tasty and even though we are home we are conditioned to need baked goods at 7pm :-)

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank lola22259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anya C, Manager at The Rhett House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

We are so glad you enjoyed the charm of Beaufort and the Rhett House Inn. It was our pleasure to show you what Southern hospitality is all about. I will pass your compliments of the baked goods on to Becky our baker!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Lovely area, so close to shopping and dinning. We stayed for two nights The room we booked on line was not the room we were shown and it was not available, but staff moved us to another room that was not in the main house. Room number 14 is very cozy and good for folks like us that like a dark room to sleep. Wine is only available on Fridays and the weekend and is $6 a glass. Have never been charged for wine at a B&B before especially at these rooms prices. Desserts were available from 7pm to 10pm. We came back from the Water Festival fireworks with visions of the delicious pecan pie around 9:30 and staff had already put it all away. The grounds are lovely. Repair work is needed on the exterior of the buildings. The lady who cleaned our rooms was a joy.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Ckgoldie5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josh G, Manager at The Rhett House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

CKGoldie5,

Hello and thank you for your review. I think you may have been confused by somethings about the inn, so I will clarify them so that other guests will know. Our guests receive a delicious glass of complimentary champagne upon arrival. Our honor bar is open 7 days a week, serving a variety of beers, wines and liquors. The only day our bar is closed is Sunday, and even then we still serve wine and beer. Our prices are very good for our selection, our wine is sold for the exact price we purchase it for. We consistently check other rates for B&B's, hotels and inns in the local area, and have stayed very competitive for almost 30 years. If you were to compare our rates to another local inn's you would find that a lot more is included and frankly, better then our competitors.

Being over 200 years old, the inn requires an extensive amount of maintenance year round. We do our absolute best to keep it in the best possible shape, and many historians have commented on the terrific shape of the building.

If you have any further questions, or if an employee of the Rhett House Inn misguided you, please let me know.

Thank you and we hope to see you again in the future.

Josh Grimaldi
The Rhett House Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

Check in was wonderful. All downhill after your credit card is on file. We were told we were "upgraded"-bed and 2 side chairs in corners. Wonder what the not upgraded room contained?
Staff was not friendly, breakfast was 2 eggs and sausage link with toast. 24 hour coffee availability-where, we were still trying to get coffee at 8am. Finally just left(no one to check us out) and stopped at a gas station

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank megsgram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Josh G, Manager at The Rhett House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Megsgram,

Hello and thank you for your review. I do apologize that the Rhett House Inn did not live up to your expectations, but would like to clear up something for any future guests using TripAdvisor. You stated that you were "upgraded" and the room really wasn't that special. You originally booked a queen bedroom, because we saw that it was a special occasion for you, we upgraded you to a kind bed which we did not charge you a different rate even though there was an increase.

Our staff: if you were to look at a hundred old reviews you will notice one thing, we have never gotten a bad review for our staff. Because we are the only 4 Diamond inn in Beaufort, we strive for excellence. Our staff is known for there hospitality and gives nothing but 100% where they are here. I am sorry they were not up to your expectations and I have spoken with them about this review.

Breakfast: Most B&B's/ Inns that you visit will give you 2 choices for breakfast, or a continental breakfast. Here at the Rhett House Inn, we have a menu for our guests and we also inform them that they can, for the most part order anything off the menu. Our breakfast is made fresh and our guests have choices that range from; eggs (cooked anyway, to include omelets), shrimp and grits, bacon, sausage, ham, waffles, pancakes, french toast, toast, biscuits, grits and even more. We also have a breakfast bar in the dining room, complete with fresh yogurt, fruit, cereal and hard boiled eggs. We have had many guests call before arriving to let us know what they would enjoy for breakfast and we shop for food specifically for them.

I am very surprised that you could not find coffee in the morning as our entire breakfast staff arrives at 6am to prep and prepare for breakfast and has coffee in the living room by 6:30AM. I do apologize if our innkeeper was not here to check you out. Our innkeepers do not arrive until 8AM which is stated on the sign at the front desk.

I do apologize that you had some issues throughout your stay and I really wish you would have spoken to me or anyone else, as I would have rectified the situation immediately.

Thank you,
Josh Grimaldi
Assistant Manager
The Rhett House Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews