We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We loved the Rhett House Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Rhett House Inn
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Beaufort
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“We loved the Rhett House Inn”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2009

This was a lovely place to stay. The staff was excellent and our rooms were beautiful. We really enjoyed the evenings to sit out on the porch with a glass of wine and then later on to have one of their great desserts. For those of you that like grits they serve the best grits I have ever had and what's nice is that the staff is kind enough to print off their recipes for you. If we return to Beaufort in our travels we will definately stay there again. We also thought the price was excellent for everything that you get. More bang for your buck as the saying goes.

Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank nonny1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

987 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    793
    128
    38
    22
    6
See reviews for
137
616
28
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Travelers Rest
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2009

My wife and I have stayed at the Inn twice in the last year, and look foreword to returning.
Beautiful rooms, marvelous breakfast on the porch, excellent staff, very helpful in making
our stay great. Also great wine and cheese in the afternoon, and dessert in the evening.
I must say one of the best Inn's we have every stayed in.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cherokeetiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amelia Island
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2009

We had a beautifully furnished and comfortable room which we enjoyed very much. The staff was very friendly always ready to answer any questions, make reservations or give directions. Welcomed with a glass of champain also lemonade and ice tea available a cool refresher from drive or later from walking in town. We enjoyed just sitting in the inn's sitting room, courtyard and a delicious leisurely breakfast on the porch in the morning. The inn is very convenient to downtown Beaufort,waterfront and many good restaurants so we did not need to use our car since so much was in easy walking distance. Relaxing and great getaway!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScoutAmeliaIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2009

What a charming and romantic bed and breakfast. Our stay was so wonderfully relaxing. We stayed in Cottage 14. It was lovely. The staff was wonderful and the breakfast was super delicious!! We utilzed their new super comfy Huffy bikes to go explore the historical landmarks. Great way to see alot of ground!! I highly recommend a carriage tour upon arrival to Beaufort. Gives you a true sense of the cities charm and historical importance. We also ventured out to Hunting Island for a little beach time. You must stop at Barefoot Bubba's Beach Shop on the way to Hunting Island. The staff is like meeting your new best friend. You are greeted with a cold bottle of water and free ice cream. We also ate at this little Dive called Nippy's. Food was ok but the entertainment was hysterical!! Cute little old couple singing was truelly one of the highlights of our trip. This little city is a true treasure to explore and a must see!! I loved our time in Beaufort and at the Rhett House!!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stsumwhr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2009

Staff here were not nearly as welcoming and informative as they should be at a Southern Bed and Breakfast! Also, they had no bicycles available, which were promised for guests use on their website! Email communication prior to our trip was slack and I ended up having to call because no one would email me back for days. I would definitely not recommend this B&B to anyone I know unless they get their act together here.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mila12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thousand Oaks, California
Level Contributor
77 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2009

Stayed at the Rhett House Inn whilst in Beaufort. It is an old house converted to a Bed and Breakfast within easy walking distance to downtown Beaufort. We stayed in the "blue room" which was recently redecorated. Very spacious with a king size bed, two chairs for reading and a makeup vanity. The bathroom was quite small and hotel was a bit frayed around the edges. I know, this is an old house, but it just seemed liked the upkeep on floors and outside could have been better. They offer lemonade and cookies in the afternoon, which were both good. Did not have a chance to partake in evening dessert as we were out until late. The breakfast they offer in the morning was very disappointing. It just was not up to other bead and breakfast standards and there were only two choices. If you don't really care about the food and want a smaller, more intimate experience rather than a hotel, I'd recommend this place.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank berniez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London/Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2009

Shame that the hotel looks out over a car park and motel.
Staff were excellent and accommadating
Rooms were overpriced
We were disappointed, expect it to be more luxurious.
Would rate as 3 star

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jacheath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMC20, Manager at The Rhett House Inn, responded to this review, 3 June 2009
We are sorry to hear that you were not happy with your stay at the Rhett House Inn. We aim to provide exceptional service and appreciate your constructive comments. We hope that given the opportunity you will come back to visit and give us another chance to provide you with the excellent service we are know for. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beaufort hotels
0.2 mi away
The Beaufort Inn
The Beaufort Inn
#4 of 15 in Beaufort
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,145 reviews
0.2 mi away
City Loft Hotel
City Loft Hotel
#1 of 15 in Beaufort
5.0 of 5 bubbles 912 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Sea Island Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Beaufort
Hampton Inn Beaufort
#6 of 15 in Beaufort
4.0 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Beaufort
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Beaufort at Highway 21
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rhett House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rhett House Inn

Property: The Rhett House Inn
Address: 1009 Craven St, Beaufort, SC 29902-5577
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Beaufort
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Beaufort
#2 Romantic Hotel in Beaufort
#3 Business Hotel in Beaufort
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rhett House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The multi award winning historic Rhett House Inn, located in Beaufort, SC, with its sprawling verandahs and white columns, is known for it's Southern Hospitality and has been the home away from home for many movie stars like Barbara Streisand, Ben Affleck, and Gwyneth Paltrow. Bordering the Intracoastal Waterway and in Beaufort's Historic District, the Rhett House Inn is a few walking blocks to all restaurants, bars, and shops. Complimentary champagne on arrival and after dinner deserts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Rhett House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rhett House Hotel Beaufort
The Rhett Hotel
Rhett Hotel Beaufort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing