We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our 1st Bed & Breakfast Stay! Magnifique!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Rhett House Inn
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Beaufort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 March 2010

Delightful stay with beautiful room and private entrance. Great service and plenty of privacy if you desire. We had dinner at Emily's and were so full we could not take advantage of your teriffic looking desserts. Thank you for making our 1st B & B stay so memorable.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SunnyBaraboo_WI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMC20, manager at The Rhett House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2010

We are so happy to make your first B&B expierence a positive one. Glad that you enjoyed Emily's but sad that you missed our desserts!! a good reason to come stay with us again in the future. Thank you for your kind comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,017)
There are newer reviews for The Rhett House Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

893 - 899 of 1,017 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2010

We recently stayed in the very charming Room 7 at the Rhett House. Our stay was delightful. Best of all were the nightly deserts - freshly baked cakes and pies served by helpful and accomodating staff. Five stars to the management for comfortable beds, fresh linens and a lovely visit.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geriola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2010

The Rhett House Inn looks gracious and historic, but it must be a maintenance nightmare. Our room, supposedly one of the best, was in the basement of the guest house, with a tiny bathroom and shabby (not chic, just shabby) decor.

Amenities are supposed to include breakfast (slow, lukewarm, and bland) as well as tea and evening dessert. All of which presuppose the servers have any interest in serving, which is not a sure thing.

The best thing about the Inn is the location which is in a charming neighborhood and easily walkable. Other than that, there is not much to recommend it.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NewHampshireFarFlung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2010

We visited The Rhett House Inn in beautiful Beaufort,SC in January 2010. The Inn is a welcoming place to stay and situated within walking distance to the adorable downtown area with shops and restaurants, and the waterfront park.
We were attending a US Marine Graduation at nearby Parris Island and wanted a cozy place for our family and friends to relax. This was it! We rented 5 rooms (with a group of 12 accomodated) and all were beautiful, each with it's own decor and private bath. There are two rooms on the lower level with two beds ( one w/ 2 queens, one w/ 2 full) . We used both and they were cozy, roomy and very pretty. The room w/ 2 queens has a door that opens to the lovely outdoor courtyard where you would love to sit by the fountain and have your morning coffee or evening cocktail. Right up the stairs is the kitchen if you want a cup of tea or a late night dessert served on the butcher block island until 9:30 pm.
A refrigerator is there if you have wine or drinks to chill, they are very happy to assist you.
And there is iced tea or lemonade served most of the day.

We also had the two King Rooms upstairs, both very large w/ working fireplaces ( they will provide small logs). Beautifully designed with a seating area, writing desk & private bath. The upstairs rooms walk out to a 2nd floor veranda from the main hallway that overlooks the street, where you'll see horse drawn carriages drive by. Also nice to sit there under the Spanish Moss covered trees.

The staff at the Rhett House Inn could not do enough to make our stay special. We worked with Anya, Maurice, Yvonne, Chef Chris & Baker Becky to make this weekend special for our family and friends that were traveling to attend a very special occasion.
They welcomed everyone and provided a stay that felt like we were at the home of a friend. A special luncheon was prepared by the chef for all in their dining room, they allowed a later check out for our convenience, a delicious cake was baked especially for our party, and they even had coffee and muffins as early as 5:45am when they learned we were heading out for a very early morning at Parris Island.
It was wonderful to bring our son back to this special place after 3 long months of boot camp. We enjoyed a leisurely afternoon with him, a great lunch and with no rush to check out. I only wish we could have stayed longer and enjoyed the downtown.

We had dinner twice at The Breakwater, a wonderful restauarant with a great wine list, I would recommend it highly. Sitting in the bar area to eat is great fun...say hello to Terry,
the wine specialist, ask him why he is famous?

Beaufort has many festivals throughout the year, The Rhett House Inn is the perfect place to stay and experience the area. It has been home to many movie stars over the years that were filming in the area and I would say it should be your choice if you are planning a visit. Enjoy!!!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KATLUVSTRAVEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2010

Beautifully restored historic home with modern conveniences and a Five Star ***** Staff.
They are prone to spoil you with old South hospitality.

The entire town of Beaufort was very hospitable.
Just take a stroll down the water front at sunset on your way to a wonderful dinner.
Words cannot describe such uncommon beauty.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ahendley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2010

The Rhett House Inn was perfect for our first visit to Beaufort. The staff was wonderful! Try the grits at breakfast - my husband says they are the best grits he has ever eaten. The evening desserts are delicious. Not only is the Inn beautiful, but it is within walking distance of everything in downtown Beaufort.

Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank Andiamo2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2010

The bedding in the guest rooms was nice. However, the decor of the downstairs is worn and tired looking. You must pay for a glass of wine ($6) during "cocktail time". It is not warm and inviting- We never met the owner or innkeeper. Not hospitable and friendly. If I was traveling alone I would not choose this - just not friendly. We have stayed at several other B&B'S in Beaufort and found them friendlier and warmer. The decor in other B&B's was nicer too. Breakfast at The Rhett House was good. The desserts were awful - frozen pies & dried cake. They should just give up providing dessert at night.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AtlantaTennisGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMC20, Manager at The Rhett House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2010

We are sorry that you were disappointed with your stay at the Rhett House Inn. Thank you for your constructive comments. Our goal is to provide a wonderful, comfortable atmosphere and we apologize that in your short stay you were not made to feel welcome. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to welcome you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beaufort hotels
0.2 mi away
The Beaufort Inn
The Beaufort Inn
#3 of 15 in Beaufort
1,215 reviews
0.2 mi away
City Loft Hotel
City Loft Hotel
#1 of 15 in Beaufort
956 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Beaufort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Best Western Sea Island Inn
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Beaufort at Highway 21
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Beaufort
Hampton Inn Beaufort
#7 of 15 in Beaufort
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rhett House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rhett House Inn

Address: 1009 Craven St, Beaufort, SC 29902-5577
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Beaufort
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Beaufort
#2 Romantic Hotel in Beaufort
#3 Business Hotel in Beaufort
Price Range: £154 - £262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rhett House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The multi award winning historic Rhett House Inn, located in Beaufort, SC, with its sprawling verandahs and white columns, is known for it's Southern Hospitality and has been the home away from home for many movie stars like Barbara Streisand, Ben Affleck, and Gwyneth Paltrow. Bordering the Intracoastal Waterway and in Beaufort's Historic District, the Rhett House Inn is a few walking blocks to all restaurants, bars, and shops. Complimentary champagne on arrival and after dinner deserts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Rhett House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rhett House Hotel Beaufort
The Rhett Hotel
Rhett Hotel Beaufort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing