We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Acceptable for one short night...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Americas Best Value Inn

Americas Best Value Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Americas Best Value Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Bishopville
Hampton, Virginia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Acceptable for one short night...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

This hotel is nothing fancy by any means, but Bishopville in general is a very bare.

The room was beat-up, but clean. The shower had great water pressure and hot water but did not drain well...or at all. The quickest on-off-on-off shower ever. It only took about 2 minutes for it to already be mid-calf...gross. Our toilet also didn't work without having to take the back off and do it manually. I was also upset that they didn't provide conditioner; I normally bring my own, but I figured for one night I'd make due with the hotels...Nope!

The front desk service seemed friendly for the brief second I was around.

Overall, acceptable for a single nights rest.

Room Tip: Don't stay in 106.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    2
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
2
5
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel while traveling from Florida to New York. We basically just needed a place to sleep for a few hours to break up the ride. I feel that the pictures of the rooms on trip advisor are misleading. Our room was in a decrepit state, there was water damage in the bathroom ceiling tiles, as well as paint peeling off of the crown molding right above the bed. One aspect I am not happy about, and I'm not sure if this is the fault of the hotel, or of trip advisor, is that this hotel is advertised as being pet friendly on trip advisor. Considering we were traveling with our dog, this was important to us. However, after we reserved the room over the phone, upon check-in there was a huge sign in the "lobby," stating "no pets please." This was immediately alarming to my husband and I, because we had already made the non-refundable reservation. After smuggling our 30lb dog into our room and praying that nobody noticed us, needless to say we were incredibly stressed, and neither of us got the sleep we were looking for. Moreover, the staff that greeted us was less than friendly. We originally requested a non-smoking room and were first put in a smoking room that we had to change. We also requested a king bed, but were given a double room, but I didn't complain, I was so tired I just wanted to sleep. The bathroom was clean, shower was shining clean, and the towels, albiet tiny, were clean and absorbent. It was fine for a 5 hour sleep but I would not want to spend any more time than that, and I would never go back.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shell421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kanti P, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, 17 June 2013
Dear Shell421,

On behalf of the staff and management of Americas Best Value Inn, I would like to personally apologize for the issues you encountered during your stay. Thank you for bringing the pet issues to my attention. As a matter of policy, we have recently decided to no longer accept pets. I am sorry that you were not informed of these changes. I have taken the appropriate actions to have the information updated on the various websites. I am sorry for any inconvenience this may have caused. We hope that you stay with us again or at another one of our Americas Best Value Inns located across the Country.

Regards,
Kanti-GM
Americas Best Value Inn-Bishopville, SC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bishopville hotels

MILNER
Level Contributor
89 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2012

Called at 9pm thinking this was an extended stay facility, they said that 1 night stays were ok and we checked in at 9:21. Bed is comfy, room was clean. It should be your choice if you are staying in Bishopville and want a good value

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank shereen_w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kanti P, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, 26 September 2012
Dear Shereen_w,

I appreciate the fact that you took time out of your schedule to post a review with us. I am pleased that you enjoyed our clean rooms and comfy beds. If you should return to the area, we would love to have you as our guest.


Regards,
Kanti-GM
Americas Best Value Inn-Bishopville, SC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cocoa, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

We started Dec 23, 24 and 25. It was clean and nice. Please start using fitted bottom sheets. We had a problem keep the bottom sheet on. Plug in the frig ahead of us coming next time please. Things we pretty good for a 2 star. We would stay there again with out a problem

Room Tip: Might bring your own sheets. Everything was clean but didn't fit
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kanti P, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, 26 September 2012
Dear Kathy H,

Thank you for sharing an opinion with us. I appreciate your suggestions. We do have fitted sheets on our king beds at this time. We hope that you stay with us again in the future.


Regards,
Kanti-GM
Americas Best Value Inn-Bishopville, SC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bishopville
14.9 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#4 of 4 in Hartsville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
23.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Florence
14.8 mi away
The Landmark Inn
The Landmark Inn
#3 of 4 in Hartsville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.5 mi away
Red Roof Inn Florence - Civic Center
15.6 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites - Hartsville
18.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#9 of 19 in Sumter
3.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn

Property: Americas Best Value Inn
Address: 27 Charlenes Lane, Bishopville, SC 29010
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Bishopville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Bishopville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just seconds away from exit 120 off Interstate 20, the Americas Best Value Inn of Bishopville offers charm, graciousness, and true Southern hospitality. The Americas Best Value Inn is a charming two story, exterior corridor facility that offers 34 spacious guestrooms. Our attractive and well appointed facility is within a short distance of many of the best restaurants, golf courses, museums and attractions that Brinkley has to offer. We serve a fresh complimentary deluxe continental breakfast daily. All our guestrooms have microwaves, mini-fridges, in-room coffeemakers, cable television with HBO, iron with ironing boards, hairdryers, and complimentary local calls. For our business travelers we offer fax and copy facilities. For additional safety we have electronic door locks, smoke detectors, superior exterior lighting, and a 24-hour front desk staff. Our property is located just minutes away from Sumter Air Force Base and Darlington Speedway. Come, relax and enjoy the best hospitality in town at Americas Best Value Inn Bishopville.Bishopville, the county seat of Lee County, was settled in the 1800's and was originally called Singleton's Crossroads. Lee County is South Carolina's largest cotton-producing county and home to the South Carolina Cotton Museum, located in downtown Bishopville. Original tools, interactive displays, and amusing stories in an authentic setting allow you to experience the cotton cultivation way of life. Bishopville is also home to one of the most breath-taking attractions in South Carolina, Fryar's Topiary Gardens. This three-acre garden is visited annually by thousands of tourists and has been seen by thousands more on television specials and in dozens of magazines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing