We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb setting, spacious, clean and welcoming.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Risca
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Upper Grippath Farm Holiday Cottages
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Superb setting, spacious, clean and welcoming.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

We booked a family (4 Adults [2 dogs]) weekend break to visit our Godson at university in Newport. Originally we were just looking for somewhere to lay our heads but Upper Grippath Farm Holiday Cottages turned out to be so much more.
The accommodation was perfect, the views amazing and the sausages outstanding!
For an extremely reasonable price we had:
- a 3 bedroom (1 double, 2 twin) cottage, the double was downstairs giving perfect access for our disabled Mum,
- spacious living area
- well equipped kitchen
- modern bathroom including shower, bath, toilet and hand basin
- upstairs toilet - no waiting or long queues!!
- 2 very spacious Twin bedrooms with wardrobes and chest of drawers.

Perfect for a large or extended family.

Upper Grippath Farm Holiday Cottages are situated just outside of Risca not far from Newport or the M4 - ideal location for exploring the local areas or as a base for touring further afield. There is a very narrow and windy single track country road which takes you from the main road up to the Upper Grippath Farm Cottages but in my opinion this adds to the visit giving a sense of seclusion not isolation.

We were welcomed on our arrival and there was always somebody nearby if we needed anything but they were never intrusive.

Fantastic visit which we hope to repeat soon.
Also we highly recommend the farms own sausages!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amacrine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
louise s, Owner at Upper Grippath Farm Holiday Cottages, responded to this review, 13 October 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review, the cottages are our pride and joy and we love to hear other people enjoy them as much as we do!

Hopefully we can look forward to welcoming you again one day soon.

Regards

Louise Xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2012

Very clean and comfortable cottage.Spacious and well equiped with stuff that some self catering don't supply. Host friendly and unintrusive. Narrow lane way to access so car needed but onto the M4 within 10mins so location was good. quiet and peaceful.would definately choose again when returning to that area

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank busymum09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
louise s, Owner at Upper Grippath Farm Holiday Cottages, responded to this review, 13 October 2014
I am really please to here your found our cottages clean and comfortable - we aim to offer the best experience we can.

We like to supply anything that we ourselves would like to have on our holidays so that our quests feel comfortable.

Thank you for your review
Regards
Louise x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
151 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2012

Good place to stay. Clean and comfortable with a good location

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oxford_Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
louise s, Owner at Upper Grippath Farm Holiday Cottages, responded to this review, 13 October 2014
I am glad you found us comfortable - we are always working hard to make sure all is as you would like.
You are right, we are off the beaten track by 1 mile which means we are nice and quiet, but as you say, we are very close to all you could want in the area.

Thank you for your review
Regards

Louise x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
164 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012

Stayed there as a base for mountain biking in Cwmcarn (highly recommended) and found Louise to be very helpful and courteous. The cottage itself was spacious and well equipped with everything we needed for self catering. The beds were fine and there was a wardrobe in each. The shower was a little weak which is why we didnt give 5 stars. Overall for the money this place is hard to beat. Its not walking distance from the town but its a 5 minute drive or a £5 taxi ride at night.
Go for it.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Berkscouple2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
louise s, Owner at Upper Grippath Farm Holiday Cottages, responded to this review, 13 October 2014
We are very close to the mountain bike routes in the area and we offer a lock up area for security.
there are many take away's and pubs just 5 mins down the road as you found, but if you don't feel like driving, many of them deliver!

Thank you for taking the time to write this review,

Regards

Louise x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Risca
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newport
3.0 mi away
The Parkway Hotel & Spa
3.4 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Newport
Hotel ibis budget Newport
#10 of 19 in Newport
3.5 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Upper Grippath Farm Holiday Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Upper Grippath Farm Holiday Cottages

Property: Upper Grippath Farm Holiday Cottages
Address: Upper Grippath Mountain Road, Risca, Newport NP11 6JB, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Newport > Risca
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Risca
Hotel Class:4 star — Upper Grippath Farm Holiday Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing