We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a favorite among locals”
Review of May River Grill

May River Grill
Ranked #12 of 212 Restaurants in Bluffton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$38
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Reviewed 27 June 2018 via mobile

I have been coming to May River Grill for several years- it’s always good- it always needs a reservation.

Thank Ellen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MayRiverGrill, Owner at May River Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2018

Thank you for your review We always look forward to seeing you soon have a great 4th Yours Chef Charlie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (523)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 27 of 523 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2018

Location on May River Road just around the corner from downtown Bluffton. Very good restaurant that you would not notice or possible go to...except for by word of mouth. Friday and Saturday definitely require reservations. not a large dining room usually full and active. Delicious dinners, especially seafood dishes..always very fresh. Good varied menu, generous portions. I would consider prices mid to higher end WORTH IT! You won't leave hungry. I never have room for dessert.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Barbara O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MayRiverGrill, General Manager at May River Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2018

Thank you for your review! We hope you stop by again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018

This is a Bluffton gem that has been around for sometime. Charlie Chef/ Owner always creates great dishes and has an extensive menu and specials every day.

Thank Rags40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MayRiverGrill, Owner at May River Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2018

Thanks for taking the time to write such a nice review We look forward to seeing you soon Thanks Chef Charlie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2018

Last night we celebrated our 50th Anniversary at the May River Grill! As always the meal was delicious and they even brought us a special dessert for our Anniversary. We were so stuffed they gave us the dessert to go and we just enjoyed it watching Golf on TV!
Excellent Food as always and good service. It has become our favorite place! Our son and his wife will be visiting in the next few weeks and we intend to send them here for a special night just the two of them.

    • Service
    • Food
Thank JAR1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MayRiverGrill, Manager at May River Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2018

Thank you for choosing to celebrate your anniversary here and for the wonderful review. We happy to hear you enjoyed your dinner! We are looking forward to see you all again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2018

May River Grill looks like a hole in the wall on the outside, but inside is a wonderful restaurant that serves excellent food, promptly and courteously, and in such a varied menu. The quality of the food is wonderful. Price is a bit high, but very good considering the quality.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank david_sowry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MayRiverGrill, Owner at May River Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2018

Thanks for the review ,like the saying goes don't judge a book by its cover!! we look forward to seeing you soon Yours Chef Charlie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed May River Grill also viewed

Bluffton, Coastal South Carolina
Bluffton, Coastal South Carolina
 
Bluffton, Coastal South Carolina
 
Bluffton, Coastal South Carolina
Bluffton, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to May River Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing