We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Roach Motel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Suburban Extended Stay Hilton Head
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Bluffton
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Obviously in today's economy we search for deals. And my wife and I thought we had one. First off the smell was horrible! We thought something had died in our room. Second there were roaches and bugs through out. They moved us to another room but that was just as bad. Do not waste your money,,,find a rest stop and stay in your car.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (140)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 140 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2013

for $900 a month a very good bargain. however the last few days of my stay it was discovered that my room was messy. on October eighth they locked me out of my room, when I returned from work at about 12 a.m. I called the emergency hotline to have someone let me back in they did and told me that my room is a mess and that's why I was locked out I thought this was very strange where most hotels would've have housekeeping clean it and assess an extra cleaning fee. then on October 9th my room was okay apparently I came in I left for work came back without any problems. but on the 10th the last night of my stay I was locked out again without any kind of notification not even a phone call or text message. I find this policy very strange and even juvenile that they're punishing me for having a messy room or whatever the case maybe at this point I just know I'm locked out and not sure where I'm going to sleep tonight. especially since this is a hotel, if the room is especially messy have house keeping clean it and charge of cleaning fee.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stephen138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Since this is a pretty bare bones hotel, I will keep my review bare bones as well. The hallway to my room smelled like stale McDonald's burgers - the entire long hallway. I was greeted at my room with a putrid smell that is impossible to describe. I set a few things down on the table and roaches came running out. Roaches were also in the bathroom. The bed was uncomfortable, the pillows were like lumpy rocks and the TV remote did not work. Later I saw roaches on the walls in the corridor. The shower was very large but there was very little water pressure. This was my first stay at a Suburban Extended Stay Hotel and I can assure you that it will be my last. Avoid this property.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frank A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013 via mobile

My wife and two kids stayed at this hotel for two months while our house was being built. Staff was friendly and very helpful. Rooms were spaciousness and clean. We were so happy to have a kitchen in the room this saved us so much money, not having to eat out every night. They had the best prices in town we did the monthly rental this was not only affordable it was cheaper then doing a short term lease elsewhere. Now that we are all settled in we send all of out out of town visitors to the Suburban and they have all enjoyed it.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jasonroberts31419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Our first stay here was so good, we are planning a second one in 2 months. ( reservations already made!!). The accommodations were nice, our room was spacious and this place is Pet Friendly.
( we had 2 small dogs last time...only one will be with us this time ). the Suburban Extended Stay is VERY CENTRALLY located to nearly all you would want to visit in this area! plus many shopping areas nearby (if you get bored..). The thing that stood out in our minds was the courteousness and helpful nature of the staff! Every one of them we came across was eager to please us. maybe you don't have candy put on your bed or daily housekeeping, but what you get for the reasonable price is excellent! We stayed in Beaufort (pet friendly ) a time before this..and although nice, we were VERY CRAMPED! You have to remember, you get a Fridge/Freezer, Stove, Microwave, Sink Coffeemaker, Dishes,glasses, utensils and plenty of storage in this efficiency . We had the King Size Bed suite and there was still plenty of room for us to walk around. Pne would never know it allowed pets as they o ly permit smaller pets and each room is professionally cleaned before a new person uses it. This place comes HIGHLY RECOMMENDED by these two + pet Travelers from N.E. Ohio. We have Good Friends living in Bluffton, so we plan to stay here often, 5 stars from us......give it a try if you want to be centrally located to activities and want to save money to spend on your entertainment...Then THIS is the place to try.

Room Tip: If possible, perhaps you can request the room of your choice..wheelchair accessible is VERY large...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Starkeeper101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

I was very pleased with this hotel in Bluffton, SC. My daughter and I where there for the Dixie Softball Traditional Ponytails World Series in Bluffton. Normally, I am a person who believes in you get what you pay for but I really was surprised by this hotel. The rooms and property were well maintained for an extended stay hotel. The front desk clerk was very helpful, courteous, and knowledgeable of the the area. The only downside for this hotel would be the lobby, hallways, and elevators were very warm and not cool. Overall, I would definitely return to this property and highly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: The longer you stay, the cheaper the rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank da1astd0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

DO NOT STAY THERE! Consider yourself WARNED!!! Only book a room in this roach infested hotel if the homeless man under the I-95 bridge won't allow you to sleep next to him. Old, rusty appliances...towels that were once WHITE are now GRAY with strings pulled from them. My wife had to go buy sheets at Marshall's in order to cover that stained/nasty blue couch in the room so the kids won't lay on it. The pillows were thoroughly beat up. The room had a musty smell that was only amplified once the A/C was turned on. People having loud conversations in the parking lot and hallways at 3:00 am.

PROS: Running water, Electricity.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bluffton
3.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Bluffton
Comfort Suites Bluffton
#5 of 6 in Bluffton
256 reviews
8.4 mi away
Candlewood Suites Bluffton-Hilton Head
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Bluffton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Ramada Hilton Head
Ramada Hilton Head
#20 of 28 in Hilton Head
628 reviews
7.0 mi away
Red Roof Inn Hilton Head Island
Red Roof Inn Hilton Head Island
#22 of 28 in Hilton Head
460 reviews
7.0 mi away
Days Inn Hilton Head
Days Inn Hilton Head
#25 of 28 in Hilton Head
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suburban Extended Stay Hilton Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suburban Extended Stay Hilton Head

Address: 1376 Fording Island Rd, US Highway 278, Bluffton, SC 29910-6572
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Bluffton
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Bluffton
Price Range: £61 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Suburban Extended Stay Hilton Head 2*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An extended stay hotel, the Suburban Extended Stay Hilton Head is in Bluffton South Carolina near Hilton Head IslandThe Suburban Extended Stay® Hilton Head is ideally located just one mile from Hilton Head Island, where visitors can enjoy beautiful beaches, boating, sailing, the famous harbor, restaurants, golf courses and more. Savannah, with its lively arts scene and culture, is 30 minutes away from this Bluffton, SC hotel. The Coastal Discovery Museum and the Arts Center of Coastal Carolina are minutes away.The town of Bluffton is situated on a high bluff, overlooking the pristine May River, source of the world-famous Bluffton oysters. Back in the old town near the river, the pace slows as visitors enjoy the arts and antique galleries and the oldest continuous oyster-shucking facility in South Carolina.The hotel is pleased to offer discounted golf packages at Eagle's Pointe Golf Club, a Davis Love III signature course and Crescent Pointe Golf Club, an Arnold Palmer signature course. If you love water, the hotel offers deep sea fishing with Hilton Head's finest fishing boat, Captain Hook. Experience Hilton Head up close and personal with a great kayaking expedition package or one of our dolphin tours with Dolphin Discoveries. For more information on available dates, tee times and package information, please contact the hotel directly.Hotel amenities and features at this Bluffton, SC hotel include:•Well-equipped kitchens•Weekly housekeeping services•Free premium cable television with movie channels•On-site guest laundry facilities•Free high-speed Internet access in all rooms•Free local calls and outdoor poolBusiness travelers will appreciate conveniences like voice mail, and access to fax services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Suburban Extended Stay Hilton Head reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suburban Extended Stay Hilton Head Hotel Bluffton
Suburban Extended Stay Bluffton
Suburban Extended Stay Head
Extended Stay Bluffton
Hilton Bluffton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing