We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No better place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Montage Palmetto Bluff
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Bluffton
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Vero Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
212 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“No better place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

The low country in South Carolina is a magical place, as noted in Pat Conroy's books, including "Prince of Tides". The Inn is comprised of 50 gorgeous cottages on 20,000 acres along the beautiful May River in Bluffton. This property is not to be believed, it is just perfect. It is going through a change of management now, from the excellent Auberge group to the excellent Montage group, both California based hotel companies. Notwithstanding this changeover period, all went well. They had a lovely New Year's dinner, led by Hugues and Thaddeous and a great team of servers and hostesses, the wine was outstanding. The outdoor New Year's party after dinner was a bit cold, but we found another party inside, with great music, and lots of balloons and party hats.

The cottages are superb, as well decorated and comfortable as any hotel room anywhere. They have a Sengalese duo, Blue and Madu, who do everything for you.

As perfect as it is now, we look forward to the Montage team, as we have been to the Montage Laguna, and its General Manager, Todd Orlich, may be the best in the world.

Room Tip: All the Cottages are the same, along the May River would be the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank George A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    490
    54
    20
    12
    7
See reviews for
122
293
9
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
71 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

The beautiful Inn is a centerpiece of an amazing place. As a guest, you enjoy great food, many fun activities like biking, the waterway tour, and s'mores every night by the firepit. As an owner, you live in a small town that us beautiful, with a true sense of community.

With the new transition of management of the Inn from Auberge to Montage on February 1, the Inn will start expanding. The cottages will remain but an additional hotel wink add more rooms, restaurants and amenities. We are hopeful that the new managers take as much time for personalized service!
We love Pat, the most amazing concierge in the world.


It's an exciting time to watch Palmetto Bluff grow. It is the most amazing place on earth and I highly recommend it for any visitors! The best vacation for families!!

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lanncasey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bluffton
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

had a great time at Palmetto, we rented a sports cottage and the family loved it, played golf 3 days and the girls took advantage of the spa with a great experience. the only down side was the Christmas dinner as it was not a Christmas dinner or even close

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ed P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bluffton
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

Our family had an amazing time at the Inn. Plenty to do for all ages. A wonderful place to relax and share time together. Food, drinks and service were outstanding. We had fun riding the bikes, golf carts, and walking around the beautiful property. The church is beyond charming, rooms comfortable and inviting. Hope to go back sometime!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Patrick V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallahassee, FL
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

This was our second stay at Palmetto Bluff. We have also visited many times for day trips when visiting friends. We were married at the Inn in 2009 and stayed in cottage 19 which is a river view cottage suite. For our December 2013 trip, we stayed in cottage 38 which is a lagoon view cottage. Both cottages are perfect. We loved both the river view and lagoon view. There really isn't much difference between the cottages besides the view. The suite is only slightly bigger with a separate living space, but we thought the regular cottage was perfect for the two of us.

We grabbed a pizza one night at Buffalo’s and then dinned at Buffalo’s again for lunch. Both were very good. We ate dinner one night at the Canoe Club and it was outstanding. I ordered the grouper and lobster, and my husband ordered the fried chicken. We also picked up a few quick things at RT’s market for breakfast and snacking. I was really impressed with the food on this trip.

For this trip, we just wanted to go and relax and that is exactly what we did. We rode bikes around the resort and walked around to see the beautiful scenery. I haven't tried the spa yet, but would like to on our next trip. Palmetto Bluff is one of my favorite places on earth because it is so relaxing, quiet and beautiful. The staff is always incredibly gracious. Can't wait to return again!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wakesnow27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

We visited the Inn during June of 2013. It is an extremely charming hotel and town. The rooms are impeccable, and the we spent several hours exploring the area in our golf cart. The only negative part of our trip was that a strong storm came through in the early evening one night and knocked out power. Surprisingly, the resort had no backup generator - which I found quite unusual for a hotel of this price and prestige in that geographical location. The fact the rooms had no power was one thing, but the power was out for the restaurants as well - which meant no dinner or room service...at least until quite late.

Overall the trip was lovely. It is definitely worth the visit - but if you do not golf or have other activities planned I would say you could take it all in over 2 days.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

Words cannot describe the feeling we got when we arrived. When we arrived on the property we immediately knew that we were going to a special place. Set back on the coast of the May river we travelled 6 miles into the pines and oak trees of this beautifully preserved property. Nature, elegance, first class service, and beauty are what all guests get to experience at this resort. The owners of this resort should give lessons to the many resort operators on how to run a world class property while keeping the environment a top priority.

It was so nice to have a perfectly appointed cottage to stay in that had a fridge stocked and we were not charged for using anything. The spa is world class along with the activities available for the non spa folks. I cannot praise this place enough and can't wait to get back.

Room Tip: Cottages on the river are where you want to be. The further away from the inn towards the spa hinder...
See more room tips
Green Features: The owners of this resort should give lessons to the many resort operators on how to run a world class property while keeping the environment a top priority.
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buddhapeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bluffton
6.5 mi away
Inn & Club at Harbour Town - Sea Pines Resort
8.9 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
11.8 mi away
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
#6 of 29 in Hilton Head
4.5 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
9.9 mi away
Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort
11.9 mi away
The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montage Palmetto Bluff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montage Palmetto Bluff

Property: Montage Palmetto Bluff
Address: 477 Mount Pelia Rd, Bluffton, SC 29910-8343 (Formerly The Inn at Palmetto Bluff, A Montage Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Bluffton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Bluffton
#1 Green Hotel in Bluffton
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bluffton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Montage Palmetto Bluff 4.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Montage Palmetto Bluff, a prestigious luxury inn with gracious South Carolina cottages and village homes, is located along the May River. Just 30 minutes from nearby Savannah, GA and Hilton Head, SC, the resort has beautifully appointed cottages, cottage suites and resort rooms as well as luxury two, three and four bedroom home rentals. Spa Montage is one of the top-rated spas in the United States. 6 on-property restaurants and a gourmet food shop all provide for an array of dining options from casual to exquisite. Multiple pool facilities, fitness centers and a movement studio with complimentary classes are available. Extensive activities are offered including: equestrian, boating, kayaking, 18-hole Jack Nicklaus Signature Golf Course and croquet and tennis facility. The resort also features a wealth of stunning and intimate locations for weddings and events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Montage Palmetto Bluff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Palmetto Bluff, An Auberge Hotel Bluffton
Hotel At Palmetto Bluff
Resort At Palmetto Bluff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing