We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“garden of eden”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Montage Palmetto Bluff
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Bluffton
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“garden of eden”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

remarkable place,my wife and i travel often and this had to be the best,relaxing vacation.firstly we are from new york and we gere in a little over 2 hrs. we flew into savannah a beautiful airport and there is only one terninal so it goes very fast. the inn is beautiful.the countryside is outstanding.last year we went to hawaii stayed at the four seasons,this was better and hours less flying cannot be beat. last month i was in florida in bal harbor,south carolina is much nicer.the bungalow was magnificent,big screen porch,huge modern bathroom.this resort is a must! i will be back often.i was in a riverview suite bungalow 3 close to the main house.by the way they give you free bikes to get around,and the resort fee is well worth it! i don't go to restaurants so you are on your own there but i am sure it's first rate like evreything at the inn

Green Features: first rate,not that i care but they take it very seriously
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bigkal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    498
    55
    22
    12
    7
See reviews for
123
296
9
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We just returned from 4 nights in a 'Village Home,' at Palmetto Bluffs. Thus was my husbands choice for vacation (post chemotherapy) and I must say I was reluctant. I had booked an alternate vacation in California, but then realized this trip was not about me. I am glad I went with his request.

What he was looking for was a place to totally kick back and enjoy the property and nature surrounding it. He was spot on. It is actually a bit idyllic, a quaint village, beautiful Inn, nature at its best, and Southern charm, and hospitality at its finest.

From the moment we pulled up to the property, everyone we had the pleasure of meeting were delightful, like family, yet in a professional way. We fell in love with so many of the staff there and would welcome them into our home anytime, and we did extend the invitation to several of them.

The staffing at the adult pool (Meryl, Leon, Michael, and Erwin) not only made us wonderful drinks but were so much fun to be around. Our morning breakfast at Buffalo's was something we looked forward to each day. We thoroughly enjoyed ALL of our Jamaican friends who made sure everything was to our liking. You could tell they love working there and are passionate about their job and just about life in general. You couldn't help but feel like life is amazing (and it is my friends) not to mention the service and food was outstanding.

We took advantage of the kayaks and bikes available to us. Kayaking with the dolphin was surreal and serene. I went out twice everyday just to be with these amazing creatures. Michael in the main store was always willing to call for assistance, and Kevin and Tim (from recreation) always came to aid and assist us in getting us ready to go. Safety is key to them, and they provided us so much help and were so knowledgeable in helping us, and always with a smile.

As far as activities, we took the two hour 'Dolphin Eco' tour with Captain Boo and it was the best! We learned so much and enjoyed listening to his stories. He is one of a kind, and not to be passed up. My husband and son played golf twice, and said it was one of the top 5 courses they had ever played. My son played D1 college golf, and has played all over the country, so that is saying something. Scott and Nolan In the pro shop are the best. The course is spectacular and should not be missed! They played Harbour Town Golf Links in Hilton Head and were very disenchanted. Bicycles are complimentary and it is wonderful riding around and exploring the beautiful property. If you are close to the main village as we were you do not need a golf cart.

There are so many people I would love to recognize, but I would have to go on for days. The manager of Guest Services, David Smiley is a class act. He is everything a property of this caliber needs. This property deserves the 'Montage' title, and David makes sure of that.

In closing, I will first say that I am sorry for those of you that I didn't mention by name. People too often write reviews to complain, and I understand that, however, when accolades deserve to be given, let's make an effort of giving them. The employees here are more than willing to please, and to serve. Let's remember to thank them for it.

We can't wait to return. I miss the low country already.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jblairgolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

My wife and I stayed here for my sister's in law wedding. The place is enchanting from the drive going into the Inn and cottages. The service is absolutely first class and the staff try to make you feel like you live there. By the way it is some million dollar houses that will make your jaw drop. The cottages are extremely comfortable and cozy, the bathroom have a separate tub and a steam, rain shower that is perfect for extremely relaxation. The Inn restaurant is exquisite and the service as well. I do recommend the creme brulee! Overall our experience was a delight and definitely we will be back!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaime R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

It is an enchanting place. We stated at a cottage overlooking the ocean. We had a fireplace that brought warmth and character to the cottage. They supply bicycles, golf carts but you could also walk the beautiful grounds. Restaurants very good.

Everyone there was extremely pleasant. Only 30 minutes from savannah.

The inn at palmetto bluff is a must to stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Isabel60742
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

What a delight to drive just 4 hrs from Atlanta and be in the sweet smelling, picturesque low country! Beautiful, peaceful, and extremely quiet getaway on the May river, just 30 minutes north of Savannah. Food amazing, best breakfast ever at Buffalo's, and delicious meals at the River Club and Canoe Club too.

The cottages are private, extremely spacious, and features all the amenities you need to feel like you've come home for rest and rejuvenation. Make a drink in the bar, take it outside on the screen porch, and then nestle in the comfy bed after a day of exploring on your complimentary bikes or cruising on the Grace motor yacht.

Bluffton is a quaint town too, full of galleries and cute shops. Surprising, great romantic getaway!

Room Tip: All the cottages are the same except for the view. We had the lagoon view but reserved the forest v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diane m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaufort, South Carolina
Level Contributor
215 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Depending on the hour grab your coffee or wine. I have alot to say!

My husband and I took advantage of the special price PB offers those neighbors living in Beaufort Co. and surrounding counties in August. We went down for 2 nights this week. We have eaten there several times but never spent the night.

PB is located on the May River and exudes Southern charm and sophistication. Driving up to the resort, the bell staff who greet you give you a great first impression of PB and the service to come! Adam, Adam and Adam (yes there were three the day we arrived) Daniel and Alex do a stellar job. They greet you, help with your luggage, take you to your cottage, to dinner etc. They are amazing. They are outgoing, cordial and helpful. When we were leaving the car was already pulled up for us and two cold bottles of water in the console (that's a very nice touch).

When we checked in we were told we had an upgrade. We had reserved a cottage suite in the woods and now had a lagoon cottage. And upon arrival at our cottage we know why. As we rode out to our cottage we noticed the green fabric construction barrier and heard the trucks. Cottage #52 is at the very end of the road right next to the construction. We guess that another customer had this cottage and asked to be changed to a quieter spot. And thus our upgrade! We were not happy. The suites though are really nice. They are large, have high ceilings and a screened porch. There is a tiny sink, glasses and mini-fridge right inside the door. There is a separate dressing room and then a wonderful, large bathroom with double sinks, walk-in shower and soaking tub. It is possibly the lovliest "hotel room" I've ever stayed in (so points for that). There was a nice bottle of wine and pecans there for our enjoyment and the fridge is full of water, and tea. They bring ice within minutes of your phone call and the chocolate covered shortbread cookies housekeeping brings in the afternoon are yummy. Just a suggestion - since it is likely there are 2 people in the room they should bring 4 cookies not three. You don't want to fight over who gets the third one! There is an ipad in the room that you can use to make dinner and other activity reservations. We used it for making a reservation for Tuesday at The River Club and guess what - they had no record of it when we arrived! That's not so good. In fact, we were told that this has been an ongoing issue. Luckily we were able to be accomodated even with that glitch.

So back to our major disappointment. Shortly after we checked in to the cottage we called the front desk to mention the "upgrade" and asked for another cottage more removed from the noise. Ironically if we stayed at the cottage we originally had (in the woods) the noise impact would have been minimal. The front desk manager said she probably could not move us but asked where we were having dinner. My husband said the Canoe Club and she said "we'll do something for you" (or something along that line). She also mentioned that the workers didn't start until 10 and finished at 6. Well in fact they start at 7 a.m. She is either very misinformed or deliberately misled, in order to placate us. This information, about the ongoing construction, scheduled to last years, should, at the very least, be on the website and mentioned by the frontdesk staff. Even lesser hotels do this. Needless to say we were not pleased with the way this was handles.

The Canoe Club is lovely and Gavin is a super server. Very outgoing and pleasant. We were there with another couple and at the end of our meal a young lady came to our table, spoke to the other gentleman the whole time (I think you could find out who is staying in the cottage and direct your comments to them. The servers knew.) and said our salads and dessert had been compted for our inconvenience! OK - we each shared a salad - so that's 2 and we had one dessert. Basically we were compted $36.00! I really don't think that's a fair exchange.

We loved the biking and lounging at the pool - where we had a great lunch. Those young people are also exceptional. Julia was wonderful. I'd be fanning myself with the menu and she'd be over in a flash asking if we needed to order anything! They give you a nice bucket with ice and cold water in it when you've gotten situated.

Dinner at the River House was nice but we've had better there. Our server, Andrew was awesome and did a great job. I will say that Thomas Stone (restaurant manager ?) does an exceptional job of making sure you are happy and he took care of a few glitches that happened at dinner.

It's definitely a beautiful place and we will probably return since it is "in our backyard". It can be better.

Room Tip: Rooms 48-52 (even numbers only) are closest to the construction.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Edie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Having never been to the southeast, we were able to truly discover (and fall in love with) the beauty and charm of the low country at this lovely and picturesque property. From the moment we arrived and were greeted by Nate (quite possibly the happiest man alive), we knew we were in for something special. Our cottage was beautiful; the morning sunrise over the May River was worth getting up for every single morning of our week-long stay. Everywhere we turned, we discovered some beautiful spot that overlooked spectacularly beautiful scenery. There was plenty to do (or not do, if you are so inclined). There are miles of trails to run, walk, bike, and hike. We rode all over the property on the bicycles that were parked right outside our cottage. The waterways provide all sorts of opportunities: we kayaked in the river with the dolphins and in the lagoon with the gators; we paddle-boarded; we enjoyed a wine cruise with the sommelier. We also sometimes just sat gazing at all the tranquil beauty of the low country or sipping drinks by the pool. And, for even more relaxation, there was, of course, the spa where we enjoyed a marvelous "high cotton" massage. Although the range of activities and the quality of the accommodations were fabulous, it was the atmosphere that made this place so special. Never in our lives have we encountered such friendly and charming people. As we meandered about the expansive property, we felt like we had been dropped into "The Truman Show." The staff, the guests, and the residents of the community really helped make our time there magical. Equally magical was the food. Don't be afraid to leave your culinary fate in the hands of the staff. We always asked for recommendations and were never disappointed. They were also great about making vegetarian-friendly modifications. We LOVED the meals at the Canoe Club; the exceptional quality of both the food and the service was definitely "fine-dinning" but the warmth and enthusiasm of the staff (especially Alexa and Dennis) made us feel like we were eating among friends. The Porch was perfect when we wanted something a bit more casual. Dinner at the River House was something truly special; plan to "dress" for dinner and to enjoy a leisurely meal. Even Leon's drinks by the pool were perfect. Actually, everything about this place was perfect for us. In fact, it was so perfect we had to keep reminding ourselves it was real and not a Hollywood movie set. The only thing we didn't like was that, eventually, we had to leave.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 2_of_us_ontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bluffton
6.5 mi away
Inn & Club at Harbour Town - Sea Pines Resort
8.9 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
11.8 mi away
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
Marriott's Barony Beach Club
#7 of 28 in Hilton Head
4.5 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Sonesta Resort Hilton Head Island
9.9 mi away
Omni Hilton Head Oceanfront Resort
11.9 mi away
The Westin Hilton Head Island Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montage Palmetto Bluff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montage Palmetto Bluff

Property: Montage Palmetto Bluff
Address: 477 Mount Pelia Rd, Bluffton, SC 29910-8343 (Formerly The Inn at Palmetto Bluff, A Montage Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Bluffton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Bluffton
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bluffton
#1 Green Hotel in Bluffton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Montage Palmetto Bluff 5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Montage Palmetto Bluff, a prestigious luxury inn with gracious South Carolina cottages and village homes, is located along the May River. Just 30 minutes from nearby Savannah, GA and Hilton Head, SC, the resort has beautifully appointed cottages, cottage suites and resort rooms as well as luxury two, three and four bedroom home rentals. Spa Montage is one of the top-rated spas in the United States. 6 on-property restaurants and a gourmet food shop all provide for an array of dining options from casual to exquisite. Multiple pool facilities, fitness centers and a movement studio with complimentary classes are available. Extensive activities are offered including: equestrian, boating, kayaking, 18-hole Jack Nicklaus Signature Golf Course and croquet and tennis facility. The resort also features a wealth of stunning and intimate locations for weddings and events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Preferred Hotels, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Montage Palmetto Bluff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Palmetto Bluff, An Auberge Hotel Bluffton
Hotel At Palmetto Bluff
Resort At Palmetto Bluff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing