We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (815)
Filter reviews
815 results
Traveller rating
649
90
37
20
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
649
90
37
20
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the cottages golf cart the river steam shower screened porch top notch adult pool main building beautiful property lagoon view fire pit southern charm village home sea island tree house long weekend a special place
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 815 reviews
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

This property is such a special place. Elegant, lush and luxurious is just the beginning of the adjectives that come to mind. I am just so impressed by how a resort that construction was finished just a few short years ago, could look and feel like it has been there for decades. It all feels like it’s been there forever! While the main building is very nice, I would highly recommend staying in one of the nearby cottages across the lagoon for a more private and quiet experience.
Yes, as you’ve probably read in other reviews, the prices for food and drink are relatively high...but the service and setting that you’re experiencing this in makes it all worth it in my opinion. Just an extraordinary place to relax and enjoy nature and wildlife while being pampered and taken care of in such a beautiful place!

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Dittmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaseyL678, General Manager at Montage Palmetto Bluff, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Dittmo,

Many thanks for the review of your visit to Montage Palmetto Bluff. While we can't take credit for the beautiful setting that Mother Nature has provided, we are pleased to know that the service levels were to your satisfaction. Please do come back and see us whenever your travels bring you to the beautiful Lowcountry.

Warm regards,

Casey Lavin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2018 via mobile

Accommodations are first class, luxury at its finest. Staff exceptional well trained. Food is amazing, fresh & creative. Plenty of things to do on property. Great for all ages and activities for all. Beautiful location scenery and atmosphere. Very unique & ve remote location surrounded by wildlife preserve. Spa is very relaxing with cold pool, jacuzzi, wet & dry sauna. Lockers and private shower area. Adult pool with excellent staff. Gym has view of pool fully equipped. One of the few property’s in Carolina’s that is actually worth the price. Quality in all the details.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaseyL678, General Manager at Montage Palmetto Bluff, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Susan S,

Thanks so much for visiting Montage Palmetto Bluff and for sharing your review of the Resort. We're very pleased that you enjoyed your time with us, and we hope to see you another time soon.

Warm regards,

Casey Lavin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2018 via mobile

My husband & I own a house on Kiawah, so we are very familiar with top notch communities. Palmetto Bluff blew us away! It is by far the most beautiful setting in the entire Low Country and the Montage resort lives up to the picturesque location. Gracious, accommodating service without being overbearing. Offers various accommodations, from inn rooms, to lovely private cottages. Amenities abound: spacious guest rooms, wonderful snack & beverage choices in room (top shelf), plush robes, fabulous toiletry products, spacious, private balconies, tasteful decor, the list goes on & on. Spa, super, pristine and well appointed— relaxation area, with bonus outdoor whirlpool. Great fitness facility (classes offered). Extra goodies for guests: s’more parties nightly, cooking and tasting demos, among other scheduled activities. Property boasts several pools (yes, one is adult only), and multiple dining options (overpriced, but that’s to be expected), and every other activity you could possibly think of: kayaking, canoeing, boating, harbor cruises, fishing expeditions, biking (a must to view the extensive property), or rent a golf cart. The property also boasts bocce courts, tennis, golf. There is ABSOLUTELY nothing amiss here. This place leaves HIlton Head & Sea Island in the dust. No beach, but trust me, you won’t miss it.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Cocomaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casey L, General Manager at Montage Palmetto Bluff, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2018

Dear Cocomaryland,

Thanks very much for your visit to Montage Palmetto Bluff and for your review. We are pleased to learn of all the things you especially appreciated about your visit. Please come back and see us whenever your travels bring you to the Lowcountry.

Warm regards,
Casey Lavin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2018 via mobile

The facts: This is a luxury resort and therefore, prices will reflect that. That being said, you get what you pay for. The hospitality is above and beyond with all employees making you feel welcome. The rooms are impeccable with amenities to match. The grounds are pristine and kept up very well so be prepared to take numerous pictures. Food is good, but plan ahead with your reservations. View the menu and verify there are options for all in your party. We had ample time to relax while also taking advantage of the activities on the resort like the kayaking and bike rental.

We loved our trip and will most definitely return in the future. Canoe club has the best dinner (book in advance). The best breakfast is Buffalos (no reservation needed). You have access to all amenities in the spa (steam room, sauna, relaxation room, etc) without needing a service, however, I highly recommend a facial or massage (very pricey but worth it). We stayed in the 8000 building and would recommend this over the inn - better pool, closer to more activities/restaurants, better view. Overall, amazing experience and we can’t wait to come back.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Nick U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casey L, General Manager at Montage Palmetto Bluff, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2018

Dear Nick U,

It was a pleasure to see your review and we thank you for sharing such helpful information for readers. We're glad to learn that you enjoyed your visit and we will definitely look forward to welcoming you back.

Warm regards,
Casey Lavin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2018 via mobile

Was here for 3 days .
Called to have burnt out lights in room
Replaced 5x nothing was done . Food in all restaurants was MEDIOCRE at
Best . Service
Was painfully
Slow in all venues , often took
20 min to get a cocktail when only 2 others were in the Bar!! Room
Service tray was left out overnight despite
3
Calls to pick it up
Animals had a feast ! This property is abysmal when you compare cost vs quality .
Would NEVER recommend as it currently exists/managed . My room
Was 48 3000$ for 3 days is terrible when the conditions and service are so sub par

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with friends
5  Thank minnow2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casey L, General Manager at Montage Palmetto Bluff, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2018

Dear minnow2018,

Thank you for sharing your disappointment with your recent visit to our Resort. We, of course, are disappointed as well that the service you experienced fell below your expectations and also below our standards. I do hope you will accept my apologies and know that these issues have been discussed with the management staff for remedial action. Should you wish to discuss the experience further, please contact me at 843-706-6501.

Warm regards,
Casey Lavin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews