We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sketchy at best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn Blythewood
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Blythewood
Middlefield, Ohio
Level Contributor
72 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Sketchy at best”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

The check-in staff (Bri) was excellent. She was busy, but efficient, and checked three different guests in w/in 5 minutes. A real gem!

Common areas were dirty, although our room wasn't bad. My sixteen year old son (not a small child) wanted some privacy to call a friend, so I suggested he go down to the lobby or the workout room. He returned 10 minutes later saying that all the lights in the hallway were out, and he didn't feel comfortable w/the people hanging out in the lobby.

At 8:30 in the morning, we rec'd a call asking us to move our car, as it was blocking a "construction area". I persisted in asking if they were sure it was our car, and only then did they realize it was a white Ford, and not a black one.

I tried to go back to sleep, but at 9:00, housekeeping pounded on the door, and I had to chase them away. After that, you could hear the cleaning staff yelling up an down the halls about which unit was there, who checked out and so on. They were also yelling down the hall to maintenance about the lack of AC (we were comfortable enough) When I mentioned it to Shah, the owner, she said it was our fault that we didn't have the do not disturb sign in the door. To her credit, she did give us $10 off for the car incident.

The breakfast bar was dismal at best. One shriveled orange, one type of bread, area not wiped down, and trash overflowing. I stuck with the cereal, which was good, and my wife had eggs and sausage and said they were good as well. My son had a donut, but finished half as he said it was stale.

This hotel is in a great location, and the building itself is not that bad. It needs a top to bottom cleaning, updating of furniture, and an intensive course in customer service. It is about $30 cheaper than the Holiday Inn across the street, so I guess we go what we paid for.

Room Tip: We were on the 3rd floor, and there was very little traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gvis2020traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
comfortinnblythewood, Webmaster at Comfort Inn Blythewood, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your thorough comments. We use all comments as part of our continuous improvement efforts, and we will take both the positive and negative feedback you offer into consideration. I’m sincerely sorry that we did not completely meet your expectations during this stay. We’re always getting better, and I hope you will try us again if in the area again. I believe you will find a better overall experience.

Sincerely
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    38
    15
    10
    15
See reviews for
65
36
8
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lake Placid, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

Traveling south from NY back to Fl, we had the best hotel experience of our lives. I drove with my 93 year old Mom to NY (as a thing on her "bucket" list). We had stopped at 3 hotels on the way up and then on the way home we, luckily, stopped here. We were met at the desk by a most wonderful person, Anil Ojha, who set us up with a disability room, and were made to feel like we were the most important visitor that walked through their doors. We must also thank Trubti Shah for even more hospitality. The room was immaculate, well suited for our needs, and they couldn't do enough to help us out. We were exhausted and anticipated another disasterous overnight stay like we had experienced going north. This place and these people made an immense difference in our traveling experience. I am sorry this took so long as our stay was either the 13th or 14th of October, 2013.

Room Tip: If you are in need of disability accomodations, without being put somewhere out of the way on the gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ridgeway, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

This hotel was dirty- the floors were filthy and the bedding on the bed was a disgrace- a big patch worn through the sheets, visible blood on the bed skirt, stains all over bedspread. We had booked in and I immediately walked out after checking the room and got a refund. This hotel is sorely in need of a top to bottom cleaning.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Aliearl22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
comfortinnblythewood, Webmaster at Comfort Inn Blythewood, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for this feedback. I’m sorry you could not complete your stay with us, and I hope you found something adequate nearby. Hundreds of guests are satisfied with this property every month, but a few are not. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip, and I again sincerely apologize that we did not meet your expectations.

Sincerely
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

Great pet friendly hotel. Excellent staff and management. They try to do everything they can to make your stay pleasant. I highly recommend this hotel, especially if you are traveling with pets. Lots of great eating places in walking distance.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

Dirty, dirty!!! From the elevator doors, the interior of the elevator. The carpet ugh! Why we stayed???????? It was late we were tired . I must say the sheets and bathroom fixtures were clean. However, the bathroom door would not shut or the closet door.

The personnell were very friendly. The young girl who checked us in was also a determining factor she was very friendly and helpful. But once we hit the elevator we were thinking "Oh no" hope its not any worse.

Please clean this place. It's definitely off our list to stay as well as Comfort Inns!


Tommy Huff

Room Tip: Lets hope you find one that the bathroom door closes and the carpet doesn't feel and look filthy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
comfortinnblythewood, Webmaster at Comfort Inn Blythewood, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your comments. Although they were some time ago, we still appreciate what you have to say. You can be sure that we have made many changes and improvements since your stay -- although the staff is still as friendly and helpful as ever. I hope you will reconsider and try us again when in the area again. You’ll find a better experience.

Sincerely
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
96 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

No frills hotel but they were super nice and in the same parking lot as a McDonalds. Gas station across the street and I think a Subway close by. The hotel was super clean and very typical but the staff was really cool. The lady working gave me 10 bucks off because I checked in at like 1:30 am. It was like 65 bucks to sleep in clean sheets and have a nice shower and good breakfast. Stay here if you are in the area. Holiday Inn across the street was like $120.

I was pulling a trailer and there was plenty of parking for me at the hotel. Great place. Go here...

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wal-Dawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlythewoodComfortInn, General Manager at Comfort Inn Blythewood, responded to this review, 7 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.

Sincerely,

Anil Ojha
General Manager
Comfort Inn - Blythewood SC
Tel: (803) 754 - 1441
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2013

Nice room with comfortable bed, helpful and kind front staff, and food within walking distance.i would definitely stay again. The rate was very affordable and only $1 more than this terrible motel just up the highway.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HSoja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlythewoodComfortInn, General Manager at Comfort Inn Blythewood, responded to this review, 1 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Anil Ojha
General Manager
Comfort Inn - Blythewood SC
Tel: (803) 754 - 1441
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blythewood
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Blythewood
0.4 mi away
Days Inn North Columbia Ft. Jackson
7.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Columbia / Northeast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Columbia North East
8.0 mi away
Residence Inn Columbia Northeast
9.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Columbia
Comfort Suites Columbia
#24 of 94 in Columbia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Blythewood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Blythewood

Property: Comfort Inn Blythewood
Address: 436 McNulty Street, Blythewood, SC 29016
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Blythewood
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Blythewood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Inn Blythewood 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newly renovated Comfort Inn hotel in Blythewood, SC just off I-77! Our affordable hotel is minutes away from a variety of restaurants, cocktail lounges, specialty shops and popular attractions such as Riverbanks Zoo, 4 Pro Golf Course, Columbia Mall, Botanical Gardens, South Carolina State Museum and more! Our delicious, free breakfast is a must in the morning. We offer everything from eggs and meat to healthy options like yogurt and fresh fruit. Oh, and we make one heck of a waffle, too. Whether you are travelling for leisure or business, you can always count on our hotel for a warm welcome and real value complete with all the amenities you need to feel right at home. Our smoke-free rooms are equipped with a refrigerator, a microwave, a tea & coffee maker, a hair dryer, a flat HD TV, an air conditioner and an iron and ironing board. For added convenience, our pet-friendly hotel welcomes your furry friends (fees apply). Our business travellers will appreciate the free wireless high-speed Internet, free local calls, data ports, well-lit work desks, speakerphones, voicemail and 24-hour business center with fax and copy services. We also have a seasonal outdoor pool, a marketplace, a fitness center, a guest laundry room and a newspaper each weekday of your stay. Larger parties and extended stay guests – don’t forget to ask about our executive suite options! They have separate living areas, additional rooms, sofa sleepers, a Jacuzzi, a kitchenette, a balcony, a fireplace, two HD flat screen TV’s and more! Comfort Inn at Blythewood will give you everything you need to make sure you leave feeling refreshed and ready for a successful day ahead. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn Blythewood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blythewood Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing