We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing.”
Review of Mill Farm Glamping

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mill Farm Glamping
Certificate of Excellence
Stevenage
1 review
“Amazing.”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

What a fantastic safe place for kids to run around and enjoy fresh air. Learn about farming and the animals. Farmers Joe and Chris were extremely accommodating and nothing was too much trouble. Especially making a little boys birthday extra special. The local pub does a great Sunday lunch. Would definitely be booking again very soon.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelAndJimStevenage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    216
    16
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
150
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

This is our second visit to Belle Vue/Mill Farm. The first time was under the Featherdown franchise, but last weekend was definitely a step up and well done to Issy, Joe and family for creating such as wonderful environment.
We arrived at approx 5pm and Joe pointed out our 'tent' in a beautifully secluded point in the corner of the field. There were only four tents so plenty of privacy. You park your car near the barn and then use wheelbarrows to transport everything to your tent. This makes it a very safe place for children and dogs and the children are very happy to act as 'sherpas'.
From past experience the first thing to get going is the stove. Everything from heating, cups of tea and supper revolve around getting the fire going so its always the first task. A few matches, fire lighters and kindling and we had a roaring fire ready to get the kettle going.The children can fetch extra wood with the wheelbarrow from the barn.
Next is making the beds. All the linen is provided but you do have to make the beds, all easy apart from the top bunk. There is a large double bed, a separate 'room' with full size twin beds and then a charming Wendy House with large bunk beds. The youngest member of our party (aged 8) was absolutely delighted with her 'house' although both bunks are large enough for adults.
The main living area has a table suitable for seating six and a sofa. At the rear of the cabin/tent is a separate shower and then also separate bathroom with sink and toilet. So much nicer than having to walk through the field (sometimes in the rain) to the shower block in the mornings with towels, clothes and wash kit!
The other big change was having access to electricity. Great for drying hair in the morning and for teenagers to charge up various electronic devices and phones. We still opted to light the tent with candles in the evening as it is magical.
There is a wooden porch with two rocking chairs which were hard to get out off once you'd settled in and it was very relaxing having a glass of wine whilst the sunset.
The owners regularly popped by to make sure everything was okay and working properly and the guests in our neighbouring tent had some friends visiting, so Issy & Chris put up an extra tent for them to stay in. ( I think this has to be done by arrangement).
There is a pack in each tent detailing local activities and pubs. The Raven does excellent food and is within walking distance. We opted to drive and went to the Barge Inn next to the canal. The food was very good pub grub and you can take the dogs.
On the Saturday we arranged with Chris to do the laser clay shooting. Definitely worth doing whether your 8 or 80. Great fun and everyone can have a go although the gun is quite heavy for children.
There is an Honesty shop for all those bare essentials and a fridge with a good stock of local produce, bacon, meats,eggs, milk etc. There is also a freezer full of ice blocks to use in your tent cool box. Obviously these are not as efficient as a fridge but as long as you don't open the box too often, certainly cool enough to keep food fresh even on a hot day.
The children periodically checked in the chicken coop to see if there were any eggs and loved having freshly laid eggs for breakfast.
There is a large picnic table next to the tent and we ate meals at this table as the sun was shining most of the weekend.
My only criticism is it would be nice during school term time to do 2 night bookings instead of 3. Most people with school age children have to leave on the Sunday and miss the extra night even though you pay for it. Apart from that a wonderfully relaxing weekend and we look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank JuliaHLondon_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Godalming, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We had a fantastic weekend at Mill Farm and will certainly be back. Almost don't want to share as it will become hard to get booked in! But the kids had a wonderful time - hay bales to play one, animals to feed and a donkey and a tractor ride. Joe, Izzy, Chris and Lucy were amazing hosts and the tents are out of this world. Wonderful!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lucy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
1 review
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Our first experience of Mill Farm was in 2012, I tried to book for 2013 but I was too slow and they were fully booked, so I booked there and then for 2014.

So would I go back? Yes just emailing Chris now for next year.
Would I recommend it to friends? Yes, I'm not one to return to the same place twice but, I'm taking the family back for more.

Having stayed at other glamping sites I can honestly say this by far the best.

It is a fab place, and my kids just love the hay barn, and all that the farm offers.

Cheers, Chris, Joe and Izzy for another wonderful weekend on your farm.

Room Tip: All tents are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KitaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

Have just returned from a fabulous hen weekend glamping at millfarm. Everything was perfect from start to finish. 14 ladies travelled from all over the uk and were not disappointed. We settled in on Friday and were well looked after by farmer Chris and his mum. The arrival meals provided by a local pub went down a treat. The lanterns provided enough light for us to sit out chatting and playing games late into the night. The beds were cosy and electric blankets a treat! On Saturday we hired a minibus and spent a few hours in devizes followed by a visit to Stonehenge. On the sat evening Chris took all the hens to the nearby pub in his tractor and trailer- this was hilarious and enjoyed by all! We had a nice meal in the raven inn. Sunday morning we barbecued our bacon for breakfast and had a laugh laser clay pigeon shooting. All in all everyone had a fabulous weekend and I couldn't recommend this highly enough. The farm is beautiful and we were so well looked after. Thank you so much to Chris and family! A superb send off for the bride!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank zchaf15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Have just returned back from a fun weekend of glamping for a friends hen weekend. We had an amazing time. Farmer Joe, Izzy, Chris and George were very welcoming, accommodating and ensured that we had an enjoyable weekend. From delivering our pub dinner, taking a group of excited hens to and from the local pub in a tractor and by teaching us how to clay pigeon shoot they really did help make our stay full of fun.
The 'tents' were fantastic, every little detail had been thought of, they really put the glam into glamping. The burning stove, sofas and beds made for a cosy night in. I would definitely recommend Mill Farm to everyone and I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JennaW24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We have just visited Mill farm for my friend's hen weekend and had a fabulous stay. It was cosy, comfortable and in beautiful surroundings. There were lots of activities to choose from and even the rainy weather couldn't dampen our spirit. Owners Joe and Izzy and their sons were so welcoming and went out of their way to make our stay relaxing and full of fun. The tractor ride to the local pub (The Raven) was a real highlight. I look forward to going back for a weekend in the future and would definitely recommend Mill Farm to families as well.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusiSalavati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poulshot
6.0 mi away
Beechfield House
Beechfield House
#1 of 1 in Beanacre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Bear Hotel Market Place
9.8 mi away
Bishopstrow House
Bishopstrow House
#1 of 3 in Warminster
4.0 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
The Stones Hotel
The Stones Hotel
#9 of 16 in Salisbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#3 of 5 in Devizes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
1.8 mi away
Blounts Court Farm
Blounts Court Farm
#3 of 20 in Devizes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mill Farm Glamping? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mill Farm Glamping

Property: Mill Farm Glamping
Address: Belle Vue Farm, Poulshot, Devizes SN10 1RZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Devizes > Poulshot
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Poulshot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glamping at Mill Farm is hot water on tap, comfy beds, snugly duvets and pillows, eggs most days, wifi when needed, rechargeable lanterns for the evenings and fantastic hosts. And for the kids - bunk beds in a mini wooden house inside the lodge, reading bedtime stories by candle light, mini tractors to race around the meadow, a safe environment...and best of all, no electronic games consoles or TV. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing