We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A location that makes a charming city even better!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Francis Marion Hotel
Ranked #23 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Thousand Oaks, California
2 reviews
“A location that makes a charming city even better!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2011

This city is so rich in history there is something new around every corner. The restaurants offer much and the quaint streets designed for horse and buggy make for a pedestrian friendly stroll that brings you back in time to the days of the founding fathers, pirate stories and more. Add to that the Francis Marion Hotel and you'll have a very memorable stay. I experienced 3 full days at this property. The hotel and its' early American style was only made even more enjoyable by the attention from thier well trained and friendly staff. this is on my lists to revist.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pturpel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,751 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,340
    899
    300
    129
    83
See reviews for
537
925
91
646
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (734)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2011

Beautiful old hotel. Nice rooms, great service, especially lobby staff. Great location for walkers - we walked in all directions to aquarium and ferry to Ft. Sumter, the market and Rainbow Row, and College of Charleston; despite all the great eating adventures in Charles, the walking kept off the pounds!

Room Tip: Bathrooms were small in regular rooms but quite large in handicapped room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norm22201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2011

Quaint hotel conveniently located beside the park, at the head of the action on King Street. Comfortable accommodations. If you are looking for modern this is not the place.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank navytrippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington State
Level Contributor
211 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2011

My spouse wanted to stay in the historic district (after staying in it, I wouldn’t again--it's nothing special). All the downtown hotels seemed to be overpriced, but the Francis Marion goes all out on Saturday night. I didn’t see the reason for the high price. When we went inside to check in, the lobby had an overpowering scent that brought tears to my eyes. Someone mentioned that it was lavender. I don’t know why there was so much of it; perhaps it came from the spa downstairs. The smell was there the whole time we were there. It was sickening, but apparently only to me.

We were given the last king bed, but the room had the annoying noise from the fans for the HVAC, which would have kept my spouse from getting any sleep. We got moved to a room with two doubles (and a view of the square). It was a bit disappointing because the first room had a loveseat and coffee table, but at least the second room was quiet. This is an old hotel with a tiny bathroom. The bathroom door ran into a bed and wouldn’t open all the way. There was a desk and a dresser. There were a few spots where some TLC was needed, and the windows weren’t cleaned on the inside. But, we found the beds very comfortable. As typical, the hotel offers to let you reuse your towels to save water, but the maid takes them off the rack and gives you new towels every day.

We got a good recommendation for dinner at a place a few blocks away. During the day, there is a concierge available. Yes, the elevators are slow, especially during check-out time. The room price came down on Sunday night, but it was still way overpriced for what you get. I definitely would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Bring a lot of money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cake_of_Liberty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2011

my husband and i stayed for two night just this past week. we'd never been to the city before. this is a grand hotel, big beautiful lobby, friendly staff at the front desk and seamless check in and out. we had a very large room and the BED WAS AMAZING!!! i didnt want to get out of it. it had old historic charm, was clean and nicely decorated. i felt like i was in an old hotel in NY. i used the spa on site and my husband used the fitness center. it was within walking distance to everything and across the street from the park. we didnt need a gift shop, starbucks or restaurant and bar on site like they had, which is prob why they charge what they charge, but i would recommend this to anyone!!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bullhorn429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton Head Island, South Carolina, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2011

What a great night sleep I had at the Francis Marion a couple weeks back. The staff were ready with smiles at the front desk, the bell hop and the car valet. Their smiles are contageous and genuine! Even at our event, the wait staff went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed or wanted to make our meal personally satisfying. Hats off to the staff at Francis Marion! I wish everyone could experience the warmth of your hospitality! Thank you!
-Dede

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leawood
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2011

Front Desk personnel and the reservation staff could not have been nicer. Got us two great rooms for a "girls" weekend (one w/ two baths). Helped us sort out the bill and were always friendly. Bill at Front Desk was exceptional. Good location, nice rooms. Bathrooms are small, but it is part of the ambience.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room. Also ask for two baths if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 333katherineW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
King Charles Inn
#17 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,680 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#14 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
Andrew Pinckney Inn
#21 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Francis Marion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Francis Marion Hotel

Property: Francis Marion Hotel
Address: 387 King Street, Charleston, SC 29403-6468
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Charleston
#13 Business Hotel in Charleston
#15 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#21 Family Hotel in Charleston
#24 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Francis Marion Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience unsurpassed views of the historic harbor at the Francis Marion Hotel, the only high-rise hotel in Charleston’s historic district. All 234 guest rooms including 10 Suites and 7 Penthouse Suites are tastefully furnished for today’s sophisticated traveler, and provide modern conveniences from wireless Internet access, voicemail and data ports to on-demand movies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Francis Marion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Francis Marion Charleston
Hotel Francis Marion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing