We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Events at The Francis Marion”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Francis Marion Hotel
Ranked #23 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 May 2012

If you are planning an event in Charleston, look no further than The Francis Marion. In doing so, you will find yourself in a historic setting with current elegance. Six years ago, my Organization, The Hat Ladies of Charleston, selected The Francis Marion as the site for its annual Mother's Day Luncheon; a tradition was begun that continues and will continue.

Planning for all events takes time and talent. From the moment I begin the process to the moment the last plate is cleared, I have dealt with competence, cooperation, and cheerfulness. These qualities come from the top down; the General Manager is as attentive to our needs as the servers.

Charlestonians are fortunate to have a wide range of options for events. My Ladies would be highly disappointed if we ever switched locations for one of our most important luncheons. They need not fear; we will not switch. Photos from our recent luncheon can be found on www.hatladies.org under PIcture The Hat Ladies. Just click on Mother's Day/Friendship Luncheon.

Whatever the size of your party, The Franics Marion is the place to hold it. You will be delighted you did.

Room Tip: We did not stay at the Hotel. As for banquet rooms, we are partial to The Colonial Ballroom, but al...
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TopHatArchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FMH_Manager, Manager at Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2012

We really enjoy having the Hat Ladies Luncheon every year at our hotel and truly appreciate your loyalty to our hotel. Thank you for sharing your wonderful comments!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,954)
There are newer reviews for Francis Marion Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,301 - 2,307 of 2,954 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2012

My husband and I had just gotten married. Work was very busy so we decided to take a mini honeymoon. I did tons of research looking for the perfect place to stay. I have to say it's hard to meet those kind of expectations. The hotel is beautifully decorated with sparkling chandeliers and ornate antiques.Literally, ALL of the staff were helpful, friendly and professional. The bed is without a doubt the most luxurious and comfortable bed we have ever slept in. The hotel is so convenient that we were able to walk to all of our favorite places. This is truly a gem of a hotel and we highly recommend staying here. It made our special occasion a memory that will last a lifetime!! We look forward to staying there again soon!

Room Tip: The suites are maybe a little more but well worth it!
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FMH_Manager, Manager at Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2012

Congratulations on your marriage! We are delighted that you chose to stay with us on your honeymoon and are looking forward to your future stays. Thank you for sharing on Trip Advisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2012

From the moment we checked in till the morning our bellhop walked us to our car and gave us perfect driving directions we felt the best of what Southern Hospitality stands for at the 1924 elegant Francis Marion hotel.
The location cannot be any better. On Saturday we enjoyed the in- house Starbucks coffee and the fantastic combination Art Fair/Farmers Market at Marion Square directly across the street from the hotel. Then it is a nice walk down King Street which is shopping central. Lots of terrific restaurants nearby. We were there for a wedding and enjoyed a rehearsal dinner in a really beautiful banquet room at the FM (let's face it, usually they are not that beautiful) and breakfast at the Swamp Fox in the FM. Both great meals (especially the breakfast buffet) and the staff is fabulous. Both friendly and helpful. They genuinely want to insure your stay is fabulous and it was. Love the decor of the rooms and the beds are sheer bliss. Bring your bubble bath - long old fashioned tubs! We loved our stay at the Francis Marion!

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a room with a view...there are a few interior rooms that while quiet have no view...
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patricia s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FMH_Manager, Manager at Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2012

We strive to provide southern hospitality to every guest, so I am proud to read your positive comments. I am happy you enjoyed our hotel and your stay here. Thank you for sharing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2012

On a recent trip to Charleston, I stayed at the Francis Marion on King Street. Not only is the hotel beautiful and in the perfect location, but the staff is also extremely helpful and friendly. At 2:00am, I heard a thumping sound in my room and called guest services to see what the noise might be. The staff members took the time to check my floor and the floors above and below me, and even walked outside to determine the source of the noise. After realizing that a local bar was having a late-night band, the staff offered to move me to a new room free of charge, without having to move any of my belongings. I don't think that loud bar music is typically a problem at the hotel, and I would definitely recommend the Francis Marion to anyone interested in staying in Charleston.

Room Tip: Request a room with a view of the park and water
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FMH_Manager, Manager at Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2012

Thank you for sharing your thoughts about the Francis Marion Hotel and our staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2012 via mobile

Stayed there one quick night for a conference. It's very nice, but doesn't quite live up to the promises on the web site. Location was excellent.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigmamu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FMH_Manager, Manager at Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2012

We do continuously make improvements to our hotel using the feedback from our guests, so if you have any specific things that you noticed needing “tlc”, we would love to have that feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights. The hotel is a beautiful, historic building. It is located right in downtown Charleston which was perfect for walking to all the shops and restaurants.
The staff was very friendly and helpful. The valet was busy, but with 8 wedding parties in the hotel at one time it was understandable. It's a small valet area on a busy street, so you have to just find an opening or be patient. We never waited longer than 5 min.
The rooms were clean and spacious. Our confirmation email showed a list of room amenities. One item listed was a kitchen. We had a coffee maker, no kitchen.
The bathroom could use a few repairs. There were a few minor cracks in the old caulk and tiles, but it was very clean regardless.
We were on the 7th floor, which looked out over the roof of the building next door, or the maintenance building of the hotel. Either way, it wasn't pretty.
There is a Starbucks conveniently located in the hotel.
We look forward to staying here the next time we are in Charleston.

Room Tip: Request a room with a view if you plan to spend time in it. Also, for valet, request your vehicle at...
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snrbowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

Trip Advisor ratings don't allow a simple "good", and "very good" (4 stars) seems high, while 3 stars ("average") seems low. Anyway, the Francis Marion (or Swamp Fox Hotel as I've been calling it, which dates me for way too many people) is a courtly older establishment that was entirely pleasant for a few days last week at a business conference held there. The lobby is lovely, as others have noted, a comfortable spot to rest, have a side conversation with a business colleague, or just doodle on your ipad (note: free wifi available throughout the hotel,though sometimes clunky). The elevators are slow and the bathrooms small, but my 10th floor corner room was very comfortable and quite spacious. Went up for a rest late one afternoon and fell almost instantly asleep on the bed, almost missing a dinner engagement. I would definitely recommend the higher floors for views -- the Francis Marion is one of the tallest buildings in Charleston (and at that it's only 11 or 12 stories) where buildings cannot be hire than church spires. Take the harbor cruise -- when you look back at the skyline, the Francis Marion stands out. Though not exactly smack in the historic district, the location is certainly convenient for most people, near shopping, plenty of bars and restaurants, and the colleges. You can walk everywhere anyway. Hotel staff were friendly and helpful, had no problems with housekeeping, never used room service.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
Thank fielding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FMH_Manager, Manager at Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2012

Thank you for sharing on TripAdvisor. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Andrew Pinckney Inn
#20 of 61 in Charleston
1,607 reviews
King Charles Inn
#19 of 61 in Charleston
2,806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Planters Inn
#11 of 61 in Charleston
1,774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Francis Marion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Francis Marion Hotel

Address: 387 King Street, Charleston, SC 29403-6468
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Charleston
#13 Business Hotel in Charleston
#15 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#21 Family Hotel in Charleston
#24 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: £125 - £308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Francis Marion Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience unsurpassed views of the historic harbor at the Francis Marion Hotel, the only high-rise hotel in Charleston’s historic district. All 234 guest rooms including 10 Suites and 7 Penthouse Suites are tastefully furnished for today’s sophisticated traveler, and provide modern conveniences from wireless Internet access, voicemail and data ports to on-demand movies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Francis Marion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Francis Marion Charleston
Hotel Francis Marion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing