We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Hotel, Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Francis Marion Hotel
Ranked #23 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 July 2012

I spent six night at the Francis Marion while attending a conference and post-conference committee meeting. The hotel has the charm of a well-restored historic hotel and my room and the meeting facilities were all very fine and well-maintained. The hotel staff (mainly the front desk staffers and restaurant staff) were all friendly and helpful. I had a chance to see one of the penthouse suites and, of course, that was even nicer than my standard room. I was really pleased with the location of the hotel. With a park right in front and the waterfront and Aquarium only a few blocks away, the hotel was, for me, perfectly situated. A couple hours of strolling past the magnificent houses and historic churches between the hotel and the battery, and back were some of the best sight-seeing time I have ever spent. I would be delighted to stay at the Francis Marion again and am glad that because it was the venue for my conference I had a chance to "get to know" this charming hotel.

Room Tip: If you cannot afford a penthouse suite on the 12th floor, ask for a room on the 11th floor - the vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Russell C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 13 July 2012

I am delighted to hear that your stay here during your conference was enjoyable! Thank you for letting Trip Advisor readers know. I hope you can stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,999)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,309 - 2,315 of 2,999 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2012

We had a nice two-night stay at the Francis Marion. Upon arrival, they told us that they had upgraded us to a suite. Our room was very roomy with a bedroom, living area, and two full bathrooms. Both bathrooms were quite small, and they had several obvious hairs left in them (one of my pet peeves!) Another complaint was that the room was rather humid and muggy. On a positive note, the bed was very comfortable and the hotel staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brandon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 9 July 2012

We appreciate the time you have taken to share your experience on Trip Advisor. I am happy to hear that overall your stay was good; however, I would like to apologize for the hairs in the bathroom and the tempature of the room. We make it a priority to listen to guests' concerns. To stay on top of these issues, I have shared your comments with our housekeeping and maintenance departments. We hope you will stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

I was very pleased with the elegant lobby and upscale rooms in the Francis Marion hotel in Charleston, South Carolina. The staff at the front desk and the concierge were helpful and gracious. The location was in the heart of the city and accessible by foot or free trolley ride. We enjoyed a lovely and timely room service breakfast, and we loved the fish entree and chicken pot pie for dinner in the Swamp Fox Restaurant. Our service in the restaurant and bar was excellent too. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dynik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 9 July 2012

Thank you for recommending our hotel! I have shared your comments with our front desk, concierge, and restaurant staff. They love hearing positive feedback. We hope you can stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

We had never been to Charleston before and wanted a convenient location to see the sights in the Historical district. It was even better than I had expected. The staff at he front desk were most helpful with any question we had. The accomodations were more than adequate, very clean and comfortable. All of the staff you encounter were friendly and helpful. The location is on one of the main corridors within the historical district so we could walk or take a convenient rickshaw ride within just minutes. Absolutley one of the nicest and friendly hotels we've stayed in. Would I recommend it to family, friends or anyone....you bet! Enjoy!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 9 July 2012

I am delighted to hear that we helped to make your first trip to Charleston a wonderful experience! Thank you for letting Trip Advisor know that you enjoyed our hotel. We hope you will come back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

We loved this hotel! Excellent service, excellent location. Even though hotel is old, it is classy and well maintained. The bathrooms are small, but that is the only downside to staying in this wonderful hotel. You can either walk or take a bike taxi to anywhere in this great little city. No need for a car if you stay here.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 9 July 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share on Trip Advisor. We love that you loved your stay here and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2012

Current management makes the best of an old gem in this historic city.

Service is fast, very courteous, and cheerful. Adam at the Front Desk goes the extra mile, if that is even possible with the flawless care exhibited by all Front Desk staff.

Agonizingly slow elevators are the only minus, but enough to prevent an "excellent" rating. They'll slow you down at every turn (got to the room and your key's not functioning? It'll be an extra 15 minutes to getting it handled).

Although the bathroom was small, it still had a bathtub and a few cleverly built shelves under the sink basin. The room decor was really lovely, with quality fixtures and furnishings. Free wifi. Bed a bit too soft for my taste, but we had a desk AND a vanity so two people can work in the room.

Excellent security with safe deposit drawers of all sizes and personnel very respectful of guest privacy in accessing these.

Nice, if slightly pricey restaurant on premises: The Swamp Fox, with view of park opposite.

Starbucks in the hotel makes for seamless access to espresso (the south generally still hasn't caught up to the concept of good coffee, so Starbucks is your best bet right now for good java).

Perfect location on edge of shopping district and a stone's throw from visitor center, museum, and some good houses with tours. 15 min walk to Charleston's best breakfast joint, the Hominy Grill (if you stay in hotels closer to the heart of the historic district, the walk to the Hominy Grill is that much further). Also close to gem "Virginia's Kitchen" for breakfast, lunch, dinner.

Room Tip: High floors have good views. South views are amazing, out to river and Ft Sumter. Rooms ending in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank queen_of_expats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 6 July 2012

Thank you for the detailed review of our hotel. I will let Adam and the front desk staff know about your wonderful comments. And we appreciate that you noticed how we tried to utilize the space in the bathroom and room to the fullest. Our elevators are a bit slower than those found in newer buildings, so I do apologize for that. We are looking at ways that we can upgrade and improve the elevators.

I hope you will stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012

We stayed at the Francis Marion while visiting Charelston for the first time. Everyone recommended staying downtown which I knew would cost more but figured it was worth a try. I found a good deal online for this hotel and was extremely pleased. It was very nice and in a great location to walk to everything! I would highly recommend staying here as we plan to stay there again the next time we're in Charleston!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Waa91572
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 28 June 2012

Thank you for sharing on Trip Advisor! I am happy that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to you staying with us again next time you are in Charleston!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
King Charles Inn
#18 of 61 in Charleston
2,857 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Andrew Pinckney Inn
#21 of 61 in Charleston
1,636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Francis Marion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Francis Marion Hotel

Address: 387 King Street, Charleston, SC 29403-6468
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Charleston
#13 Business Hotel in Charleston
#15 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#21 Family Hotel in Charleston
#24 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: £112 - £294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Francis Marion Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience unsurpassed views of the historic harbor at the Francis Marion Hotel, the only high-rise hotel in Charleston’s historic district. All 234 guest rooms including 10 Suites and 7 Penthouse Suites are tastefully furnished for today’s sophisticated traveler, and provide modern conveniences from wireless Internet access, voicemail and data ports to on-demand movies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Francis Marion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Francis Marion Charleston
Hotel Francis Marion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing