We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Francis Marion Hotel
Ranked #24 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

Recently stayed at the Francis Marion Hotel. The staff is polite and friendly. The initial room they gave me was recently painted and had a strong paint fume smell. They upgraded me to a new room. Please be aware, it is an older hotel and their elevators are older, small and slow.

The hotel is in a great location and is within walking distance to many shops and restaurants.

Overall a good stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank William J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,710 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,319
    888
    295
    126
    82
See reviews for
520
917
90
638
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (726)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013 via mobile

We just had a business meeting at your hotel. It was a nice place. Across from the central park. Lots of places to shop close by. The restaurant in the hotel was good. People very friendly.We had a nice view from our window. I seen a big ship come in. Pretty view.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mlmsun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2013

Hotel is a charming reflection of Charleston at its finest. The rooms were very clean and spacious. We were part of a group of 28 retrired couples visiting Charleston for 3 days, and were pleasantly surprised at the great venue it provided us. It is great location with easy access to great shops, historic attractions and Charleston`s great dining,,including the one on premises which should not be overlooked.. Looking forward to returning once again in the near future.

Bill W.
Birmingham, AL.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BillW30375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goldsboro, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2013

We had a re-union there and the management staff worked with us wonderfully. Everyone was very accommodating and hospitable. The rooms are somewhat small, but they were clean and service was superb. The beds were comfortable and the whole hotel had a southern charm about it and made it delightful just being there. We used the Gold Ballroom for a couple of our banquets and it was very pleasing to the eye. And, something you don't often find at a hotel banquet... the food was great. It was seasoned just right and the wait staff was right there to assist. We had arranged a horse and buggy ride for our group to pick us up in front of the hotel. We will definitely consider taking our group of 28 couples there again. Thank you Francis Marion for making this a wonderful experience for us all.

Room Tip: The higher floors had a nice view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
69 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2013

This hotel was built in the 20s and still has a lot of the charm. Our room was very large, quiet, clean, comfortable bed and lounge area. We did not use any of the hotels facilities but reception staff were very friendly. It is in a good location for walking around the town, and also close to lots of bars, restaurants and shops. If you need a taxi to the airport call 843 2244299 as they are only $30 if you book in advance, such as the night before.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank WanderingKats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 2 nights in Aug of 2012 (yes this is a little late!) I have to write this review as I just stayed in another hotel and was horrible. I have to give the Francis Marion a 5 Excellent rating. The room was large, a little dated was the bathroom but clean and nice! Best part of this was that the hotel staff would bend over backwards to help you! Very knowledgeable of the city and great advise of where to eat. I think I had one of my top 10 restaurant meals at Magnolia's. 2 things that stand out are this- 1. our flight in was early and we had a rental. Planned to explore but then there was torrential rain. Called the hotel to see if we could check in early. No problem! the second is that I took a little bit of cash with me and when we checked out, I forgot to take it out of the safe. The housekeeper found this and the hotel tried to reach everyone and their mother!! Well almost! They called my brother, my boyfriends mom, my cell, his cell. Great urgency! Luckily we were still in the area (moved on to Myrtle Beach later that day) and when we got back the money was in a sealed envelope with the amount noted on the outside. Not a penny missing. Beautiful hotel, excellent staff and a great experience!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Renee P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013

Two nights in May at the Frances Marion. The room, while clean and acceptable, lacked any sort of luster- the furnishings were old, it was small, and the bathroom was claustrophobically tiny.

The lobby is lovely, the food at the swamp fox restaurant was excellent, and the location is fairly central. Saturday morning has a farmer's market across the street, which is a neat touch.

The hotel staff were friendly and responsive, though it was hard to figure out when a pre-arranged shuttle to a wedding would pick me up. They did arrange a taxi to the airport on Sunday, though they offered conflicting information about the arrangements.

The worst part of the experience was waiting for the elevators, which took 5-10 minutes and didn't seem to follow any clear pattern. They are updating them, which is a much needed change.

This hotel has seen better days and is in need of an extensive renovation. For $200 or more a night, you can find better in a major metropolis.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Captain_Starwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FMH_Manager, Manager at Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
We appreciate the time you took to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. I would like for you to know that we are continuously looking at upgrades and additions to keep our historic hotel beautiful. I know this does not change your experience, but I hope you can feel confident that we heard your concerns and are definitely responding to your suggestions. I hope you will give us a second chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
King Charles Inn
#18 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,657 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#15 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
Ansonborough Inn
#13 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Francis Marion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Francis Marion Hotel

Property: Francis Marion Hotel
Address: 387 King Street, Charleston, SC 29403-6468
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Charleston
#13 Business Hotel in Charleston
#15 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#21 Family Hotel in Charleston
#24 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Francis Marion Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience unsurpassed views of the historic harbor at the Francis Marion Hotel, the only high-rise hotel in Charleston’s historic district. All 234 guest rooms including 10 Suites and 7 Penthouse Suites are tastefully furnished for today’s sophisticated traveler, and provide modern conveniences from wireless Internet access, voicemail and data ports to on-demand movies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Francis Marion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Francis Marion Charleston
Hotel Francis Marion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing