We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location. Classic and Not Sterile”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Francis Marion Hotel
Ranked #23 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Wilton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent Location. Classic and Not Sterile”
Reviewed 31 May 2013

Stayed here on business and chose it because of location. I'm doing a project in downtown Charleston and have made it a practice to say in the downtown areas when possible. I was not disappointed. First off the hotel is located right in the heart of downtown Charleston and is walking distance from everywhere. Regardless of which direction you go on King Street you will find an incredible selection of shops and restaurants at every imaginable price point and type.

This is NOT a modern chain property. My room was small and decently appointed, but it's older and small. For my needs this was not a problem. I stayed on a high floor and it was reasonably quiet and the bed was comfortable. In a town like Charleston you are not likely to be spending a lot of time in your room.

The hotel has a friendly comfortable vibe, so I would definitely consider coming back.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kendoori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,746 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,339
    897
    299
    128
    83
See reviews for
537
924
91
644
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (733)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

When I arrived at the hotel, the concierge told me that he could check my family and I into a larger room that originally booked. "Awesome," until we got to room 305. It was tiny, and the bathroom was tiny. I wondered what the smaller rooms looked like if this was a "larger room." Our room had no view (Overlooked roof of some other part of the hotel) and we were right by the ice machines, vending machines, and elevator. First night in room 305 was the worst night I have ever had at a hotel. It sounded like a train was going by our heads every 10 minutes or so. I barely slept and at around 7 AM, I went to the front desk and requested a room change. The concierge was a different man and when I explained the noise, he said, "Oh, sounds like a train right?" I was absolutely furious that the hotel could have already been aware of the "train like" noise and had the audacity to LIE about putting my family in a larger room probably with hopes that we would not request a room change despite our inability to sleep. We were switched to room 1008 which was a bit further from the elevator (though we could still hear it at night) and was much larger than room 305. It had two bathrooms and a normal amount of bedroom space, with a nice view of the park. Although room 1008 was fine, I was so upset that the hotel put us in Room 305 that I vowed never to stay at this hotel again even though my friends and I are considering Charleston for a bachelorette party. Avoid the rooms that end in 05, and don't believe the concierge if he tells you he's putting you in a "larger room." He's probably just telling you that so you won't ask for a room switch.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank esjang_wharton14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

The Francis Marion Hotel had nice staff, and is close to shopping, but my accolades end there. This hotel is really showing its age.
To begin with, there are three adjacent elevators in the hotel, two controlled by one up/down call button, and a third elevator wired entirely independently with its own up/down call button. This obvious shortcut by the hotel results in painfully slow trips to simply get to and from your room. After all, with every guest's natural self-interest, we all press up or down on both panels and take the first arriving elevator, and the other elevator then makes a fruitless stop a minute later, reminding all the disappointed guests from the floors above of this bad set up.
The rooms are of reasonable size, but the bathroom we had was tiny, with an unsightly, industrial-looking toilet (I jokingly called it the "prison toilet" while staying there).
To further illustrate the dated nature of the rooms, let me share two anecdotes: First, I tried to plug in my cell phone to charge it, and found that there were zero unoccupied plugs in the room. When I unplugged a lamp to make room for my phone charger, I had to carefully prop the charger against the plug to prevent it from just falling right out and onto the floor under the power of gravity. Then, I wanted to watch a sporting event on TV, only to find myself longing for something more like standard-definition picture quality from the pre HD-days; this was something even worse, somehow.
Finally, the small couch in our room was badly in need of re-upholstering; it was the kind of thing you thing twice about before placing your garments on it.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mr_Bill_Brasky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

The Francis Marion is an older hotel with lots of history and character, with an old-world feeling and a lot of charm. The location is sensational...right on King Street...the trolley is on the corner, the park is across the street and it is just perfectly located. The dinner at the Swamp Fox Restaurant was one of the best meals I have ever had, and I live in NYC~ The front-desk manager, Tori, could not have been more accommodating and pleasant. Charleston is a marvelous city to visit and I will return and have another wonderful stay at the Francis Marion.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NS N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Recently stayed at the Francis Marion Hotel. The staff is polite and friendly. The initial room they gave me was recently painted and had a strong paint fume smell. They upgraded me to a new room. Please be aware, it is an older hotel and their elevators are older, small and slow.

The hotel is in a great location and is within walking distance to many shops and restaurants.

Overall a good stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013 via mobile

We just had a business meeting at your hotel. It was a nice place. Across from the central park. Lots of places to shop close by. The restaurant in the hotel was good. People very friendly.We had a nice view from our window. I seen a big ship come in. Pretty view.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mlmsun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
1 review
Reviewed 24 May 2013

Hotel is a charming reflection of Charleston at its finest. The rooms were very clean and spacious. We were part of a group of 28 retrired couples visiting Charleston for 3 days, and were pleasantly surprised at the great venue it provided us. It is great location with easy access to great shops, historic attractions and Charleston`s great dining,,including the one on premises which should not be overlooked.. Looking forward to returning once again in the near future.

Bill W.
Birmingham, AL.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BillW30375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
King Charles Inn
#17 of 60 in Charleston
2,679 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#15 of 60 in Charleston
3,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Francis Marion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Francis Marion Hotel

Property: Francis Marion Hotel
Address: 387 King Street, Charleston, SC 29403-6468
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Charleston
#13 Business Hotel in Charleston
#15 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#21 Family Hotel in Charleston
#24 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Francis Marion Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience unsurpassed views of the historic harbor at the Francis Marion Hotel, the only high-rise hotel in Charleston’s historic district. All 234 guest rooms including 10 Suites and 7 Penthouse Suites are tastefully furnished for today’s sophisticated traveler, and provide modern conveniences from wireless Internet access, voicemail and data ports to on-demand movies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Francis Marion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Francis Marion Charleston
Hotel Francis Marion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing