We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Personal Starbucks & Pint-Sized Bathrooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Francis Marion Hotel
Ranked #23 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Hattiesburg, Mississippi
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Personal Starbucks & Pint-Sized Bathrooms”
Reviewed 19 November 2013

The Francis Marion offers a great conference location with relatively quick access (10-minute walk) to a broad selection of quality restaurants and dessert shops, fashion-conscious clothiers and retailers, and historic waterfront neighborhoods. There are a number of comparable hotels in the historic downtown area that offer the same, however, so shop around a bit since local room prices seem to fluctuate considerably. The hotel's rooms felt a bit on the smallish side, and the bathrooms are equally "cozy" though I suppose that comes with the territory for some historic properties. I was quite happy to find a real Starbucks (not to be confused with hotel-run establishments that claim "We Proudly Serve/Brew Starbucks") located on the ground floor by the sidewalk entrance. It is constantly buzzing with college students and business professionals, so calculate your visit accordingly.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jb_advisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FMH_Manager, Manager at Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Thanks for your feedback! While I'm sorry to hear you found the bathroom a tad small, I appreciate you being so understanding. Preserving the past is of the utmost importance to us, but we're always working on updates to make sure our guests feel completely comfortable!

Best,
Gayle Karolczyk, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,791 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,358
    914
    303
    131
    85
See reviews for
543
942
92
654
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (735)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina Coast, North Carolina
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We stayed here a few yrs ago for our anniversary and booked a massage package. When we arrived they upgraded us to a presidential suite with turn down service. They made us feel special on our special day. Walking into the hotel was breath taking, it looked like some thing from the Titanic. So beautiful. Will return for sure, loved loved loved this place.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Missy3252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FMH_Manager, Manager at Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
"They made us feel special on our special day" — this is just what we like to hear! The fact that our hotel reminded you of the opulence of days gone by is just the cherry on top of a delightful recommendation. We can't wait to have you back!

Until then,
Gayle Karolczyk, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampstead, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We usually stay at a different hotel when we visit Charleston, however we are very happy we chose the Francis Marion for this trip. It had the old world charm with everything we needed for a relaxing, enjoyable stay. The staff was efficient, helpful, polite and friendly which is always important when travelling. We will book with the Francis Marion in the future.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the park and we found it very entertaining.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FMH_Manager, Manager at Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Thank you, Michael! I appreciate you taking the time to spread the word about us. Our staff will be just as thrilled with your compliments as I am!

Safe travels,
Gayle Karolczyk, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 18 November 2013

The past several years when attending the Charleston Conference, I have stayed at the Francis Marion Hotel. Each time I have stayed I marvel at the wonderful staff at the hotel. They make it extra special, from the busboys in front, to the staff one encounters in the hallways at any time of the day, the staff is friendly and courteous. Along with the registration staff and concierge, they all make one feel like a VIP even if one is only a librarian. This is a Historic Hotel of America, so it does not have cookie cutter rooms. Personally, I love the historic feel of the hotel, but it is the staff that gives the hotel its soul.

Room Tip: I have a bad knee so I always ask for a room on the lowest floor possible. They have always accommod...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chilibmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FMH_Manager, Manager at Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
THE place to stay in Charleston? We're honored by the distinction! Thanks for always thinking of us on your annual trips to Charleston. I hope we'll be seeing you again next year!

'Til then,
Gayle Karolczyk, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newberry, South Carolina
Level Contributor
51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

We had a lovely stay at this hotel. We arrived very early and our room was not clean and ready, we were allowed to park in the hotel garage. This allowed us to start our vacation early. Everyone knows how bad parking can be in Charleston! All the employees went out of their way to be helpful and friendly.

The rooms and bathroom were very clean and well appointed, if on the small side.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ADennis1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FMH_Manager, Manager at Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
While I'm sorry your room wasn't ready when you arrived, I'm happy to hear it didn't deter you from getting a jump start on your vacation. I hope you enjoyed Charleston, and I hope you'll keep us in mind next time you're planning a trip to the coast!

All the best,
Gayle Karolczyk, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pipersville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
156 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

We stayed here for the first part of our visit to Charleston. The room is nice, but the bathrooms and really tight. I guess this stems from the hotel being built in the 1920s. The concierge was very helpful and the staff are nice and pleasant. Free water in the room. Water pressure is a bit weak but the water was hot and stayed so. The lobby is nothing exciting- it works I guess for the area- nothing to do in it except sit. Parking is in the garage next to the hotel and if you stay at the hotel the cost is $14 a day. Not bad, I paid more in other places. The hotel is right across from Marion Park and is very central to most of the attractions and stores. Most tours will stop at the hotel, which makes them very convenient. We arrived early Saturday and it seems there is a Farmer's Market on Saturdays where you can get local foods, crafts, and other things.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FMH_Manager, Manager at Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
I'm glad you gave us the opportunity to show you what we're all about, Eric! Thanks for following up with such detailed feedback. I hope you had ample time to explore Marion Square and the nearby restaurants and shops you mentioned; they certainly aren't to be missed!

Best,
Gayle Karolczyk, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kernersville, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
88 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Attended a one-day conference at this hotel. The conference room was adequate. Breakfast and snack breaks were provided by the hotel kitchen. The continental breakfast was tasty-- scrambled eggs, sausage patties, bacon, biscuits, fresh fruit, low fat yogurt cups, croissants, jams/jellies/butter, regular coffee, tea. The wi-fi connection was great!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leslie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FMH_Manager, Manager at Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Thanks for following up with us after your stay, Leslie! It sounds like you had everything you needed to feel comfortable during your conference, which is exactly what we want for each of our guests. I hope you'll remember us next time you're planning a trip to Charleston — whether for business or pleasure!

Take care,
Gayle Karolczyk, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
King Charles Inn
#16 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,705 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
Andrew Pinckney Inn
#21 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Francis Marion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Francis Marion Hotel

Property: Francis Marion Hotel
Address: 387 King Street, Charleston, SC 29403-6468
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Charleston
#13 Business Hotel in Charleston
#15 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#21 Family Hotel in Charleston
#24 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Francis Marion Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience unsurpassed views of the historic harbor at the Francis Marion Hotel, the only high-rise hotel in Charleston’s historic district. All 234 guest rooms including 10 Suites and 7 Penthouse Suites are tastefully furnished for today’s sophisticated traveler, and provide modern conveniences from wireless Internet access, voicemail and data ports to on-demand movies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Francis Marion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Francis Marion Charleston
Hotel Francis Marion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing