We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“really nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Francis Marion Hotel
Ranked #23 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“really nice”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

My girlfriend and i got room 1008 with 2 queen beds. What was so cool about this room was that it had 2 separate full bathrooms with full size tubs. On each floor they have 1 King and 1 Queen rooms with this configuration. Talk about awesome. Didn't cost more and we just lucked out.
This room was quiet and directly across from the Sat. farmers mkt.. Starbucks directly downstairs.
Great location.
Room was $329. and then $16 for parking but it was Memorial Day weekend.
I would stay here again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank californiacoastalgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FMH_Manager, Manager at Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
And we'd love to have you back! Thanks for staying with us when you were visiting Charleston, and thanks for following up with a review afterward. We're thrilled to have your support!

Safe travels,
Gayle Karolczyk, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,791 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,358
    914
    303
    131
    85
See reviews for
543
942
92
654
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (735)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Havertown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

My friends and I traveled to Charleston for Memorial Day weekend. After being highly unsatisfied with the original hotel that we booked we called around to find a new hotel to move to for the rest of our stay. After seeing an online deal for this hotel we called the Francis Marion to see if they had any availability's/what the rates would be. We got Lucy on the phone who was excellent. She was able to book us for an even better rate then we had seen online and worked with us with the cancelation policy since we were unsure if we would be able to get out of our original reservation.

The hotel was beautiful. We had a room on the 10th floor with a great view. The staff was extremely friendly/helpful. The hotel was very clean and the location was perfect for downtown Charleston.

We loved our stay at the Francis Marion and would recommend it to anyone traveling to Charleston

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Nicole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FMH_Manager, Manager at Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
I'm so glad you ended up at the Francis Marion, Nicole! Thanks so much for following up with such a thoughtful recommendation afterward. Lucy will be just as pleased with your compliments as I am!

Until next time,
Gayle Karolczyk, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 May 2014

The customer service was very good during our stay earlier this month. The guys a valet were outstanding! I found the accommodations tired though and for the price would not return because of this. In fairness, that's my problem as I am about done with older hotels. Having said that, the bed was very comfortable! Location couldn't be any better. It would be nice if they had some coffee service set up in the lobby each morning. Thankfully there is a Starbucks connected to the hotel (probably why the hotel doesn't offer coffee).

Room Tip: Great location! Probably as good as it gets. Just know that this is an older property which some fin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FMH_Manager, Manager at Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thanks for following up with us after your stay, Dan. Although I understand where you're coming from, I hope you'll understand that -- aside from the satisfaction of our guests -- preserving the old-world charm of our historic hotel is our top priority. We'll be sure to keep your feedback in mind going forward, though; I know it'll only help us to improve!

Best,
Gayle Karolczyk, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sylvania, Ohio
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We were excited about this hotel but it wasn't all we expected. Very small room, very old decorations (which didn't add to the charm....) and while the location was good, right on the edge of the old town area, there were bums all over the park across the street. There definitely would have been a better hotel to choose from. Was hoping for old charm.... and got just old and a tad creepy!

Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank AmericanExpatsUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FMH_Manager, Manager at Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
I'm sorry to hear this! We're continually working to maintain the charm of our historic hotel, but the last thing we want is for anyone to find it off-putting. Because we aim to preserve the structural integrity of our building, we don't have any plans to change the size of our guest rooms; however, we're always open to suggestions on how we can improve the overall guest experience. If there's anything we could've done to make you feel more at home during your stay, please don't hesitate to let me know!

Kindly,
Gayle Karolczyk, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
173 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Charleston is a city that needs to be walked. Yes, you will take one of the mandatory carriage rides but eventually you will return to the best sites of the city on foot. The Francis Marion is conveniently located so that no matter where you are walking to, you will not have too far to go. It is an old historic hotel built originally in the 20s. It has been updated and it has not lost any of the original charm. This of course comes with a price, both in the rates the hotel charges and in the size of its guest rooms. You cannot completely keep the charm of an old hotel if you start tinkering with some of the original designs. The rooms can be small and the bathrooms are tiny, but you know that before you commit so it should not be a surprise. You are here because you want to experience old world historic charm and not because you want a modern bath. Having said that, the rooms are charming and the baths are as modern as possible given the constraints of the structure. You can self-park at a nearby garage or use the valet. You go up a few steps to the front desk located in a very large open space with sofas and chairs and beautiful light fixtures. The personnel at the desk and the concierge are extremely helpful and always willing to assist without being intrusive. There is also a restaurant on the premises called the Swamp Fox, we never used it but guests have told us that it was quite good. Again, the information about the restaurant is second hand. I will gladly return to this hotel

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank azzurri4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FMH_Manager, Manager at Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
You definitely should give the Swamp Fox a try next time you stay with us! I can assure you you won't be disappointed. Thanks so much for taking time out of your day to spread the word about us after your visit. We can't wait to have you back!

'Til then,
Gayle Karolczyk, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waycross, Georgia, USA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 May 2014

spent 2 nights - walking distance to everything in the middle of Charleston - I was there for a conference - the conference rooms were a bit warm for my taste but not a deal breaker! food was excellent - breakfast, lunch, and dinner! Small bathroom and closet but i could get over that! Walked everywhere - beautiful downtown space - 2nd floor outside room was surprisingly quiet!

Room Tip: Starbucks and Swamp Fox Restaurant in the hotel - don't have to leave if you won't want to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FMH_Manager, Manager at Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you for this thoughtful recommendation, Cheryl! It sounds like the Francis Marion was just what you needed during your trip to Charleston, and I couldn't be happier to hear it. I hope you'll come back and see us again sometime!

'Til then,
Gayle Karolczyk, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norristown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The Francis Marion is a stately old world hotel. If you like new and glitzy this is not the place for you. The room was great size plenty of room with a great sitting area. We has a king size bed and the bathroom was three times the size of the one our friends had. If you have a handy cap this is the best room to have. The location is in the heart of the historic area and close to just about everything in the old city. The staff is very friendly check in and out was a breeze.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jtajs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FMH_Manager, Manager at Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
This is just what we like to hear! Thanks for taking the time to spread the word about the Francis Marion after your stay. We'd love to have you back next time you're in Charleston!

Safe travels,
Gayle Karolczyk, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
King Charles Inn
#16 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,705 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
Andrew Pinckney Inn
#21 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Francis Marion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Francis Marion Hotel

Property: Francis Marion Hotel
Address: 387 King Street, Charleston, SC 29403-6468
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Charleston
#13 Business Hotel in Charleston
#15 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#21 Family Hotel in Charleston
#24 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Francis Marion Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience unsurpassed views of the historic harbor at the Francis Marion Hotel, the only high-rise hotel in Charleston’s historic district. All 234 guest rooms including 10 Suites and 7 Penthouse Suites are tastefully furnished for today’s sophisticated traveler, and provide modern conveniences from wireless Internet access, voicemail and data ports to on-demand movies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Francis Marion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Francis Marion Charleston
Hotel Francis Marion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing