We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good service, bad view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Francis Marion Hotel
Ranked #23 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good service, bad view”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel is right near downtown as you're on king street across from the shopping street & a nice little park. The service was great and the building is easy to find as it's very tall for the area.

Nothing haunted us and the room was fairly tiny. We did get a good deal, but I think if we return it will be to a different hotel. The lobby is beautiful though, so spend your time hanging out there. Our view was just of another building, not a pretty one either. Not abnormal for Charleston probably, but it didn't give us much desire to spend time in the room.

Overall, our experience at the hotel, was good, but not noteworthy. It's a great choice if you're looking for a deal and planning to spend all but sleeping time in the city like we were.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mathias B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FMH_Manager, Manager at Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
We want every experience at the Francis Marion to be noteworthy, and I'm sorry yours wasn't, Mathias! However, I understand how a stay at any hotel can be disappointing when expectations aren't met. As is the case with any building, the higher you go, the better and less obstructed the view is; I just hope you'll give us another chance next time you're in Charleston so you can take advantage of ours!

Thanks,
Gayle Karolczyk, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,751 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,340
    899
    300
    129
    83
See reviews for
537
925
91
646
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (734)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
108 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

We have stayed at this hotel for three nights while visiting Charleston. The location is great that it's easy to walk to the historic district and the contemporary museum and College of Charleston is nearby. The rooms and hallways are dated. The size of the room is decent and the beds are very comfortable! However, the bathroom is extremely SMALL! You barely could turn in that bathroom (We stayed at room 526, and maybe other rooms' bathrooms are not that small...)

The staff is very friendly and helpful!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ayu312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FMH_Manager, Manager at Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Small bathrooms unfortunately come with the territory when you stay in an older hotel, but I'm happy to hear it didn't put a damper on your trip! Thanks so much for taking to TripAdvisor to spread the word about the Francis Marion after your visit. I'll make sure our staff sees your compliments!

Until next time,
Gayle Karolczyk, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

A lovely jewel in the heart of Charleston. We were warmly welcomed by our doorman who immediately took charge of the baggage and car keys (valet service). Front desk service was equally friendly and accommodating (what a pleasure!) The lobby is stunning with furnishings which enhance the architectural details. Our room accommodation was excellent! Small bathroom..no problem!!!! A most pleasant experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FMH_Manager, Manager at Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
A jewel in the heart of Charleston? You made my day with that compliment, Janis! I've no doubt your kind words will resonate just as much with the rest of our team. I hope you'll keep us in mind next time you're planning a trip to South Carolina!

Kindly,
Gayle Karolczyk, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here over a long weekend. While the lobby is ornate and full of marble, with high ceilings and crystal chandeliers, our room was tiny. The bathroom was so small that two people could fit in it only if one of them was in the tub. Finishes in the room were somewhat dated and not nearly in keeping with the hotel's price point.

There is a Starbucks in the hotel, which was nice. You're really paying for the location if you stay at the Francis Marion, not for the hotel itself.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FMH_Manager, Manager at Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
As you can imagine, I'm disappointed to hear you weren't impressed with your room. The Francis Marion was built in 1924, and the size of both our lobby and our guest rooms is in keeping with that time period. We haven't made any major structural changes to the building, and that's because our goal is and always has been to preserve the charms that come with an older hotel. However, we're continually working on improvements, so we'll be sure to keep your comments on the finishes in mind!

Regards,
Gayle Karolczyk, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
146 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

made all the more enjoyable by the excellent Victoria, Jackie and the rest of the team at reception not forgetting Jeff at Concierge who was outstanding. The hotel was in an ideal location with magnificent public areas. Our room was well equipped although on the small side and the bathroom was the size of a cupboard. Shower good and plenty of fresh towels. Housekeeping very good. Our room was one of those with a locked access to an adjoining room and we could almost hear every word of our neighbours.

Room Tip: Ensure you get a reasonable size room and bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DerekHardy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FMH_Manager, Manager at Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Although I'm sorry about the noise from your neighbors, I'm relieved to hear that didn't keep you from enjoying your stay! Thanks for following up with such a lovely review afterward. I'll make sure Jackie, Jeff, Victoria and the rest of the team see your compliments!

Until next time,
Gayle Karolczyk, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

We booked the Francis Marion because of the central location. But the location is all that is good about this hotel. Parking to unload your baggage is a nightmare! The lobby is nice - but service was very slow and everything once you leave the lobby - needs a serious renovation. They have 'refreshed' the rooms, but everything is old and tired looking still. The price at over $300 a night can not be justified for the tired condition of the rooms. Whilst they are a good size - the local LaQuinta has a better standard of finish to the rooms than Francis Marion. Seriously people - RENOVATE the hotel!! Stay somewhere else. This is certainly not worth the money.

Room Tip: Stay at another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherie1408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FMH_Manager, Manager at Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
I'm disappointed to hear we didn't leave a better impression on you! However, I appreciate you pointing to some areas for improvement in your review. Slow service and tired-looking rooms definitely aren't what we want to be known for, and I'm confident your feedback will help us avoid this kind of frustration in the future.

Thanks,
Gayle Karolczyk, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

I stayed at the Francis Marion for a wedding in May 2014 with a couple other girls. My overall impression was that it was nothing exceptional and definitely not worth the price (>300$ on weekend nights).

Pros: historic, within walking distance of bars/restaurants and in the heart of downtown, valet service, beautiful lobby and well-mannered staff, clean rooms

Cons: the price, no complementary slippers/bathrobes, tiny tiny bathroom space and tub, parking is 21$ daily, seemingly very thin walls and we were woken up by our neighbors just talking in the bathroom next door. Also there is a farmer's market right across the street every weekend, and the music is LOUD and starts very early in the morning. Be prepared. We were on the 3rd floor and could hear the street conversations clearly.

If location is key for you, then I would recommend this hotel. But make sure you get a room on one of the higher levels.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MsReviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FMH_Manager, Manager at Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
I'm disappointed that you weren't entirely impressed by your stay! However, I'm glad you took the time to tell me why. Adding complementary bathrobes and/or slippers in our guest rooms would be a nice touch, and it's certainly a suggestion we'll keep in mind. Thanks for this candid feedback; I know the rest of our team will appreciate your input as much as I do.

Thanks again,
Gayle Karolczyk, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
King Charles Inn
#17 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,680 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#15 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
Andrew Pinckney Inn
#21 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Francis Marion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Francis Marion Hotel

Property: Francis Marion Hotel
Address: 387 King Street, Charleston, SC 29403-6468
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Charleston
#13 Business Hotel in Charleston
#15 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#21 Family Hotel in Charleston
#24 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Francis Marion Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience unsurpassed views of the historic harbor at the Francis Marion Hotel, the only high-rise hotel in Charleston’s historic district. All 234 guest rooms including 10 Suites and 7 Penthouse Suites are tastefully furnished for today’s sophisticated traveler, and provide modern conveniences from wireless Internet access, voicemail and data ports to on-demand movies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Francis Marion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Francis Marion Charleston
Hotel Francis Marion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing