We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location is key element” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Francis Marion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Francis Marion Hotel
Ranked #24 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Location is key element”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

Stayed at the hotel for a week during late July 2014 for a conference. I had stayed ten years' ago at a more boutique hotel in Meeting Street. so the contrast was interesting. The location of this hotel met my needs more as it's so close to the King Street shops and restaurants - just a short stroll outside. It's a 1920s style hotel with a wonderful foyer that constantly plays classic music - lovely to sit down and relax to. It even has a large park opposite that has a market on Saturdays. On the 10th floor, my room had an expansive view over towards the water - delightful. My room, though, was small, as is the bathroom. I guess this is expected give the hotel's age. It was clean enough - nothing special, with free wi-fi. Staff were friendly and helpful when you asked for advice. It has one restaurant with bar - the Swamp Fox, and a Starbucks next to it. I tried the Shrimp and Grits - a bit too rich for my palate but quite good nevertheless. However, there are also dozens of restaurants nearby. So, all-in-all an enjoyable stay, made better by the excellent location.

Room Tip: Try for a room higher up i.e. 10th floor, to ensure a wonderful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Savvy255100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FMH_Manager, Manager at Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
The detail that you've left in your review very much appreciated! Thanks so much for the kind words on your stay, and I hope that you'll be able to visit again the next time you're in town. Wishing you safe travels in the meantime!

All the best,
Gayle Karolczyk, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,706 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,317
    886
    295
    126
    82
See reviews for
519
917
90
636
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (724)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, tn
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

We spent two nights at this hotel and loved it! The staff was great! They upgraded us to a king bed and sent up chocolate covered strawberries just because they knew it was our honeymoon! We also ate at the Swamp Fox restaurant that was very good also! We hope to visit again!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank SheenaStanfill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FMH_Manager, Manager at Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thanks so much for your kind words! It's great to hear that you were impressed with your stay for such a special occasion, and I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed the Swamp Fox, too. Wishing you and your husband a very happy marriage, and hope you'll return to stay with us again!

Safe travels,
Gayle Karolczyk, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

This was my first time in Charleston, and I must say the city was amazing. The hotel is central to all things in the downtown area. To the north are a good number of bars and restaurants, and to the south are a solid number of shops and beautiful houses to see. Everything is within walking distance from the hotel (at least when it's not over 85 degrees outside). I couldn't recommend this hotel more. Great staff, beautiful views, excellent proximity to all of the sights.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side (the front of the hotel) face the harbor. Highly recommend to be as high as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FMH_Manager, Manager at Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thanks so much for reaching out about your stay with us, Andy! It means so much to hear that you were pleased with everything from the location to the staff. Hope you'll consider staying with us the next time you're visiting Charleston!

Best wishes,
Gayle Karolczyk, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaukauna, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

We have stayed several times a year for over 20 years. This was the worst hotel we stayed in. The staff is very friendly but the hotel is tired and dated. The bathrooms are the smallest bathrooms ever! There are plenty of beautiful hotels in Charleston and this one you can skip!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lynn k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FMH_Manager, Manager at Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
I'm sorry to hear that you felt this way, Lynn. Thanks for your kind words on the staff, but your feedback is helpful to know where we can look to improvement. Our historic hotel is always looking for ways to preserve the past, as well as upgrade, too!

Take care,
Gayle Karolczyk, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Augusta, Georgia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed in Charleston several times but never at the FM. Our daughter had important medical appointment at MUSC that unfortunately for her coincided with her 18th birthday. When I made my reservation, i mentioned this. We arrived at the hotel and everyone from valet to desk clerk, etc couldn't have been more delightful. Our room was upgraded from basic to spectacular and chocolate strawberries were delivered on a silver tray with a birthday note from the Hotel Manager. What a way to run a hotel!! My husband travels for a living and we are somewhat jaded travelers ourselves but this was unusual. I haven't made a tripadvisor post in years but I knew I would make one tonight. Highly recommend!!!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank stephcola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FMH_Manager, Manager at Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
It's wonderful to hear that we could make your stay a comfortable one while in town, Steph. Thanks so much for reaching out with such detail, and I hope that you'll stay with us again if ever in the area. We hope that your daughter's appointment went well, and our team wishes you and your family the best!

Safe travels,
Gayle Karolczyk, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Mill, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

First time staying in Charleston, (our 40th wedding anniversary)only stayed 2 nights, wish it could have been longer. We had a beautiful corner room on the 11th floor over looking the city of Charleston as well as the harbor. The room was beautiful bed very comfortable, and yes the bathroom small, but this is a historic building and to be expected. The entire staff was helpful and friendly, We would definitely stay at the Francis Marion again.John and Maggie B

Room Tip: the higher the floor the better the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Maggie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FMH_Manager, Manager at Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
It's wonderful to hear that you were able to stay with us on your recent trip to Charleston, Maggie! Thanks for your compliments on everything from your corner room to our staff. I hope you had a fantastic time celebrating your 40th anniversary, and congratulations on such an amazing milestone!

All the best,
Gayle Karolczyk, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Have been to Charleston three times in the past year. The staff at the Francis Marion were all exceptionally friendly and helpful. Everyone greeted you. And loved the ambiance and location of the historic hotel, room was perfect. Good mattress, linens and pillows. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank floridaboy58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FMH_Manager, Manager at Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
I'm so happy to hear that the staff made you feel right at home on your visit! Thanks so much for the kind words on your stay, and I look forward to having you back many more times.

Best wishes,
Gayle Karolczyk, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
King Charles Inn
#18 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,655 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#15 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
Ansonborough Inn
#14 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Francis Marion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Francis Marion Hotel

Property: Francis Marion Hotel
Address: 387 King Street, Charleston, SC 29403-6468
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Charleston
#13 Business Hotel in Charleston
#15 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#21 Family Hotel in Charleston
#24 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Francis Marion Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience unsurpassed views of the historic harbor at the Francis Marion Hotel, the only high-rise hotel in Charleston’s historic district. All 234 guest rooms including 10 Suites and 7 Penthouse Suites are tastefully furnished for today’s sophisticated traveler, and provide modern conveniences from wireless Internet access, voicemail and data ports to on-demand movies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Francis Marion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Francis Marion Charleston
Hotel Francis Marion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing