We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Francis Marion Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$366
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Indigo Inn(Charleston)(Great Value!)
US$284
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$262
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$307
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
French Quarter Inn(Charleston)
US$352
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$302
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$235
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Harbourview Inn(Charleston)
US$375
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
King Charles Inn(Charleston)
US$228
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$217
Official Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Andrew Pinckney Inn(Charleston)
US$228
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$217
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$319
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$263
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Holiday Inn Express Charleston(Charleston)(Great Value!)
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (3,182)
Filter reviews
3,182 results
Traveller rating
1,593
1,019
336
140
94
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,593
1,019
336
140
94
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsswamp foxhistoric hotelking streetan older hotelwithin walking distancefarmers marketsmall bathroomchocolate covered strawberriesbeautiful lobbycorner roombell staffdowntown charlestonsouthern charmperfect locationbed was very comfortableparking garagefree trolley
Filter
Updating list...
1,822 - 1,827 of 3,182 reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2014

If your looking for a hotel with southern charm, delicious food and exceptional service this is the place to stay. From the time I checked in I was greeted with a smile addressed by name and asked if they could do anything to make my stay better. The furniture in the room was beautiful and antiquish in nature. The restaurant cooks your meal per order keeping with a southern style of treating you like family. Reasonably priced, exceptional service, truly a great find!

Room Tip: View the rooms online they are beautiful and unique.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Terriann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FMH_Manager, Manager at Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Our guests do feel like family, Terriann! So glad that you enjoyed a generous helping of Southern hospitality along with your stay and that the home-cooked meals hit the spot. I hope you'll be back again!

Take care,
Gayle Karolczyk, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

A friend and I decided to explore the South together for a vacation. She researched and selected this for our hotel while in tCharleston, SC. When we arrived our room was ready. The young lady from Hilton Head waited on us. We once again requested double beds. She told us not to worry and they would page us once our room was available. We gave our bags to the bellman and off we went exploring. Upon our return she was there that evening and greeted us with a smile. 6th floor we are on. We enter the room and began exploring to our amazement we found double closets and bathrooms. We were two giddy girls I tell you.
Today we were looking for a place to have a Southern breakfast. We asked the concierge and she gave a few suggestions, but that's not the wonderful part. She started asking us if we seen the movie The Notebook. LOL I have the original movie poster. She began to tell us different landmarks, but said there was someone else who had even more knowledge. She made a call and asked if Tara would come out and speak with us. Tara was absolutely amazing. She knew every place. I suggested that she create a tour for people showing them these places and giving the history because I'm sure there are many more people like us who would gladly pay and go on that tour.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank ajoua j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FMH_Manager, Manager at Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

It sounds like your trip was filled to the brim with laughter and exploration! Glad that we were able to provide a cozy home away of home -- and that such a loyal fan of The Notebook got to enjoy her own personalized tour of Charleston. (It's a pretty great claim to fame, isn't it?) Looking forward to having you back soon!

All the best,
Gayle Karolczyk, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Just returned from a wonderful trip to Charleston for our son's wedding. We stayed 2 nights in town at the Francis Marion and couldn't have been more pleased. The lobby is gorgeous and the staff top notch! Right in the middle of all the action, but quiet. They were friendly, helpful and very attentive. We had a 10th floor room and the view was amazing. Tiny bathrooms but the room was so spacious it made up for that. Would highly recommend!

Room Tip: The higher floors have beautiful views although the elevator is a bit slow (read old). We weren't in any hurry to get anywhere.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mandaroo11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FMH_Manager, Manager at Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Weddings are such a whirlwind of excitement -- we're glad we could make your trip to Charleston as pleasant and carefree as possible! I'll be sure to pass your kind words along to the staff, and we look forward to having you back the next time you're in the area.

Take care,
Gayle Karolczyk, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

My husband and I stayed here last year and loved it and we returned this year with our two children. Location, service, clean rooms, southern charm, we loved it!! Yes, the bathrooms are tiny, but we had two in our room and the housekeeping services were excellent!! We were over looking the park. Great vacation!!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janlkf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FMH_Manager, Manager at Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

It's wonderful to hear that you've visited us twice now! Thanks for the kind words on both of your stays, and I'm happy to hear that you've been pleased. Hope to have you back the next time that you're in Charleston!

Best wishes,
Gayle Karolczyk, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at the Francis Marion Hotel. It was in a great location - walking distance to pretty much everything we wanted to see (except we did drive to the Magnolia Plantation) and lots of shopping. Our room was very nice although the bathroom was small. The bed was the most comfortable bed we had on our trip. The hotel had some very nice sitting areas and the charm of the period. We also had a wonderful dinner at the Swamp Fox restaurant. I had the local farm to table special which was excellent! We also enjoyed our free bottle of wine because we were guests at the hotel. If I was to go back to Charleston, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lwolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FMH_Manager, Manager at Francis Marion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Thanks for reaching out about your stay! It's wonderful to hear that you were pleased with your bed, as well as with Swamp Fox restaurant. Looking forward to welcoming you back whenever you're in town again!

Best wishes,
Gayle Karolczyk, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews