We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We will be back!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Francis Marion Hotel
Ranked #23 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“We will be back!”
Reviewed 9 February 2009

What a fabulous hotel! This is an old historic building which is an amazing hotel! We loved it so much! The restaurant downstairs - The Swamp Fox - was a delightful escape from the corporate restaurants! LOVE THIS HOTEL!! We are already making plans to go back!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sean6942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,791 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,358
    914
    303
    131
    85
See reviews for
543
942
92
654
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (735)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2009

We got a great rate on the Francis Marion for a quick MLK Weekend getaway. Overall, the hotel is a nice, historic property, and the staff is very accommodating and attentive. We arrived early for check-in, so the front desk offered to keep our bags and call us when the room was ready. They called my cell phone at the appointed time and we walked back to check in. We had requested a room away from the elevators with a king bed (and you don't always get your requested type when you book through a discount website). We first found ourselves in a room right next to the elevator, and the room was also one of their few "accessible" rooms, so there was no tub in the bathroom. I called down to the desk to request a move to a room with a tub (it was unexpectedly cold in Charleston over this weekend, and I wanted a hot bath), and they immediately sent someone up to give us new keys. The bed was comfortable and the room fairly spacious, as well as the common areas being clean and elelgant. I would agree with some other reviewers that there are minor things that tend to draw my attention and affect my overall opinion negatively (mildew in the bathroom), and it was very hard to regulate the temperature in our room as well as the water temp and pressure in the shower.

This place is perfectly situated for exploring historic Charleston on foot. Most of King Street north of this property is abandoned and boarded up...but going south is easy and pleasant. Note that it is fairly impossible to get a taxi in Charleston. We did not rent a car because we planned to walk a lot and cab it when not walking, and the door staff at the Francis Marion did their best to help by calling cabs in advance, but we still waited a very long time and way overpaid for each and every taxi ride we took while there.

It was nice to have a Starbucks downstairs, and we had drinks and dessert at the Swamp Fox in the lobby one night and enjoyed it.

  • Liked — location and value
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cincitravelgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington,DC
Level Contributor
164 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2009

Stayed at the Francis Marion in January.

Highlights
1. Proximity to historic Charleston: I was able to easily walk to the major sites; would also be good if visiting a College of Charleston student
2. Comfortable bed and pillows
3. Large flat panel TV (approx. 42")
4. Free internet in "business center"
5. Inviting lobby/lounge
6. Starbucks in the bottom of the hotel

Lowlights
1. Comforter had a stain on it. I prefer hotels that put a fresh duvet on the comforter every day. A revolving-door comforter grosses me out.
2. Tiny bathroom: The bathroom was so tiny I couldn't set my hair dryer and/or make up bag on the shelf above the sink.
3. Small mildew spots in shower

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Slightly unclean
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank DCmetrodogmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
362 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2009

Stayed here for combined leisure and conference. The hotel was fairly empty and extended a very favorable conference rate for the entire stay, even with an extra adult and child in the room.

On the plus side -- for a pretty low price for Charleston, we had a nicely furnished room with an outstanding view of the city and harbor. You can easily walk anywhere in downtown Charleston. The staff were friendly and helpful. The free wireless internet worked very well except for a brief period one evening. We did not try the restaurant -- there are hundreds of restaurants of all descriptions within a short walk.

This is an older hotel that has been freshened but not fully renovated. The overall impression of the rooms is nice, but close inspection reveals things that aren't immaculate -- one window painted shut, scuffs and cracks in trim paint, and worn bathroom fixtures. The air conditioning didn't seem to do much, but since it was January, it may not have been connected -- we opened the window instead (the one that wasn't painted shut). The toilet didn't flush very forcefully, but we didn't have a real problem with it.

The bathroom was very small, but it still managed to contain a much larger, better bathtub than most modern hotels. The hot water supply was fine.

The King Street area gets a little noisy on weekend nights -- partyers, bikers, etc. There was also slightly more noise than average intruding from other rooms.

The beds were comfortable, but a little high off the floor.

Overall recommendation: if you can get a reasonable price, I would recommend this hotel despite its imperfections. But I would not recommend it for very special occasions like honeymoons etc.

  • Liked — Location, friendly staff, view, value
  • Disliked — Minor maintenance issues, small bathroom
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Xman_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RecentGrad
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 January 2009

As recent college grad's, splurging on a hotel room for a romantic New Year's Eve getaway was a big deal, and we had big expectations. The Francis Marion Hotel met every one! The room was absolutely beautiful and the perfect size for us! Even though we chose not to pay extra for a room with a view, our room's large window looked right onto Marion square where we could watch the holiday festivities and see the bands as we got ready for our big night out. What made us want to write this review, however, was the amazing staff!!!

After waiting for almost two hours to get into a bar party on New Year's Eve, we gave up and called a cab to bring us back to the hotel. We felt defeated, tired, and hungry!! We called down to the hotel and asked if there was any food available for room service. Even though they said the kitchen was closed (which at 11 o'clock was no surprise) they said they would be happy to make us turkey sandwiches. We came down to the hotel's restaurant the Swamp Fox and ate our Turkey sandwiches at the bar with the other New Year's Eve revelers with the biggest smile on our faces!!!

What had previously been a pretty unsuccessful New Year's Eve, quickly became one of the funnest (and funniest!) that we will remember forever. I would highly recommend this hotel for any young couple just like us, wanting to get away and get all the service and beautiful accommodation's that they are splurging for!!

  • Liked — Absolutely beautiful rooms, amazing views, wonderful Staff, perfect location
  • Disliked — small closets and bathrooms
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RecentGrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2008

I didn't stay at the hotel but I booked massages for me, my boyfriend, Mom and sister at the Spa Adagio. They were awesome. I loved my massage and it was one of the best I have had if not the best. it was $90 for a 60 minute massage and definitley worth the money after touring the city!

Stayed December 2008
Helpful?
Thank bmason1003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2008

This was my second stay at the FMH. It is an historic hotel, with pros and cons. The pros: beautiful foyer, excellent staff, centrally located at King/Calhoun streets, well furnished rooms. The cons: habitually slow, small elevators, small bathrooms, single-pane windows that do little to quiet street noise.

On this visit, I had a couple of problems with my initial room. In the bath, my choice of water temperatures was either cold or scalding -- nothing in between. Overnight, there was an intermittent noise (sounded like someone sanding/scraping a wall) that woke me roughly every half-hour.

When I reported the issues at the front desk the next morning, the staffer informed me that there's an ongoing problem w/ noise emanating from a new building being constructed at the nearby College of Charleston. Guests staying in the SW corner seem to get the worst of the noise.

In the end, I was moved to another room -- a far more spacious suite in the NE corner of the hotel. For my trouble, the front desk staff also offered to comp me a meal in the hotel restaurant. I declined -- all I wanted was a nice shower and good night's sleep. Nevertheless, I was very favorably impressed w/ the customer service; I recommend the hotel for that reason alone.

Bottom line, it's a nice, historic hotel - rates in the top 25% of the ~20 hotels I've stayed in in the greater Charleston area. There are many other fine hotels nearby, including some good chain outlets. If you prefer the feel of a historic hotel, this is a good bet.

  • Liked — Excellent customer service - resolved all problems promptly
  • Disliked — Noise from nearby construction
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank MGH_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
King Charles Inn
#16 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,703 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#14 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
Andrew Pinckney Inn
#21 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Francis Marion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Francis Marion Hotel

Property: Francis Marion Hotel
Address: 387 King Street, Charleston, SC 29403-6468
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Charleston
#13 Business Hotel in Charleston
#15 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#21 Family Hotel in Charleston
#24 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Francis Marion Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience unsurpassed views of the historic harbor at the Francis Marion Hotel, the only high-rise hotel in Charleston’s historic district. All 234 guest rooms including 10 Suites and 7 Penthouse Suites are tastefully furnished for today’s sophisticated traveler, and provide modern conveniences from wireless Internet access, voicemail and data ports to on-demand movies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Francis Marion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Francis Marion Charleston
Hotel Francis Marion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing