We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Francis Marion Hotel
Ranked #23 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 August 2010

Charleston is such a fun place to visit, but staying at the Francis Marion made our stay even better. The location is fabulous, as it is centrally located downtown. There are endless restaurants and shopping within walking distance. The restaurant in the hotel (Swamp Fox) is great, too, and they give you a free bottle of wine! Our room was on the 11th floor, and we had a fabulous view of the river and the battery. The staff is super courteous, and the rates were great, too. We will definitely stay here again during our next trip to Charleston.

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank butterbean442000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,954)
There are newer reviews for Francis Marion Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,632 - 2,638 of 2,954 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2010

If you can deal with a small room and a VERY small bathroom, this hotel is a gem. The historical nature of the place explains the size problems, but the price offset our inconvenience. The service we received from the lobby and concierge was outstanding-- truly helped us find the food and sites we had traveled so far for, and helped us avoid tourist traps. The view overlooking Marion Square was wonderful, and the European decor gave us a 4-star feeling. The beds were the best quality we experienced on our ten day road trip. And having a Starbucks next to the lobby is pretty nice, too.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bringin-the-kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2010

My wife, 19-month old, and I stayed at The Francis Marion Hotel in Charleston, SC. We had a wonderful experience - the hotel is beautiful and very historic. The hotel staff was amazing. The hotel is in walking distance of numerous tourist attractions, shopping, restaurants and night life! The Francis Marion includes an excellent restaurant, The Swamp Fox, and also has a nice little gift shop and an entrance to Starbuck's! I will definitely consider staying here upon my next trip to Charleston.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shawnpros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2010

This was our first trip to Charleston and the Francis Marion hotel really helped make it a good one! It is in the perfect location and parking was very simple. We chose the "Charleston Getaway" package that was offered on their website, which included $50 vouchers per night of our stay. Those saved us a lot of money! The vouchers are treated like cash and can be used at really great restaurants close to the hotel or the spa! Virginia's on King had the best breakfast and Hall's Chophouse had the best dinner, in my opinion.

Anyways, when we went to check in we were told that our room would have a nice view and two bathrooms. That was exciting since I didn't choose the room with a view while booking. Our room did have an awesome view and it was big! The water pressure in the shower was decent. One of the toilets was in a very narrow space between two walls, which was kind of odd. Some edges of the carpeting didn't look like they had been installed properly but that wasn't an issue. We were told by a couple in the elevator that their room was very small so I would definitely ask for one of the bigger rooms when booking if that may bother you. Over all, the room wasn't 110% perfect but I was really happy with it.

Folly beach was very easy and fast to get to from our hotel, so I'm glad we decided to stay downtown and drive there during the day. Parking was only $1 per hour and it was not crowded at all! The weather was so hot that I wished our hotel had a pool but the ocean worked just fine.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brooksms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2010

I loved the location, and many good resturants near by- Virginias, Fish, and a Great sweet shop Cupcake. Would stay again!

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathleenwv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2010

This hotel was a disappointment. Although the lobby was grand and inviting, the experience went downhill as soon as we stepped into the elevator. It was dirty and smudgy and just didn't make a good impression on our way to our room. Overall, the hotel wasn't filthy or really dirty...it just didn't have a well taken care of feeling.
When we arrived in our room, all I could think when I opened the door was "meh". It was bland, non-impressive and I really could have been staying in any hotel anywhere. The humming from the beautiful electrical park our room over looked was soothing and unobtrusive (sarcasm). The "art" on the walls was cheap looking black and whites that may or may not have been even taken in Charleston. Sad. In a city so beautiful, I would expect better inspiration. The only thing I can say positive about the room was the beds were very, very comfortable and the linens were soft and very clean. Also, the closet was large (perhaps even larger than the bathroom).
The bathroom (as others have also said) was TINY TINY TINY. I am talking pathetic. I am a 5'3, 115 lb. woman and I had a hard time turning around in it, let alone placing my stuff anywhere. Also, I was only staying the night so I didn't bring any of my own toiletries (expecting the FOUR star hotel to provide adequately). I regretted this decision. All they provide is a bar of soap, shampoo, and moisturizer (granted..it was Gilchrest and Soames). Most other FOUR star hotels provide everything ranging from bath salts to mouth wash...not to mention hair conditioner and shower caps, etc. Not here...so if your expecting to go light on the toiletry packing..think again.
Overall, I would not recommend this hotel. The location is great for shopping and the Starbucks attached is nice but it is easy to do better. I have stayed in nicer 3 stars in Charleston and the other 4 stars I have also stayed in have put this hotel to shame. If you are looking for a nicer "Charleston" experience I would recommend the French Quarter Inn or the Harborview. These hotels have just as much character (if not more) and provide a much better experience.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nikkecole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2010

The Francis Marion exceeded our expectations. Greeted immediately with warm hospitality and many helpful suggestions for restaurants and shopping. The room was cozy and inviting. We will plan to stay at the Franicis Marion on future trips to Charleston.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gracie021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Andrew Pinckney Inn
#20 of 61 in Charleston
1,606 reviews
King Charles Inn
#19 of 61 in Charleston
2,805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Planters Inn
#11 of 61 in Charleston
1,773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Francis Marion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Francis Marion Hotel

Address: 387 King Street, Charleston, SC 29403-6468
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Charleston
#13 Business Hotel in Charleston
#15 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#21 Family Hotel in Charleston
#24 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: £126 - £308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Francis Marion Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience unsurpassed views of the historic harbor at the Francis Marion Hotel, the only high-rise hotel in Charleston’s historic district. All 234 guest rooms including 10 Suites and 7 Penthouse Suites are tastefully furnished for today’s sophisticated traveler, and provide modern conveniences from wireless Internet access, voicemail and data ports to on-demand movies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Francis Marion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Francis Marion Charleston
Hotel Francis Marion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing