We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Hotel, beautiful City, Wonderful Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Francis Marion Hotel
Ranked #23 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
chalreston
2 reviews
“Beautiful Hotel, beautiful City, Wonderful Vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2010

There is nothing bad you can say about the Francis Marion Hotel. All of the staff are courteous, helpful and just wonderful. The rooms are elegant with beautiful views. The restaurant is delicious and everything is so convenient to downtown Charleston. We attended a wedding reception and the staff helped arrange a van to get us there and back and made our stay more perfect than you could imagine. I would recommend this hotel very highly. You couldn't find a better hotel in Charleston!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kbrunson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,748 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,340
    897
    300
    128
    83
See reviews for
537
924
91
644
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (734)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2010

The hotel was great! The room was a bit humid, and the bathroom very small, but the room was big and clean! The hotel staff was extremely friendly and went out of their way to accomodate all our needs. Excellent location too!!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gmcolebank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2010

Charleston is such a fun place to visit, but staying at the Francis Marion made our stay even better. The location is fabulous, as it is centrally located downtown. There are endless restaurants and shopping within walking distance. The restaurant in the hotel (Swamp Fox) is great, too, and they give you a free bottle of wine! Our room was on the 11th floor, and we had a fabulous view of the river and the battery. The staff is super courteous, and the rates were great, too. We will definitely stay here again during our next trip to Charleston.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank butterbean442000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2010

If you can deal with a small room and a VERY small bathroom, this hotel is a gem. The historical nature of the place explains the size problems, but the price offset our inconvenience. The service we received from the lobby and concierge was outstanding-- truly helped us find the food and sites we had traveled so far for, and helped us avoid tourist traps. The view overlooking Marion Square was wonderful, and the European decor gave us a 4-star feeling. The beds were the best quality we experienced on our ten day road trip. And having a Starbucks next to the lobby is pretty nice, too.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bringin-the-kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Augusta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2010

My wife, 19-month old, and I stayed at The Francis Marion Hotel in Charleston, SC. We had a wonderful experience - the hotel is beautiful and very historic. The hotel staff was amazing. The hotel is in walking distance of numerous tourist attractions, shopping, restaurants and night life! The Francis Marion includes an excellent restaurant, The Swamp Fox, and also has a nice little gift shop and an entrance to Starbuck's! I will definitely consider staying here upon my next trip to Charleston.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shawnpros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2010

This was our first trip to Charleston and the Francis Marion hotel really helped make it a good one! It is in the perfect location and parking was very simple. We chose the "Charleston Getaway" package that was offered on their website, which included $50 vouchers per night of our stay. Those saved us a lot of money! The vouchers are treated like cash and can be used at really great restaurants close to the hotel or the spa! Virginia's on King had the best breakfast and Hall's Chophouse had the best dinner, in my opinion.

Anyways, when we went to check in we were told that our room would have a nice view and two bathrooms. That was exciting since I didn't choose the room with a view while booking. Our room did have an awesome view and it was big! The water pressure in the shower was decent. One of the toilets was in a very narrow space between two walls, which was kind of odd. Some edges of the carpeting didn't look like they had been installed properly but that wasn't an issue. We were told by a couple in the elevator that their room was very small so I would definitely ask for one of the bigger rooms when booking if that may bother you. Over all, the room wasn't 110% perfect but I was really happy with it.

Folly beach was very easy and fast to get to from our hotel, so I'm glad we decided to stay downtown and drive there during the day. Parking was only $1 per hour and it was not crowded at all! The weather was so hot that I wished our hotel had a pool but the ocean worked just fine.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brooksms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morgantown, West Virginia
Level Contributor
243 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2010

I loved the location, and many good resturants near by- Virginias, Fish, and a Great sweet shop Cupcake. Would stay again!

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathleenwv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
King Charles Inn
#17 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,680 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#15 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
Andrew Pinckney Inn
#21 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Francis Marion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Francis Marion Hotel

Property: Francis Marion Hotel
Address: 387 King Street, Charleston, SC 29403-6468
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Charleston
#13 Business Hotel in Charleston
#15 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#21 Family Hotel in Charleston
#24 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Francis Marion Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience unsurpassed views of the historic harbor at the Francis Marion Hotel, the only high-rise hotel in Charleston’s historic district. All 234 guest rooms including 10 Suites and 7 Penthouse Suites are tastefully furnished for today’s sophisticated traveler, and provide modern conveniences from wireless Internet access, voicemail and data ports to on-demand movies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Francis Marion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Francis Marion Charleston
Hotel Francis Marion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing