We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was perfection”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Francis Marion Hotel
Ranked #23 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 August 2010

Stayed at the Francis Marion for the second time. This time was to drop my son at The College of Charleston. The staff in it's entirety were more than helpful and most gracious. They made a very stressful time a lot less so. The rooms are beautiful and I slept in the most comfortable bed ever. The hotels location is perfect. With a Starbucks in the lower level I was in heaven. Please give it a try, you will not be disappointed. I also found the value to be great,a hotel like this in the Boston area would be far more expensive.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank winthrop73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,000)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,671 - 2,677 of 3,000 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2010

The staff was so helpful during the entire duration of our stay. From the moment we arrived helping us get settled after a long car trip and making dinner reservations for us. They had to make several trips to the car to get things for our 1 year old daughter that had gotten left behind. The room was spacious and well maintained. We were there for a family wedding on the premises which was lovely and the staff was very helpful during the event as well. If we ever have a chance to return to Charleston this would definitely be my choice hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CathyPortsmouth_VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2010

The room we reserved "Luxury King" was not available--so we were stuck with a "Deluxe Double" which sucked, the front desk staff was not helpful at all. The shower was nasty, the toilet looked like something you would find in a prison stall. The vent in our bathroom was connected to the adjoining room, so we got to hear all their lovely bathroom noises. The "business center" is actually a corner of the lobby, with only one computer connected to a printer. The ONLY positive aspect of this hotel was the concierge, she was extremely helpful. This hotel was just not worth the price. I did file a complaint with the manager, got an e-mail saying "sorry"--that's about it.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cmschis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2010

We arrived and no valet offered to help us so we unloaded our own bags. After getting ourselves up to the lobby, we went to our FIRST room. Incredibly shock and disappointment when we saw that $200 a night got us a TINY room with NO view and NO working toilet. We immediately called down and were escorted to another room...even smaller, but with a view and a toilet which worked after TWO flushes. Rooms are old and completely devoid of charm.
We were awoken at 2am by drunken neighbors! When I called down to the desk, I was told I was the second call and that security was being sent up. After 15 minutes, no security, but 5 people loudly left the room next door.
After 5 minutes of quiet, the drunken neighbors began to scream and carry on AGAIN. I called down to the desk again and 10 minutes later a security guard did arrive and they quieted down. By 4:00am all was finally quiet.
We were sharing a room with our 11 year old daughter, so she got one bed. Beds were very soft DOUBLES, not Queens as in most hotels. My husband ended up sleeping on the floor! Needless to say....we can NOT recommend this hotel...nor will ever stay here again!
And believe me, I am not a complainer and it took a lot for me to write this review.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mfeldman39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2010

Upon arrival our trip was amazing. The parking attendant was most gracious and very helpful with information. He also helped with our luggage and had a great personality.
The room was beautiful and clean. All of the staff took care of us. We also took the van service to a couple of locations, the driver was kind and very engaging! I loved the locattion.... close to several "things to see" in Charleston and also within walking distance of several historic homes. I would highly recommend staying at The Francis Marion and will do so again on my next trip to Charleston

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beach73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2010

There is nothing bad you can say about the Francis Marion Hotel. All of the staff are courteous, helpful and just wonderful. The rooms are elegant with beautiful views. The restaurant is delicious and everything is so convenient to downtown Charleston. We attended a wedding reception and the staff helped arrange a van to get us there and back and made our stay more perfect than you could imagine. I would recommend this hotel very highly. You couldn't find a better hotel in Charleston!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kbrunson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2010

The hotel was great! The room was a bit humid, and the bathroom very small, but the room was big and clean! The hotel staff was extremely friendly and went out of their way to accomodate all our needs. Excellent location too!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gmcolebank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
King Charles Inn
#18 of 61 in Charleston
2,858 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Andrew Pinckney Inn
#21 of 61 in Charleston
1,636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Francis Marion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Francis Marion Hotel

Address: 387 King Street, Charleston, SC 29403-6468
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Charleston
#13 Business Hotel in Charleston
#15 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#21 Family Hotel in Charleston
#24 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: £112 - £295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Francis Marion Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience unsurpassed views of the historic harbor at the Francis Marion Hotel, the only high-rise hotel in Charleston’s historic district. All 234 guest rooms including 10 Suites and 7 Penthouse Suites are tastefully furnished for today’s sophisticated traveler, and provide modern conveniences from wireless Internet access, voicemail and data ports to on-demand movies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Francis Marion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Francis Marion Charleston
Hotel Francis Marion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing