We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Courtyard Charleston Waterfront
Ranked #45 of 62 Hotels in Charleston
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 19 February 2012

This was a return trip to Charleston and a stay at the Courtyard Waterfront. The hotel is very clean and they have recently updated all of the rooms which are very comfortable. Staff is friendly and courteous. Especially helpful was Eddie, the concierge, who knows just about everything in Charleston and has great recommendations for restaurants and sightseeing.

Room Tip: Nice view overlooking the harbor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sallytapper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (821)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

670 - 676 of 821 reviews

Reviewed 3 February 2012

We have stayed at this hotel on two occasions and found the staff to be friendly and courteous on both occasions. The hotel is clean and they are in the midst of renvoating the rooms. They are doing it a wing at a time so there is very little evidence of it to the guests -- we were not inconvenienced at all. They are within sight of the Medical University of South Carolina and have special rates for travellers in town for a hospital appointment -- as we have been. They have a breakfast buffet that is very good or you may order from the menu. At the front desk, two books have been compiled of menus from throughout the city to help you select a place to eat. One of the binders contains menus from the fancier places, while the second contains menus for others that are also very good but not as costly. The hotel is beside the marina on the Ashley River and has a pool, jacuzzi and a small gym available for guests. Rooms are equipped with a TV, fridge, microwave, iron and ironing board, and a hair dryer. Wi-fi is also free throughout the hotel. We will continue to patronize this hotel and I can recommend it to you without reservation.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mfweave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2012

Thinking this would be a fantastic stay in Charleston because it was on the water, was totally offbase. The property is old and run down - apparently the management does not put money back into the property nor do they demand high quality from their cleaning/maintenance staff. There is nothing around the property, so be prepared to either walk awhile or drive to eat at someplace other than the hotel restaurant. There is a shuttle at $6.00 a person to take you to the downtown section and supposedly a free bus service but the hotel offered no assistance to finding the "free" bus just told me to get the brochure around the corner. Because we love to walk we just walked the 1.5 miles to historic area one way every day, only seeing the free trolley service bus once we were already downtown. Waterfront balcony rooms were a disappointment because they (the balconies) are all connected, meaning one could easily step over from one balcony to another, so leaving the door open at night to get a nice breeze was not for me. Oh and the barista bold coffee was the weakest I have ever had in my life - it looked like iced tea coming out of the container. Would not recommend nor stay at again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flabearsfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CYteamLeader, General Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2012

We admit she stayed in one the last rooms we needed to paint however the room itself contained brand new furniture and carpet. The room has been completed as well as all of room renovations as of late last month. I also agree with her coffee impression. We discovered a calibration problem in brewing and now the Bold name matches the taste again.

We are located just a short 1.5 mile trip from historic attractions and restaurants with the Marina Restaurant within walking disctance and a free shuttle to the Marriott accross the street for their restaurant and active nightlife. No less than 60 restaurants also deliver right to your door so you dont need to settle for chain pizza. The Restaurant staff also prepares fresh offerings sold in The Market, our 24 hour snack shop.

The shuttle she mentions for $6.00 is actually an all day pass taking you to and from the hisctoric area as many times as you care to ride.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

If you want a hotel within walking distance of all the attractions, this isn't the one. This hotel is out of the way and out on the river but, great! There's not really anyplace to eat or grab a drink around the hotel but again, a short drive/taxi ride to the historic district. There is always a taxi available though if you don't want to drive after you park. The staff at the hotel are always friendly and accomodating. There is a large sundeck where you can sit and look out over the river and have a drink or coffee. A number of the rooms also overlook the river. All in all a great spot!

Room Tip: Try to get a river view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bassin66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2012

We ended up staying for the weekend of January 13 th to the 16th. Over Martin Luther Kings holiday. We decided on a whim to go for the weekend.

You can walk to downtown if you wish because it is not far. There is easy access from the city and major highways. It has a courtyard overlooking the river and docks where you can sit and eat breakfast.

There is ample on the spot parking at no charge. A swimming pool and spa. There is no restaurant on the spot except for breakfast. Breakfast is not complimentary but very reasonable. We opted for the buffet which was excellent.

Security is good too. In order to enter the elevator from the parking garage you must have a key.

Viewing the river is nice because all the yachts and sailboats are docked there.

The actual design of the building is beautiful.

it was Marriott Charleston weekend so were able to get the room for 104.00 per night plus 3000 extra points.

Love my Marriot famly

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maddashin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2012

This a great hotel to stay at to visit historic Charleston. The location is close to downtown on the waterfront. We arrived at our hotel early due to a morning flight and we were given a room immediately. The view of the river from their large sun deck was stunning. We would definitely recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luv2getaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2012

Great place. The view is amazing of the water. My boyfriend and i were very early for check-in and instead of making us wait they put us in a room for an hour, while ours was getting ready, so we could relax from our flight. Very helpful staff. The only thing that is a little irritating is location. Its only a 10 minute drive downtown, or a 30 minute walk, but very doable.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ericapotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.3 mi away
Charleston Marriott
Charleston Marriott
#31 of 62 in Charleston
1,176 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Waterfront/Downtown
0.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
0.7 mi away
Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Charleston Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Charleston Waterfront

Address: 35 Lockwood Dr, Charleston, SC 29401-1122
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Charleston
#33 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: £128 - £298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Charleston Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, located just minutes from the heart of downtown Charleston, SC. Unique among hotels in Charleston, guests can experience stunning views of the Ashley River while enjoying our hot breakfast options, unwinding on our beautiful terrace, swimming in the outdoor waterfront pool, relaxing by our fire pit or whirlpool, or resting in their spacious guest room. Our stunning hotel is a short drive from the city's top destinations including; the shopping on King Street, the downtown market, historic plantations, and military parks. This unique hotel offers a 24 hour fitness center and a business center. Join us each morning in The Ashley River Cafe for a delicious breakfast buffet. If you're looking for something quick, our waterfront Charleston hotel offers a 24-hour market with snacks, beverages, soups, sandwiches and salads. Our Charleston, SC meeting space is ideal for intimate rehearsal dinners, meetings, and social events. Experience true luxury accommodations at the top waterfront hotel in Charleston, Courtyard Charleston Waterfront. An unforgettable retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Courtyard Charleston Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Charleston Waterfront Hotel Charleston
Charleston Marriott
Charleston Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing