We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you've got the budget, stay in town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Charleston Waterfront
Ranked #45 of 62 Hotels in Charleston
GreenLeadersSilver level
League City, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“If you've got the budget, stay in town”
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Ok, so the place is just fine. Just fine. Way nicer than many I've stayed at. The lobby is nice, the fact there's a bar onsite is a lovely perk, and the staff was very friendly.
However, it's a little bit difficult to get to and nothing is within walking distance. If you're going to go to beautiful, historical Charleston, stay IN Charleston proper. The difference is inumerable. Cab fare from downtown for 2 miles was around $12, so if you plan on drinking, you might as well just up your hotel a few bucks!
The rooms are lovely and comfy. It's a little damp, and you can tell the place was getting run down before the renovation. However, it's now up to par. The beds are comfy, decorations are lovely and cozy, and it's overall very pleasant. I just wish I had a budget to squeeze an extra $30 or so a night, and could have stayed IN town and just wandered as I pleased.

Room Tip: Ask to be on a floor higher than 1. The bar isnt loud, but all the people in and out can be.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D_Shi_12610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

778 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    246
    285
    141
    64
    42
See reviews for
196
303
30
118
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

I've stayed in this hotel once before, and repeated a visit in February. The Courtyard is a solid choice for Charleston if you want to have at least a "connection" to being on the waterfront.
The rooms are being renovated and are standard Courtyard fare with comfortable beds, good, clean furnishings, fridge and microwave in room with standard, average bathrooms. Room types vary a good bit, so be careful that you book what you prefer if that matters to you. Standard rooms offer only the tiniest of balconies with only a partial water view, while corner rooms are much larger. Water view rooms have nice balconies with rocking chairs.

Though it's true that there is virtually NOTHING within walking distance around the hotel, and you're surrounded by roads and overpasses, one right turn on Lockwood Dr., which turns into Broad Street, and you're in the heart of historic Charleston in two minutes. That's less time than it would take you to drive 6 blocks on Meeting St.! The location at the base of the James Island Connector also makes access to Folly Beach and all points west of the Charleston peninsula very easy. And parking is free- a rarity in Charleston. The breakfast, while not included in most rates, is good, and the breakfast room overlooks the Ashley River and Charleston Marina.

The outside decks and patios are quite nice, dotted with rocking chairs and comfortable seating areas to enjoy the waterview. When I was there in the summer, the pool was always really busy with families, but outside was almost empty on a chilly February weekend.

So if you're in town on business or for a long weekend, and are OK knowing that you'll need to drive just a few minutes to wherever you need to be in Charleston, the Courtyard Waterfront is a great option.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trvlultd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 February 2012

This was a return trip to Charleston and a stay at the Courtyard Waterfront. The hotel is very clean and they have recently updated all of the rooms which are very comfortable. Staff is friendly and courteous. Especially helpful was Eddie, the concierge, who knows just about everything in Charleston and has great recommendations for restaurants and sightseeing.

Room Tip: Nice view overlooking the harbor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sallytapper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, SC
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2012

We have stayed at this hotel on two occasions and found the staff to be friendly and courteous on both occasions. The hotel is clean and they are in the midst of renvoating the rooms. They are doing it a wing at a time so there is very little evidence of it to the guests -- we were not inconvenienced at all. They are within sight of the Medical University of South Carolina and have special rates for travellers in town for a hospital appointment -- as we have been. They have a breakfast buffet that is very good or you may order from the menu. At the front desk, two books have been compiled of menus from throughout the city to help you select a place to eat. One of the binders contains menus from the fancier places, while the second contains menus for others that are also very good but not as costly. The hotel is beside the marina on the Ashley River and has a pool, jacuzzi and a small gym available for guests. Rooms are equipped with a TV, fridge, microwave, iron and ironing board, and a hair dryer. Wi-fi is also free throughout the hotel. We will continue to patronize this hotel and I can recommend it to you without reservation.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mfweave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

Thinking this would be a fantastic stay in Charleston because it was on the water, was totally offbase. The property is old and run down - apparently the management does not put money back into the property nor do they demand high quality from their cleaning/maintenance staff. There is nothing around the property, so be prepared to either walk awhile or drive to eat at someplace other than the hotel restaurant. There is a shuttle at $6.00 a person to take you to the downtown section and supposedly a free bus service but the hotel offered no assistance to finding the "free" bus just told me to get the brochure around the corner. Because we love to walk we just walked the 1.5 miles to historic area one way every day, only seeing the free trolley service bus once we were already downtown. Waterfront balcony rooms were a disappointment because they (the balconies) are all connected, meaning one could easily step over from one balcony to another, so leaving the door open at night to get a nice breeze was not for me. Oh and the barista bold coffee was the weakest I have ever had in my life - it looked like iced tea coming out of the container. Would not recommend nor stay at again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flabearsfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CYteamLeader, General Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
We admit she stayed in one the last rooms we needed to paint however the room itself contained brand new furniture and carpet. The room has been completed as well as all of room renovations as of late last month. I also agree with her coffee impression. We discovered a calibration problem in brewing and now the Bold name matches the taste again.

We are located just a short 1.5 mile trip from historic attractions and restaurants with the Marina Restaurant within walking disctance and a free shuttle to the Marriott accross the street for their restaurant and active nightlife. No less than 60 restaurants also deliver right to your door so you dont need to settle for chain pizza. The Restaurant staff also prepares fresh offerings sold in The Market, our 24 hour snack shop.

The shuttle she mentions for $6.00 is actually an all day pass taking you to and from the hisctoric area as many times as you care to ride.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2012

If you want a hotel within walking distance of all the attractions, this isn't the one. This hotel is out of the way and out on the river but, great! There's not really anyplace to eat or grab a drink around the hotel but again, a short drive/taxi ride to the historic district. There is always a taxi available though if you don't want to drive after you park. The staff at the hotel are always friendly and accomodating. There is a large sundeck where you can sit and look out over the river and have a drink or coffee. A number of the rooms also overlook the river. All in all a great spot!

Room Tip: Try to get a river view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bassin66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlton, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2012

We ended up staying for the weekend of January 13 th to the 16th. Over Martin Luther Kings holiday. We decided on a whim to go for the weekend.

You can walk to downtown if you wish because it is not far. There is easy access from the city and major highways. It has a courtyard overlooking the river and docks where you can sit and eat breakfast.

There is ample on the spot parking at no charge. A swimming pool and spa. There is no restaurant on the spot except for breakfast. Breakfast is not complimentary but very reasonable. We opted for the buffet which was excellent.

Security is good too. In order to enter the elevator from the parking garage you must have a key.

Viewing the river is nice because all the yachts and sailboats are docked there.

The actual design of the building is beautiful.

it was Marriott Charleston weekend so were able to get the room for 104.00 per night plus 3000 extra points.

Love my Marriot famly

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maddashin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.4 mi away
Charleston Marriott
Charleston Marriott
#36 of 62 in Charleston
1,124 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Waterfront/Downtown
0.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Charleston Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Charleston Waterfront

Property: Courtyard Charleston Waterfront
Address: 35 Lockwood Dr, Charleston, SC 29401-1122
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Charleston
#33 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Charleston Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, located just minutes from the heart of downtown Charleston, SC. Unique among hotels in Charleston, guests can experience stunning views of the Ashley River while enjoying our hot breakfast options, unwinding on our beautiful terrace, swimming in the outdoor waterfront pool, relaxing by our fire pit or whirlpool, or resting in their spacious guest room. Our stunning hotel is a short drive from the city's top destinations including; the shopping on King Street, the downtown market, historic plantations, and military parks. This unique hotel offers a 24 hour fitness center and a business center. Join us each morning in The Ashley River Cafe for a delicious breakfast buffet. If you're looking for something quick, our waterfront Charleston hotel offers a 24-hour market with snacks, beverages, soups, sandwiches and salads. Our Charleston, SC meeting space is ideal for intimate rehearsal dinners, meetings, and social events. Experience true luxury accommodations at the top waterfront hotel in Charleston, Courtyard Charleston Waterfront. An unforgettable retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard Charleston Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Charleston Waterfront Hotel Charleston
Charleston Courtyard
Charleston Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing