We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel. I enjoyed my stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Courtyard Charleston Waterfront
Ranked #45 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 18 June 2014

There seems to be some mixed review comments from reviews here but my personal experience was an extremely positive one. I travel very extensively for business and this was one of my better experiences. The room was large, clean and very quiet even thought it was near the elevator on the second floor and facing the parking lot. The bed was especially comfortable and the a/c unit quiet. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful- both at the front desk and at the restaurant. There is a $3 shuttle to the historic down town area which is very convenient. Business computer and printer works. The harbor facing veranda is fabulous. This hotel is great for business and pleasure.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ivan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkThomasGM, General Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear Ivan O, thank you for selecting our hotel for your recent business trip to Charleston. We were extremely delighted to learn about your positive experience and thank you for sharing it with others. As a seasoned business traveler, your comments lend weight to service and product excellence we are working towards every day. On behalf of the enter team, we cannot thank you enough for noticing and validating our efforts. Thank you again. Should your travels bring you back to Charleston, we trust you will keep the Waterfront in mind. Travel Safe!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (806)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

379 - 385 of 806 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2014

I was particularly disappointed in this hotel. The service on many levels was subpar. I found and 4-5 cm patch of mold growing in the shower. When I pointed it out they said they would clean it. We left and went downtown, when we returned it was still there. They moved us to another room but acted very nonchalant about the entire event. They did provide us with tickets to the shuttle downtown and a free tour. I was there for a conference I was speaking at and the service to the participants and the food was really not good. I was also told by 2 other of my colleagues they had mold in their rooms as well.

Unfortunately this appears to be the way Marriot is going.

Room Tip: Try to get a room higher up the room noise can be kind of noisy on the street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carychris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkThomasGM, General Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear Carychris, thank you very much for taking time to report the issues you encountered at our hotel. Please accept my sincere apologies. Our maintenance engineers did recently address mold issues in several bathrooms. In most cases, deep cleaning was performed and caulking replaced. We are also disappointed to learn the conference food was not good. Please know most all conference food is supplied by outside caterers and the hotel only offers breakfast. We are glad to learn of your experience though because it will help us refine our suggested carter list. Thank you again for sharing. Travel Safe!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

Older hotel that supposedly went through a renovation a few years ago. It could certainly be refurbished especially in the bathroom. A little more attention to cleaning the room is needed. Located close to the historic district. Very friendly staff.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank Sean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkThomasGM, General Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear Sean M, thank you for selecting our hotel for your recent visit to historic Charleston. Please accept my sincere apologies for the issues you encountered. We work tirelessly to ensure a clean and well maintained property, with everything in good working order and you have aided in our efforts. We have scheduled training with our housekeeping department to pay more attention when cleaning and will also share your suggestion for refurbishment with the owners. On a positive note, we are glad you found a “very friendly staff.” Thank you again for sharing. Travel Safe!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Just stayed this past weekend while attending a wedding. The hotel is lovely: the staff amazingly attentive. Rooms are renovated with Paul Mitchell hair products. Breakfast was great: very fresh fruit, warm staff and quick service.
MUCH quieter than historic Charleston. Beds very comfortable. Clean. Pool was fantastic with lounge chairs and folded towels. View of harbor for breakfast and lounging by the pool...perfect.

Room Tip: Ask for harbor view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelgalColumbia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkThomasGM, General Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Dear travelgalColumbia, thank you for staying with this past weekend. We sincerely appreciate your business and fell honored to have played a part in making your special event a success. Thank you as well for sharing so many positive comments about your stay and for comparing us to a nearby competitor. We are glad you found our hotel “MUCH quieter”. Please visit again soon. Travel Safe!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We decided to visit Charleston coming back from Florida. Last moment called and received a fabulous corner room with amenities given to equal the up-scale price for a single night. One of the best kept hotels we've ever been in.

Stayed: June 2014
1  Thank Alana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkThomasGM, General Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Alana C and Guests, thank you deciding to stop in Charleston and for staying with us. “Palm trees and boats...like a yacht club” is one of the best descriptions of the property I’ve read. Thank you for sharing how much your liked the hotel. We hope you stay with us again should travel bring you back through Charleston. Travel Safe!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

I had a corner room and spacious surroundings and balconies. The hotel staff was very friendly! The hotel shuttle will drive you into historic charleston. Free parking at

hotel. No major dining available, but a handy shop with goodies. Lovely time at the pool.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank PebblesCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkThomasGM, General Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear PebblesCalifornia, thank you for selecting our hotel for your business trip to Charleston. We appreciate the many positive comments and are pleased you enjoyed the, “corner room and spacious surroundings and balconies.” Thank you as well for sharing that the, “hotel staff was very friendly!” We are dedicated towards guest satisfaction and work very hard ….it is reassuring to know our associates maintain a pleasant demeanor. Thank you again for sharing. Travel Safe!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Courtyard Marriott on Lockwood Drive in Charleston is perfect if you need to be near UMSC.
Well run, clean and a great setting.
I also recommend it for the great proximity to the great restaurants on Upper King Street.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ahboo12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkThomasGM, General Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear Ahboo12, thank you for selecting our hotel for your business trip to Charleston. We appreciate the tips you shared through this posting regarding our proximity to MUSC. We are also glad to know you found the hotel ‘well run and clean’. We work hard every day and it is rewarding to get positive feedback. Thank you again and Travel Safe!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.3 mi away
Charleston Marriott
Charleston Marriott
#31 of 61 in Charleston
1,158 reviews
0.7 mi away
Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview
0.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Waterfront/Downtown
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Medical Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Charleston Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Charleston Waterfront

Address: 35 Lockwood Dr, Charleston, SC 29401-1122
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Charleston
#33 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: £102 - £274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Charleston Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, located just minutes from the heart of downtown Charleston, SC. Unique among hotels in Charleston, guests can experience stunning views of the Ashley River while enjoying our hot breakfast options, unwinding on our beautiful terrace, swimming in the outdoor waterfront pool, relaxing by our fire pit or whirlpool, or resting in their spacious guest room. Our stunning hotel is a short drive from the city's top destinations including; the shopping on King Street, the downtown market, historic plantations, and military parks. This unique hotel offers a 24 hour fitness center and a business center. Join us each morning in The Ashley River Cafe for a delicious breakfast buffet. If you're looking for something quick, our waterfront Charleston hotel offers a 24-hour market with snacks, beverages, soups, sandwiches and salads. Our Charleston, SC meeting space is ideal for intimate rehearsal dinners, meetings, and social events. Experience true luxury accommodations at the top waterfront hotel in Charleston, Courtyard Charleston Waterfront. An unforgettable retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Charleston Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Charleston Waterfront Hotel Charleston
Charleston Courtyard
Charleston Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing