We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Landing in Charleston”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard Charleston Waterfront
Ranked #45 of 62 Hotels in Charleston
GreenLeadersSilver level
Kankakee, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Landing in Charleston”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We had a lovely view of the marina from our room. It was the perfect spot to spend our first night in Charleston. We were able to get acquainted with the city and the next day we moved to our vacation rental.

Room Tip: Get a room with a sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank catmalone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkThomasGM, General Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Greetings from the Waterfront Catmalone, thank you for starting your Charleston vacation with our hotel. We are glad you found it the “perfect spot”. Please visit again soon. Travel Safe!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

774 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    246
    282
    140
    64
    42
See reviews for
194
301
30
118
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clitheroe, Lancashire
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Well we decided to rest up here from the International flight ready for our Great Southern Road Trip. Kim from Alabama welcomed us at this Oasis of tranquility after a 16hr day travelling from the UK. As other reviewers have said, a taxi ride from the main town ($8) - a shuttle was available at $6, but worth it for the peace and calm of the main terrace overlooking the river. The breakfasts and service from the staff were the best that we encountered on the road trip south. And there was Kim (stand in Manager ?) - what a great personality, always welcoming and actually remembered conversations from the previous day and where we had eaten. Having travelled herself she was able to provide valuable insights and knowledge, and we enjoyed our conversations with her.
Rooms were clean comfortable but a little dated. There was also a very limited menu available in the evenings which wasn't so good when you had just arrived from a long flight - we ended up at the Hilton opposite !
All in all it was a great place to lay up and start our two week road trip, with easy parking, great service and did I mention that Kim - thank you for your welcome which was greatly appreciated. We saw the other Courtyard in the centre of town and were grateful that we had chosen where we were.

Room Tip: Make sure that you get a room on the river side or else you'll be overlooking a car park with bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandman753
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkThomasGM, General Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Greetings from the Waterfront Sandman753, thank you for beginning your two week road trip with our Courtyard. We appreciate all the positive comments and thank you for sharing them with others. Please visit again soon. Travel Safe!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

On the plus side, our suite had a lovely view of the river, the pool and the marina. It was a spacious suite, large room with comfortable bedding. Everything was very clean and I like the modern furniture. The lobby area is well appointed. The pool area is quite pleasant as well.
On the minus side, the sleeper sofa was so uncomfortable (we were 3 adults sharing the suite) that we put the mattress on the floor otherwise it was like sleeping on railroad tracks. The air conditioning rattled now and then and I thought the towels could have been fluffier considering the $229.00 price.
Free gummy bears are offered at the reception desk. Nice touch but I ate way too many of them!!!

Room Tip: We asked for a higher floor to avail ourselves of the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Eveline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkThomasGM, General Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Eveline C & Friends, thank you for visiting Charleston and selecting our hotel for your stay. We appreciate knowing your, “suite had a lovely view of the river, the pool and the marina” and it “was a spacious suite, large room with comfortable bedding.” We are especially pleased your found “everything very clean” because we work hard 24/7 to make the hotel as clean as possible. Thank you for pointing out the rattling AC unit and softness of towels. We will take action on both of these issues immediately. Thank you again for staying with us and posting comments on your positive experience. We hope to welcome you all back soon. Travel Safe!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Takoma Park, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

The hotel is slightly outside the city on the river. Very elegant hotel with lots of outdoor seating, scenic. We had a waterfront view and a balcony. Worth whatever small extra that costed as you could open the door at night for river breezes. Room a little small so it was hard to situate two suitcases. The sink made it hard for me to put out makeup. Desk provided lots of help with a reservation. And they've added a shuttle back and forth to downtown so that was perfect. Negatives, breakfast was expensive and not good. They seemed to be always out of coffee. Also it's a busy hotel so some noise and a lot of light creeping under the door from hallway.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smallino7416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkThomasGM, General Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Smallino7416, thank you for selecting our hotel for your family visit to historic Charleston. We appreciate all the positive comments and are glad you found value in upgrading to a waterfront view with balcony. Our waterfront views are limited and I am pleased we could accommodate the upgrade. Thank you also for mentioning that the shuttle was “perfect”. We hope you keep us in mind for future visits to the low country. Travel Safe!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

There seems to be some mixed review comments from reviews here but my personal experience was an extremely positive one. I travel very extensively for business and this was one of my better experiences. The room was large, clean and very quiet even thought it was near the elevator on the second floor and facing the parking lot. The bed was especially comfortable and the a/c unit quiet. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful- both at the front desk and at the restaurant. There is a $3 shuttle to the historic down town area which is very convenient. Business computer and printer works. The harbor facing veranda is fabulous. This hotel is great for business and pleasure.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ivan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkThomasGM, General Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Ivan O, thank you for selecting our hotel for your recent business trip to Charleston. We were extremely delighted to learn about your positive experience and thank you for sharing it with others. As a seasoned business traveler, your comments lend weight to service and product excellence we are working towards every day. On behalf of the enter team, we cannot thank you enough for noticing and validating our efforts. Thank you again. Should your travels bring you back to Charleston, we trust you will keep the Waterfront in mind. Travel Safe!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cary, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I was particularly disappointed in this hotel. The service on many levels was subpar. I found and 4-5 cm patch of mold growing in the shower. When I pointed it out they said they would clean it. We left and went downtown, when we returned it was still there. They moved us to another room but acted very nonchalant about the entire event. They did provide us with tickets to the shuttle downtown and a free tour. I was there for a conference I was speaking at and the service to the participants and the food was really not good. I was also told by 2 other of my colleagues they had mold in their rooms as well.

Unfortunately this appears to be the way Marriot is going.

Room Tip: Try to get a room higher up the room noise can be kind of noisy on the street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carychris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkThomasGM, General Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Carychris, thank you very much for taking time to report the issues you encountered at our hotel. Please accept my sincere apologies. Our maintenance engineers did recently address mold issues in several bathrooms. In most cases, deep cleaning was performed and caulking replaced. We are also disappointed to learn the conference food was not good. Please know most all conference food is supplied by outside caterers and the hotel only offers breakfast. We are glad to learn of your experience though because it will help us refine our suggested carter list. Thank you again for sharing. Travel Safe!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

Older hotel that supposedly went through a renovation a few years ago. It could certainly be refurbished especially in the bathroom. A little more attention to cleaning the room is needed. Located close to the historic district. Very friendly staff.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Sean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkThomasGM, General Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Sean M, thank you for selecting our hotel for your recent visit to historic Charleston. Please accept my sincere apologies for the issues you encountered. We work tirelessly to ensure a clean and well maintained property, with everything in good working order and you have aided in our efforts. We have scheduled training with our housekeeping department to pay more attention when cleaning and will also share your suggestion for refurbishment with the owners. On a positive note, we are glad you found a “very friendly staff.” Thank you again for sharing. Travel Safe!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.4 mi away
Charleston Marriott
Charleston Marriott
#36 of 62 in Charleston
1,122 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Waterfront/Downtown
0.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Charleston Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Charleston Waterfront

Property: Courtyard Charleston Waterfront
Address: 35 Lockwood Dr, Charleston, SC 29401-1122
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Charleston
#33 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Charleston Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, located just minutes from the heart of downtown Charleston, SC. Unique among hotels in Charleston, guests can experience stunning views of the Ashley River while enjoying our hot breakfast options, unwinding on our beautiful terrace, swimming in the outdoor waterfront pool, relaxing by our fire pit or whirlpool, or resting in their spacious guest room. Our stunning hotel is a short drive from the city's top destinations including; the shopping on King Street, the downtown market, historic plantations, and military parks. This unique hotel offers a 24 hour fitness center and a business center. Join us each morning in The Ashley River Cafe for a delicious breakfast buffet. If you're looking for something quick, our waterfront Charleston hotel offers a 24-hour market with snacks, beverages, soups, sandwiches and salads. Our Charleston, SC meeting space is ideal for intimate rehearsal dinners, meetings, and social events. Experience true luxury accommodations at the top waterfront hotel in Charleston, Courtyard Charleston Waterfront. An unforgettable retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard Charleston Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Charleston Waterfront Hotel Charleston
Charleston Courtyard
Charleston Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing