We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District
Ranked #33 of 62 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
kentucky
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good but one drawback”
Reviewed 28 May 2011

We are staying here on a girl's trip. The location of this hotel is great! The suite space is wonderful for three ladies and the hotel staff could not be nicer! The only drawback is there is an air conditioning unit in a closet in the bedroom that is so NOISY when it kicks on and off during the night it is very disturbing to a good night's sleep. This is a historic building so it might be that is the only place to put the air system, but.....maybe a little maintenance or something is in order. Other than that we have had a fantastic time in Charleston!

Room Tip: Ask for one without air unit in room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kygirl1104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DTreebyHilton, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review, 31 May 2011
Thank you for your review. I wish you would have called the front desk to let our engineering department know of the air conditioning unit.noise. But I'm glad you had a good time in the City. We look forward to your return visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    956
    715
    310
    128
    49
See reviews for
508
823
59
437
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (355)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northern New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2011

We selected this hotel as it was part of a major chain and was in a location that offered easy access to shopping, restaurants, mansion tours, and other amenities. It also was in a perfect position to gain street access to the Ravenal bridge and other tour opportunities. Suites are in the $250/night range. The hotel is very efficient (a least in our case) and presented no problem with selection of a double-bedded suite on a high floor, with windows on a "relatively quiet" side street (over the garbage collection entrance). But no problem, as it occurred during times we were up and about. Very quiet at night. Room has a refrigerator and safe, with individual fairly noisy suite AC in a locked bedroom closet . There is a breakfast room (no on-site restaurant) that serves Continental buffet at $9.95 and full buffet (eggs, etc.) at $12.95. Food was average. The hotel recommends several associated restaurants. A small bar is in the breakfast room for evening drink$$. Parking is an issue and charged at $20 per day (plus tax) with valet service (no limit on car access). Alternative parking is available locally, at $14.00, but we were advised they charged each time car the car is moved (can't confirm that). Dual elevators available. Sleeping room size for the suite was small, but OK. Each room had a TV (one LCD, one CRT) with satellite service. Streets get very busy at night, with lots of traffic. Church Street is next to the market (huge tandem indoor flea market?). Golf at Patriots Point Links is mediocre, but with some nice views of the bay and reasonably priced. Check out the Yorktown aircraft carrier and submarine at Patriots Point. Transportation is available with pedicabs, horse-drawn carriages and the CARTA free-hop on and off trolley-buses. Research Charleston and you'll be happy with the city. Oh yes, check out the French Quarter mansions, especially the one-of-a kind Calhoun house - there's nothing like it except pehaps the Versaille in France. Enjoy!!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HandsomeDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DTreebyHilton, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review, 31 May 2011
Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2011

This hotel was so nice. We were put in a nice suite with seperate living room. Very clean. Service was exceptional. Location is nearly perfect for all of downtown Charleston. Bed was very comfrotable. There was a little street noise from Market St, but not too bad. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rproswell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DTreebyHilton, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review, 18 May 2011
Thank you for your review. We feel we have an exceptional staff, and our location in the Historic Charleston area is unbeatable. Within walking distance to most historical sites, and the beautiful battery. We hope you will return to the Charleston area and Doubletree by Hilton.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2011

We drove from Birmingham, Alabama on May 9th and the round trip was about a thousand miles. We planned on spending two thousand dollars with half going to the hotel and half for everything else. We spent one night on the road in Columbia and three nights at the Doubletree in Charleston. A suite is enormously better than a room and that's what we got. We checked in on tuesday and out on friday. The valet parking was great. It costs $20 a night to park the car but it was worth it. We could walk to nearly everything but bike rickshaws were there if you needed them. RULE #1 is a quiet and good night's sleep and we got it. The place was very clean as well. The people were friendly. A bad room or hotel can ruin a trip. Stay with the best and then expect and require it. We would be happy to go again. Great places we ate included 82Queen, Toast and Hank's. Also took the harbor trip to Fort Sumpter, saw the Citadel, the Magnolias and the rice plantation.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daveandmarilee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DTreebyHilton, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review, 18 May 2011
Thank you for the review. I couldn't agree more that "a bad room or hotel can ruin a trip", and it sounds like our staff did an excellent job in the reccommedations, since you ate at the finest restaurants and took most of the tours that some of the locals haven't even done. We look forward to you return to the Charleston area and Doubletree by Hilton.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines, Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2011

This room was right by the marketplace and was within walking distance of lots of stores and restaurants and if you are taking a bulldog walking tour it's about half a block from there too. Very nice staff they gave me warm cookies upon check in. Valet was great $20 but they can charge that to your room bill. Parking is terrible in that area so you might as well spend the money. I had a great time. We decided to stay another day and when we called to ask if they would match the rate that priceline advertised to us they said the couldn't and that we should go on priceline to get that if we could on a Tuesday. That certainly felt abrupt like they didn't believe us.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iowaloves2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DTreebyHilton, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review, 18 May 2011
Thank you for your review. It is our location that sets us apart from other hotels in the area, and also our staff. It seems we may have fallen short on the response to matching the priceline rate. Unfortunately, some of the rates are set by the brand and not the individual hotels. We look forward to your return to the Charleston area and Doubletree by Hilton.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S. Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2011

The worst part was trying to get checked in. This was a Hilton Honors stay that I had booked ahead. We arrived a few hours early and asked if we could check in early. The man pre-registered me, and said that he’d call me when my room was ready. My family and I went to lunch, walked round the historic district and then returned. Still no room. We walked around the hotel, still no call. I checked back and still no room was ready. Eventually, we ended up just sitting in the lobby with our tweens and playing games on the iPhone. After a while, the desk staff shift must have changed, because all new people came on. I asked again if my room was ready, and it was! But they had never called me, and we were just sitting there in the lobby for over an hour!
When we go into the room, it was a double-level room, which the kids liked. But the bathroom was extra-tiny and had mildew around the tub. As soon as we got in, the kids all had to use the bathroom and the toilet immediately stopped up. We called for maintenance, and it seemed like he took forever getting there. Also, every time I stepped into the hall (to get ice, sodas or to look for the maintenance man) the maids all gave me the evil eye like I was up to something.
Also, we never got the wake-up call I requested for the next morning! Yikes!
Yes, absolutely SUPER location, but you can find a nicer place nearby, I am sure.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MizzGWizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DTreebyHilton, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review, 29 April 2011
Thank you for your review. I would just like to reiterate our check-in time is 4 PM. We do try to accomodate our guests that arrive early. We usually do a great job with calling once the rooms are available, however it sounds like we dropped the ball on this one. We strive to handle everyones request, but occassionally communication is not as efficient as it should be. Being a historic hotel, the footprints for the bathrooms are smaller. I would hope the housekeepers were trying to see if you may need anything, rather than giving you "the evil eye". Our staff is well trained to accommodate the guests. Again, we thank you for your comments, and use them to help us provide quality service. We look forward to your return to the DoubleTree by Hilton in Charleston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TN
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2011

Wife and I spent a long week-end in Charleston and stayed at this hotel. The negatives:The bathrooms are small. Parking is expensive(20.00 a day). I know I'm in Charleston historic district, and that is probably the going rate. Now the rest of the story. The hotel is dated, but it has been kept up. Spend a little more and get a suite. The front desk people are top notch. We had a little problem with our room on the second day, and the gentleman at the front desk took care of it "right now". All staff members were very accomidating and friendly. I have been to Charleston several times over the years, and this is the top location in the district. Walk to everything.

Room Tip: Go for a suite-you'll enjoy the extra space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DTreebyHilton, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review, 22 April 2011
Thank you very much for your review. We are very proud of our staff with some employees celebrating 20 years of service at this property! Unfortunately, with a historic hotel the footprints for the bathrooms are rather small. We do offer self-park at the Bank of America garage on Hayne Street, which is $14.00/day, but you cannot take your car in/out. But for your next visit this is definately an option. We look forward to your return visit soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
King Charles Inn
#16 of 62 in Charleston
2,759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Andrew Pinckney Inn
#21 of 62 in Charleston
1,566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District
Address: 181 Church Street, Charleston, SC 29401-3122
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Charleston
#24 Family Hotel in Charleston
#26 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District 3.5*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located overlooking the Charleston City Market in the heart of Charleston's Historic District, DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites offers the perfect combination of incredible location, guest room size, Southern hospitality, and amenities. DoubleTree Charleston Historic District is surrounded by award-winning restaurants, including Hank's Seafood and Brasserie Gigi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Hotel Charleston
Doubletree Historic District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing