We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location. Staff not what you expect in Charleston.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District
Ranked #32 of 62 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 January 2012

Valet parking slow to retrieve car on 2 occasions. Front desk didn't tell us about free wifi or give us the password. Housekeeping shorted us bathmat twice. But hotel was clean and location was great. This was not out first stay here and won't be our last

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LynnLJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write the review for the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Charleston - Historic District. Please know your issues will be addressed with the Front Desk, Valet and Housekeeping Departments. We appreciate the feedback and the chance to continue the excellent service we strive to provide. We look forward to your return visit to our hotel and the Charleston area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,339)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,017 - 2,023 of 2,339 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2012

We have stayed at this hotel twice and both of our visits have been terrific! The front desk staff is very hospitable and friendly, and the rooms were very nicely decorated to match the overall ambiance of beautiful historic Charleston! The location is PERFECT! I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Charleston.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bellts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our property! We are so pleased that you enjoyed both of your stays with us and look forward to your return visit soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

Cant beet the location... but the hallways and common areas smell musty, the furniture is old and worn in the rooms and things all look a bit tired and banged up. The room was not made up until late in the day as well. Last but not least is the printer in the business center (aka a printer and 2 computers in the middle of a hallway) did not work... said it was printing, but nothing happened and nobody had any idea what to do.

Room Tip: another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bryan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2012

Thank you for your review of our hotel. Thank you for the comments regarding the suite service and the printer information. Unfortunately, the printer-on capabilities were down for a few days, and I do apologize for the inconvience. I hope you will return to Charleston and the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Charleston - Historic District.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

We stayed at the Doubletree for three nights between Christmas and New Year's. Our two room suite was quite large overall. The fridge was convenient, and my wife and adult son were with me. Three of us with lots of stuff and yet plenty of space. The room was clean. We were on the street level, but our room was wonderfully quiet.

The bathroom is small with a cheap vinyl insert, but the water pressure was excellent and the towels soft and plentiful.

The location is convenient, and we had a pre-breakfast walk downtown each morning. However, note that while the Market is in the middle of everything, it is very touristy.

We got bottled water and chocolates everynight at "turndown", without any actual turndown (!).

As a Hilton Honors member we got free breakfast and free internet. The hotel neglects to tell you that you need a code for each computer. We didn't figure that out until halfway through the trip. Frustrating.

Breakfast was very filling, and I got a nice egg-white omlette each morning.

Staff ranged from clueless to great. Restaurant staff was friendly, and our bellman was great. Valet parking was inefficient and sometimes rude. I remember one guy being irritated at me because they could not seem to bring the right car to us. Service is uneven, and not the friendliest, despite the southern locale.

I paid $169.00 a night plus $20.00 for poorly executed valet parking. Charleston is surprisingly expensive these days, so I guess this was pretty good. I thought the value for the money just O.K.

If I had the option, I would give this place 3 and 1/2 stars. A decent option, but we were at the Hotel Monaco, D.C. over New Years. The elegance and service there made this place look shabby by conparison.

Room Tip: The first floor was very convenient, and I noticed no problem with the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank stropertre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2012

Thank you for your review of our hotel. I am glad you were comfortable in your suite, and appreciate your feedback concerning the staff, and especially the valet attendants. The concerns will be addressed, and we truly appreciate your comments. We hope to see you again in Charleston, and the DoubleTree by Hilton.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2012

Our family of four stayed three nights the week between Christmas and New Years as first-time visitors to Charleston. The Double Tree location simply could not be better for walking about the Marketplace and Historic District in general. And despite the location right in the middle of it all, the room was very quiet. Comfortable beds, if a bit on the soft side for us, but plenty of linens, towels, pillows, etc. for the four of us in a 1 BR suite. We did not use the restaurant/bar but it attracted quite a crowd for breakfasts and some late-night, well-mannered bar activity. Very good choice for a visit to the Marketplace area - across the street from carriage rides, the Marketplace and 5-10 minutes from King Street shopping. Staff was very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JPHokie_79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2012

Thank you for your review of the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Charleston Historic District. We appreciate the compliments regarding our staff. And are thrilled you and your family enjoyed our beautiful city and great shopping. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

Stayed for New Year's Eve. On third floor, heard very little noise in early morning hours. Walking distance to downtown Charleston highlights. Friendly staff. Friendliest cleaning staff I've met in 2011. Comfortable beds. Street access using stairs was a little challenging but we figured it out. Nice fitness facility.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MulberryCreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2012

Thank you for your review of DoubleTree by Hilton Charleston - Historic District. I am glad you had a wonderful New Year's here in Charleston. Thank you for the fabulous comments regarding our staff. We are very lucky to have dedicated wonderful employees with service as long as 20 years. We look forward to seeing you again on a return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

The DoubleTree Historic District in Charleston, SC is a great place to stay when visiting Charleston is it located downtown in the historic district near MANY great places to eat, shop and visit.

I was there for a conference and did not have much time to play tourist, but did eat at a few of the great nearby establishments.

The hotel provided excellent service for the conference and this is the second time I have been to one there.

The room was clean, warm, bed very comfy. Bathroom was excellent and the breakfast was fast and good.

However, this all comes at a price. It is not the cheapest (nor the most expensive) place to stay, but it would be nice if they would give the GSA Per Diem price for government customers.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NiklasPavelV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2012

Thank you for your review of our hotel. I am glad you had a wonderful time on your return visit with the conference. Maybe you can come and play in Charleston and enjoy the sites and shopping. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
King Charles Inn
#17 of 62 in Charleston
2,929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District

Address: 181 Church Street, Charleston, SC 29401-3122
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Charleston
#16 Family Hotel in Charleston
#26 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: £123 - £303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District 3.5*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located overlooking the Charleston City Market in the heart of Charleston's Historic District, DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites offers the perfect combination of incredible location, guest room size, Southern hospitality, and amenities. DoubleTree Charleston Historic District is surrounded by award-winning restaurants, including Hank's Seafood and Brasserie Gigi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Hotel Charleston
Doubletree Historic District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing