We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District
Nearby Hotels
US$406
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$387
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$255
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$213
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Meeting Street Inn(Charleston)(Great Value!)
US$250
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$225
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Indigo Inn(Charleston)(Great Value!)
US$284
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$229
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
French Quarter Inn(Charleston)
US$373
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$352
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
King Charles Inn(Charleston)
US$288
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$251
Official Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Andrew Pinckney Inn(Charleston)
US$252
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$228
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Holiday Inn Express Charleston(Charleston)(Great Value!)
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harbourview Inn(Charleston)
US$394
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$375
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$350
getaroom.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (2,436)
Filter reviews
2,438 results
Traveller rating
1,075
799
358
149
57
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,075
799
358
149
57
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdouble treegreat locationhistoric districtfront deskvalet parkingwithin walking distancecity markettwo storycookieswet barking suitevalet staffliving areawould stay here againfitness centercarriage rideper day
Filter
Updating list...
1,502 - 1,507 of 2,438 reviews
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

Con: for the price of these rooms, there should be more amenities. No swimming pool to de-stress by or cool off in. Rooms are a little dated.
Pro: from the front desk to the housekeeping, staff is awesome!
The location is great for City Market and some great restaurants.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Gamma8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

We're so glad you enjoyed the location and it's excellent news to hear that our front desk and housekeeping team's efforts were right on point. We appreciate your feedback and will surely keep your suggestions in mind. Come back and see us again soon.

Safe travels...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We arrived back at the hotel pretty late but had no problems checking in or getting to our room. The room itself was huge, clean, and had some of the most comfortable beds ever! I highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Roni R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

On behalf of the entire team… “Beautiful hotel with great service ” is an excellent summation of your recent visit and we Thank You! Our courteous and professional staff goes out of their way to ensure guest satisfaction is consistently offered to everyone that comes through our doors….and it appears you had the pleasure of witnessing our team in action during your visit.
We hope to have another opportunity to serve your hospitality needs in the near future. Safe travels…

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

I was very satisfied with the valet guys. They were excellent. I was also satisfied with the room itself. However I had to call twice in one day to have our room cleaned and new towels brought in. I had to call the day after for the same thing. We were out of our room most of the day so I am not sure why we kept missing this service. We had our toddler with us and toddlers are not the cleanest. The floor needed to be vaccumed daily because when she ate, she would get crumbs on the floor. That is why I had to call twice in one day because no one ever came to do this. I am not trying to sound "lofty" but this is service that should be expected when going to a hotel, especially one that you pay $200 a night.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Thank you for reaching out to share feedback on your recent stay with us. We are sorry to hear that our timely servicing of the guest room fell below your expectations as your satisfaction is our ultimate goal. I apologize for the lack of service and have spoken to our housekeeping Team to ensure prompt servicing of all our guestrooms. We are dedicated to ensuring your satisfaction and hope to have another opportunity to show you the complete quality stay you deserve should you return to our area in the future.

safe travels...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We stayed at the Doubletree in downtown Charleston May 26-28 2014 when we were in town for some of the Spoleto events. My GPS took me straight to the front door where we were greeted by cordial valet parking attendants who unloaded our luggage, parked our car, and brought our suitcases up to the room. Check-in was friendly and efficient and they gave us two warm chocolate chip cookies! EVERYONE working there smiled and was cordial. Even the housekeepers and guys who looked like they were working on the air conditioning were friendly. We booked a King suite--the room was nice--the temperature perfect--we actually had to turn the air up a little bit because my husband is cold natured in his old age! The linens on the bed and in the bathroom were very nice. It was a great room! And we could walk anywhere we needed to go very easily. The Doubletree is right next to the Charleston Historic Marketplace--so if you want that kind of shopping--it's right on the corner. There were a number of nice restaurants within very close walking distance. However, we learned the value of making advanced reservations--several of the restaurants we were interested in were booked. Walking to our events at the Dock Street Theater posed no problems, even for my husband who suffers from Parkinson's and isn't as strong as he used to be. We took a bicycle rickshaw (there is a Queue area for the rickshaws down on the corner near the Market) to our event at the College of Charleston's Emmitt Robinson Theater--but we walked back to our hotel afterwards--mainly because I didn't want to have to wait 20 minutes for the Rickshaw. It also turned out to not be that far away. I would definitely stay here again. It may not be the least expensive room in town, but you get what you pay for. We had a very pleasant experience.

Room Tip: If you want a King Suite I recommend Room 462
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Many thanks for your recent posting! We love to read such praise and appreciation of our property, location, and service. As you mention, the Doubletree by Hilton has a superb location that only compliments the quality of our guest space, beautifully appointed rooms and superior service. We are always ready when you are prepared to make your next reservation and look forward to having you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

This hotel is right in the middle of downtown Charleston. You can walk almost anywhere. Lots of restaurants close by and many shops. The City Market and carriage rides are right outside your door. There is only valet parking at 25.00 a day but you really don't need your car so it is not a bad deal. The hotel is pricey but for a special night or weekend it is worth the price. The staff is friendly and the rooms are large and clean. ENJOY!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank huskyf57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Thank you for your gracious review reminding everyone how convenient the hotel is in the historic market area. It is exciting to hear how much guests enjoy our location when visiting historic Charleston as they visit the variety of shopping and restaurant choices that make up the historic area.
We know that Charleston is full of choices and appreciate you making the historic Doubletree your choice. We look forward to seeing you again real soon…

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews