We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District
Ranked #30 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Enjoyed having the carriage package as there were lots of carriage companies to chose from-the package chose for me and it was easy to find and enjoyable. The entrance to the hotel is very welcoming and the warm, gooey cookie makes it an even more welcome. The breakfast that was served Southern style was delicious. Everything was tasty and the wait staff's greetings and service was the top of the morning.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank 974aliciah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear 974aliciah
We thank you for your recent review and recognition of our property and staff. We strive to ensure each and every guest is provided the best possible experience and it appears our efforts were successful during your visit. It is rewarding to hear we made “such a positive impression” as Charleston is full of options for lodging and this is a fantastic nod to our dedicated team of professionals.
Best Wishes and we look forward to assisting you on your next to Charleston.

Sincerely,
Michael Perry
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,259)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,250 - 1,256 of 2,259 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2014

When my wife and I checked in, the desk clerk asked for an ID which I gave her. She also asked for our name even though she was holding my drivers license. After a few minutes of confusion she asked: "I need to see some form of identification". I asked if the drivers license she was holding would suffice? On check-out the next day, and after handing the SAME person my key envelope and indicating the room number, she proclaimed the name and room number for a different person/room. I clarified our room number and last name. WORST front desk experience I have ever experienced and this is an above average hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear James R
Thank you for bring to our attention your candid review of your recent stay with the Doubletree by Hilton. I am sorry to hear about your service related experiences during the check in and check out process. This is very troubling to us and I will be meeting with our department heads, as well as, the Team to ensure that these issues do not happen again and are handled differently. We certainly understand that Charleston is full of hospitality choices and we appreciate your business!
As a company it is our goal for each guest to experience the warmth and glow of hospitality and we are sorry for not living up to this standard with your visit.
I look forward to speaking with you soon.

Sincerely,
Michael Perry
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Our first impression was where is the valet parking? We had to drive around the block 4 times before we were helped, once we were settled in, the valet staff were very helpful and friendly. The Hotel staff were very friendly and extremely helpful with all questions and making dinner reservations. Our room was clean and very nice. The restaurant staff at breakfast were slow and not friendly at all, we felt that they did not want to be there and they did not want us there either. Have breakfast else where and your stay will be GREAT.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Richard L
Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your recent stay with us. We appreciate your honest input and we will use your comments as we constantly evolve to best meet our guests needs. We're very sorry to hear about the unpleasant experience during breakfast service. I will be sharing your comments with the Team to ensure that this level of service does not happen again. We look forward to see you again real soon….

Sincerely,
Michael Perry
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

The staff are all friendly and welcoming. The hotel is beautiful and in a perfect location for touring Charleston. Lots of nice amenities. We were so happy to have valet parking that protects our car from the daily flooding. I would tell anyone that this is a great place to stay when visiting Charleston.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GatorRandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear GatorRandy
Thank you for your posting and reminding everyone of our numerous amazing attributes that make Doubletree by Hilton such a special place to visit in Charleston. As you mention, our eager staff assist with making memories for our guests on a daily basis with a genuine sense of pride and hospitality not found in many properties. We look forward to your next visit.
Best Wishes…
Michael Perry
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

We came into town for a wedding, with a friend. We stayed in the executive suite and it was great! The hotel is beautiful and is located right off the Market! Never needed to pull the car out. Walking distance to every thing and when you don't want to walk just take a Peddle Taxi.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Holly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Holly B
Many thanks for your recent posting! We love to read such praise and appreciation of our property and location. As you mention, the Doubletree by Hilton has a superb location that only compliments the quality of our guest space, beautifully appointed rooms and superior service. We are always ready when you are prepared to make your next reservation and look forward to having you back again soon.
Sincerely,
Michael Perry
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Have stayed here numerous times with no complaints. Will stay here again. Hotel furnishings are getting a little worn..sofa's chairs etc. Bathrooms starting to show signs of wear.. paint chippage, stains, etc. The only real beef I have is the 5th floor has no ice maker...that seems a little strange. You have to go to the 4th floor to receive ice. Location is great and the breakfast is nice. Would recommend staying here.

Room Tip: avoid 5th floor.. no ice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jakenagsheadnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear NagsHeadNcUsaJake
Thank you for reaching out to share feedback on your recent stay with us. We are sorry to hear that our appearance did not meet your expectations as your satisfaction is our ultimate goal. I apologize for the less then acceptable guestroom furniture you witnessed. We have new furniture and draperies ordered and is due to be installed shortly. We are dedicated to ensuring your satisfaction and hope to have another opportunity to show you the complete quality stay you deserve should you return to our area in the future.
Sincerely,
Michael Perry
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Three friends and I stayed at the Doubletree in downtown Charleston. The location was right in the heart of the city and was a perfect location for what we wanted to see. The only issue we had was that housekeeping did not come by to make up our beds, take out trash and clean the room. Somehow our room was missed and our do not disturb sign was not on the door. The front desk did apologize and gave me the extra towels and shampoo I requested, but during our two night stay, we did not get the room cleaned for our second night there, which was disappointing. I believe this was a simple oversight.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank George L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DTreebyHilton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear George L
I'm sorry to hear about the unfortunate experience you had with daily housekeeping room service. We value your loyalty and appreciate your feedback. We certainly would like to look into this further and ask that you contact us directly so we may assist.

Kind regards,
Michael Perry
General Manager
(843)577-2644

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
King Charles Inn
#18 of 61 in Charleston
2,833 reviews
Downtown
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Andrew Pinckney Inn
#20 of 61 in Charleston
1,615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District

Address: 181 Church Street, Charleston, SC 29401-3122
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Charleston
#24 Family Hotel in Charleston
#26 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: £153 - £335 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District 3.5*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located overlooking the Charleston City Market in the heart of Charleston's Historic District, DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites offers the perfect combination of incredible location, guest room size, Southern hospitality, and amenities. DoubleTree Charleston Historic District is surrounded by award-winning restaurants, including Hank's Seafood and Brasserie Gigi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Hotel Charleston
Doubletree Historic District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing