We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel(Charleston)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 25/07
US$215
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$243/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

French Quarter Inn(Charleston)
Free cancellation until 22/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$263
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$342/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 22/07
US$295
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Town & Country Inn and Suites(Charleston)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$136
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Charleston Inn(Charleston)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$127
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
King Charles Inn(Charleston)(Great Value!)
US$205
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$194
Official Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$215/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express Charleston(Charleston)(Great Value!)
US$124
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sleep Inn Charleston(Charleston)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 29/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$103
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$366
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (2,508)
Filter reviews
2,508 results
Traveller rating
1,112
817
365
155
59
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,112
817
365
155
59
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdouble treegreat locationhistoric districtfront deskvalet parkingwithin walking distancecity markettwo storywet barcookiesking suitevalet staffliving areawould stay here againcarriage rideper dayfew blocks
Filter
Updating list...
2,327 - 2,332 of 2,508 reviews
Reviewed 19 April 2010

We recently planned a trip to Charleston that included a 3 night stay at the Doubletree. Traveling with my husband and 8 month old baby, we wanted to stay somewhere with close proximity to the historic district so going back to the room for extra diapers or nap time would be easy. I called the hotel 2 weeks prior to our arrival to leave a note on our reservation requesting a quiet room with not much street noise since we were traveling with an infant.

Upon arrival, we were placed in the 2nd floor corner room facing Market St. The first night, a Thursday, was fine. There wasn't much noise outside, probably because it was a weekday and there were rain storms that night. The next evening, Friday, the bar next door started their loud music around 9PM. This persisted until 3AM. Our bedroom and bathroom wall faced directly and were within feet of the upper level of this bar. I called the front desk to tell them that while we requested a quiet room, I believe we had been placed in the noisiest room in the hotel. The staff member did not apologize or offer to move us to another room but just said he would make a note of it for his manager. After not getting to sleep until close to 4AM, we decided that we would be checking out a day early. I lived in the dorm rooms in college, but never experienced loud noise like this, even on party nights.

At checkout, we told the front desk worker of our experience and disappointment in their inability to honor a request for a quieter room. He apologized and offered us free valet parking and a free carriage ride. While a nice offer, my husband explained that uprooting an infant and needing to find alternate accommodations was a hassle and could have been avoided. We did not get what we paid for - a room to have a restful night's sleep. They first offered to take $150 off the room but eventually did the right thing and refunded us the full $300 + tax fee.

This was the worst night I've ever had in a hotel, however, I will give the Doubletree some credit for acknowledging their error and compensating us appropriately.

Otherwise, the hotel itself is OK but not upscale. Location is good. Our suite did not have flat screen TVs as the manager's response has indicated in other reviews - we had the round screen, pre-digital TVs. They also make you pay an extra $10/day for wireless internet. In 2010, most hotels offer free wireless access, particularly those whose rates are $250+, so I found this surprising.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baltoknitter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bktinsc, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2010

Thank you for your review of our hotel. I certainly apologize for the street level noise you experienced while here at our hotel. Spring in Charleston is a festive time, and, while we are blessed with the best location in all of Charleston, on RARE occasion, our spirited neighboring businesses forget their fun may encroach on others quiet enjoyment. Charleston is an alive-vibrant city, and, especially in the downtown area. We do hope you will give us another opportunity to show you the comforts we are known for in one of our beautiful two bedroom suites. Thank you again for your comments and for your business.

Bryan Thompson
Director of Marketing/Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2010

This was one of the most pleasuable stays we have at any hotel in a tourist area. Tom Loeber help make our stay very enjoyable and of course Charleston is a great place.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PenmanBelvidere_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bktinsc, manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2010

Thank you for your review of our hotel, and, in particular, the mention of our Staff Member, Tom Loeber. We are thrilled you enjoyed Charleston, and, you found the best hotel located in the best spot-on the old city market-our Doubletree offering some of the largest suites in the city. We look forward to your return to Charleston and in your return visit to our Doubletree on the market.

Sincerely,

Bryan Thompson
Director of Marketing/Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2010

Was fortunate to get a king room with a balcony (1 of 4 at the hotel??). Very nice room - no complaints. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Location is excellent.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank home4now
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2010

I wasn't too happy that we paid $275 a night for a hotel without a pool, larger room, and a 20" tube television in the room. The pros were that the service was excellent, hotel was clean, and location was great.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bktinsc, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2010

Dear Jeff,

Thank you for the comments on your recent stay. We especially enjoyed reading the coments about our exceptional service and the cleanliness of our hotel. We take great pride in both areas. Regarding pools downtown, pools are a rarity in most hotels as many of our guests choose to take a quick drive to Isle of Palms, Sullivan's Island and Folly Beach for aquatic activities-all just a short drive away. Of course, our location is ideal for those wishing to enjoy the exquisite dining of restaurants such as Peninsula Grill, Hank's Seafood Restaurant and Mercato Italian to name a few-and, all located on or adjacent to the famed Old City Market. We also have some of the largest suites in the historic district and invite you to try one of them on your next visit.

Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to your return.

Bryan Thompson
Assistant General Manager/Director of Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2010

Our first stay at this hotel and found it to be just as nice or nicer than several other higher end B & B's and hotels in Charleston. Most courteous staff and prompt service!! Our room had a balcony and was located in the rear building...we never heard a sound from anyone else. We are planning a return trip in August and have request the same accomodations if possible. We will recommend the Doubletree to all of our friends traveling to Charleston!!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rayamac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bktinsc, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2010

Thank you for your kind note, and, we are all very pleased your birthday weekend was spent with us. We look forward to your return to us in August. You and I met as you were departing on Sunday morning and I enjoyed speaking with you. Our city market (recently renovated) is the perfect location that we overlook in the historic district. Hank's Seafood is consistently rated the finest seafood restaurant in the city and hope you will be able to dine there in August. Thank you again for your kind note. The note will be shared with our team today.

Sincerely,

Bryan Thompson
Director of Marketing/Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews