We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Meeting Street Inn(Charleston)(Great Value!)
US$188
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$178
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel(Charleston)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 25/07
US$181
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$231/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

French Quarter Inn(Charleston)
Free cancellation until 22/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$263
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$340/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 22/07
US$358
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$295
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$117
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
King Charles Inn(Charleston)(Great Value!)
US$220
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$194
Official Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Town & Country Inn and Suites(Charleston)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$136
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sleep Inn Charleston(Charleston)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 25/07
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express Charleston(Charleston)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$136
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$366
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 35% below average rates

The price you found is 35% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$559/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (2,508)
Filter reviews
2,508 results
Traveller rating
1,112
817
365
155
59
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,112
817
365
155
59
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdouble treegreat locationhistoric districtfront deskvalet parkingwithin walking distancecity markettwo storywet barcookiesking suitevalet staffliving areawould stay here againcarriage rideper dayfew blocks
Filter
Updating list...
2,320 - 2,325 of 2,508 reviews
Reviewed 25 June 2010

We stayed here for three nights in June on our way to a baseball tournament in Myrtle Beach. The location is great for exploring old Charleston, the staff is really accomodating and the rooms are comfortable. It is a very beautiful hotel. The only negative we can come up with is- no swimming pool (tough for a 14 year old when it's 95-98 degrees every day).

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank denygold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bktinsc, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2010

Thank you for your review of our Doubletree and in letting others know of our fantastic location on the Historic City Market and our proximity to many other must see spots in Charleston (the South Carolina Aquarium, Hippodrome (great 3-d movies for children) and the Childrens Museum as a few. We are very pleased you enjoyed your visit and look forward to your return with us very soon.

Sincerely,

Bryan Thompson
Assistant General Manager/Director of Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2010

I attended a conference the first week in June at this Doubletree Suites. I am in the medical field and live in South Carolina and visit Charleston at least once a year and are very familiar with. This was my first stay here, and I was taking my husband and daughter along, so I wanted to see the amenities. After reading the reviews on another site, I was quite leary of staying here but it was great. The 2 double beds were in a room to itself and had a door so I was able to get ready in the mornings without disturbing my family. The suite had 2 TV's a couch, desk, and a small sink and refrigerator. very nicely decorated and clean. All staff were very friendly and helpful. The food catered to the conference was good. Location is awesome. You walk out of the hotel and within a few steps to your right you are at the infamous Charleston Market. Also within walking distance are a multitude of unique restaurants, shops, The Battery, King Street shopping and even the Aquarium. I am looking forward to attending this conference again next year.
Cons: *No Pool *Slow Elevators * Have to valet park or park in city parking garage.
*WiFi free only in lobby area but could purchase Wifi for a week for $15.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grwrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bktinsc, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2010

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay here at our Doubletree Historic District on the famous Charleston City Market. We were pleased to learn you enjoyed the meeting, food and service as well. Our hotel is absolutely perfect for people traveling here for business meetings (we host over 200 meetings per year in our two ballrooms with over 10,000 square feet of flexible meeting space) and to be able to relax in one of our large suites, is a perfect ending to any meeting day. At breaks, our attendees often pop out to the market literally just a few feet away from our front door to shop for many of the local items available there.

We look forward to your return visit to our Doubletree Charleston Hotel-Historic District very soon.

Sincerely,

Bryan Thompson
Director of Marketing/Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2010

We are very loyal Hilton hotel people, so we knew we would be staying either here or the Embassy Suites (former Citadel).

Easy check in
All suite rooms, very nice for couples, and with children
Location is PERFECT, for all restaurants, shopping, The Market, carriage rides, port, etc...
Service was great!
No real hotel bar area, or place to hang out at the actual hotel
NO pool, which was ok for us on this trip, but would be nice if we had down time to relax. If you have kids, and need a pool to entertain then, I would go little farther out and stay at the Embassy Suites

Overall GREAT hotel, Perfect location, Great staff

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tablefortwo31910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bktinsc, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2010

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. As your note indicates, we are located in the prime and best location of Charleston-the old City Market where people have gathered for centuries. Having a wedding in the Charleston Ballroom at Doubletree is an event any bride and family will remember forever-first class, and, with a sense of history that only this place can truly provide. Being able to tour the city by horse and carriage while being picked up at our front door is a lasting impression for many as well. Oooh, and our suites are among the largest in Charleston, so you will enjoy plenty of room.

Thank you for your review and we look very much forward to your return to Doubletree Guest Suites-Charleston Historic District.

Sincerely,

Bryan Thompson
Director of Marketing/Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2010

My fiance' and I stayed here for several days the week before Memorial Day 2010. Everything was amazing except for one major issue (for us). The valets were nice, and the porter helpful. The hotel was very pretty, and the staff, including housekeeping, were very nice. The room was an amazing two story suite with fridge, two TVs, upstairs King bed (which was so cozy), downstairs living room, and wet bar. We loved it, especially having a fridge. The breakfast buffet was very nice, as was the courtyard. We didn't use the conference facilities, but the looked nice too. The hotel was very close to everything, and we truly enjoyed the Charleston waterfront area. So, what was the problem. Well, we are animal lovers and support several charities that fight animal cruelty. There were horse drawn carriages everywhere in Charleston, with scared looking horses walking around in heavy traffic with exhaust and car horns everywhere. Why people like these is beyond us. It is so primative. They have large wagons that were absolutely filled with large tourists and while we were there they had a massive storm that scared the horses so much. The Doubletree has a carriage office in its lobby, which really upset us. Every time we went out the door we were faced with looking into the eyes of a horse that was foaming at the mouth from the heat. Charleston is too hot for this!! We really, really wished that the Doubletree, which was otherwise great, had not chosen to support this primative practice and that Hilton would not allow it. Oh, and be warned that the entire town and especially the streets around the hotel smelled like horse urine. If they would just ban this cruel practice we would give them 5 stars. If you are not an animal lover you will love it and we would recommend it, but if you are compassionate toward animals you will be disturbed.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NewYorker4247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bktinsc, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2010

Thank you for your comments and for your recent visit with us at our Doubletree Hotel. At the center of the historic city of Charleston is the world famous (and recently restored) City Market and our hotel is adjacent. There are many horse and carriage companies throughout the city and the city of Charleston agressively monitors all standards of care for these horses. We are empathetic to your horse loving nature and can assure you, our relationship with these carriage companies include our certainty these horses are taken care of. All hotels in the downtown area have ticket sales options as carriage tours are in great demand.

We are thrilled you enjoyed our hotel and services.

Sincerely,

Bryan Thompson
Director of Marketing/Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2010

I sometimes feel, when reading reviews on Tripadvisor, that people are only happy in brand-spanking new hotels.

Well, we like more mature and more comfortable and the Doubletree typifies that. On top of comfort, every single member of staff we encountered were unfailingly friendly and helpful. And a location that can't be beaten.

We had a "junior suite" with the beds and bathroom "upstairs" which meant a good-sized living room with sink, fridge and microwave "downstairs". For some reason the bathrooms are tiny. Squeezed in, almost as an afterthought. Also, no safe. I do expect to see a safe in a good hotel room these days. Another minor criticism is that there were two rather old TVs on which several of the channels were mis-tuned. There was no channel guide and neither was one available from reception.

Breakfast buffet was good - especially as we got free coupons for this, as Hhonors Gold, in lieu of a room upgrade, presumably. Staff here were really great!

Turn-down service is also provided.

Special mention to one of the reception staff who went out of her way to find an emergency dentist for us. Thank you Gabby!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bktinsc, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2010

Thank you for your review of our hotel. We were thrilled to see you enjoyed your visit with us at our Doubletree Hotel located on the old city market and in the most historic location in Charleston. We were especially pleased to see you named on of our associates, Gabby and that she was able to assist you with your special request. We look forward to your return visit with us very soon.

Bryan Thompson
Director of Marketing/Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews