We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Express Charleston
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Evergreen Motel(Charleston)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn(Charleston)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (693)
Filter reviews
693 results
Traveller rating
378
207
75
19
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
378
207
75
19
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfront deskpancake machinehi expresscinnamon rollsroom was cleanbreakfast areafolly beachconvenient locationhistoric downtownwould stay here againeasy accesscookiesminute driveyogurtstaff was very friendly and helpfulcomplimentary breakfastsouthern hospitality
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
360 - 365 of 693 reviews
Reviewed 6 June 2014

While visiting Charleston for our anniversary, my wife and I stayed at this hotel. We can say NOTHING but good things about the whole package. ALL the staff were very kind and helpful. Kelly, the GM, made our stay perfect. She honored a few special requests we had very graciously. The free breakfast was exceptionally good too! Coffee and tea 24 hours a day. Clean rooms. Beds and pillows were very comfortable. AC worked great. Good location from downtown and Folly Beach area. Price was very fair for what you get. Would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mm_hale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KellyFassett, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Wooohooo! Thank you for sharing your amazing experience with us. We are so pleased that you had a wonderful Anniversary! We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay plus your time in Charleston. We hope you have an opportunity to stay with us again. Happy Anniversary!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Spent 3 nights at this hotel and was pleasantly surprised. Great location, you will need a car to go to the historic area of Charleston. Clean rooms. Close to restaurants and shopping mall. Costco is not far either.
Very friendly staff. We were greeted every morning with a "Good Morning" with a smile. Loved it. They all seemed like they were having a great time while working. Breakfast is the usual Holiday Inn Express, but sufficient for touring the city.
Only one problem, internet was not good. We were on the 3rd floor, took forever to access it and once we did, lost it. Other then that, we loved the hotel. Will come back again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank janej565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KellyFassett, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

We can't thank you enough for the wonderful compliments you shared about your recent stay with us. Our staff loves their job and you can see the smile on each of the team members faces. We are so happy that you enjoyed everything about your trip to Charleston. We hope you have another opportunity to visit the beautiful city again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

For the rate of this hotel, it has sufficient amenities for a weekend trip. They have a fitness center, pool, and free breakfast every morning. The view from the hotel is not that great. However, it is located between downtown Charleston and Ashley Island. Overall, an okay choice but might be better than what th expect from a Holiday Inn.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank DatBoyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KellyFassett, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Thank you for sharing with us your recent experience while staying with us. We are pleased that you had the opportunity to use the fitness center, pool and enjoy breakfast every morning. We hope you had a wonderful time exploring Charleston.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed here for 1 night in May. This hotel is in a great and safe location. The price was great for what we paid... I think $130/night which included taxes, which is an awesome deal. It was directly across from the Town & Country Inn & Suites, which was a little bit nicer but way more expensive! The breakfast in the morning was a typical continental breakfast, but it was nicer than some that I have been too. Everyone at the hotel was very helpful and suggested awesome places to eat as well. The drive into downtown Charleston is not bad at all. The room was clean and comfortable bed. We would def stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank LBennettRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KellyFassett, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience with us. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We completely agree about our location, its a great spot. It is close to the downtown area, shops, movie theater, restaurants, and other local attractions. We hope you have another opportunity to visit Charleston again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We found ourselves in Charleston SC on a 2-college graduation weekend! Not just this hotel, but all them, had jacked up their prices for the occasion. In our other cities, we stayed in town, but I couldn't find anything much less than $400 a night. Highway Robbery. So we stayed 5 miles outside town on the Savannah Hwy. We often stay at a Holiday Inn Express on our other travels, and this was no different except that we usually pay anywhere from $130 to $170. This was $207 plus tx and fees. Service was fine, breakfast was fine, parking was free, no exhaust fan in the bathroom. Biggest drawback was there are obviously some kind of rubber-backed sheets or mattress pads on the beds. I heard another man complaining on the elevator and suddenly realized why I was wet with sweat at night, even with the AC. I can see them wanting to protect their mattresses, but it was really quite unpleasant. I was relieved to move out because of this one thing.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank centralvalleygrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KellyFassett, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our service and the complimentary hot breakfast! Rates on the weekend here in Charleston are certainly higher than at other times, but as you found, we are a good value as compared to the downtown prices. We have spoken of your concern about a rubber backed mattress pad to our Executive Housekeeper and he is looking into it. As a general rule, we do not use those. Thank you for staying with us, and congratulations on the two graduations!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews