We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good for a Short Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Charleston
Ranked #32 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good for a Short Stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

This is a nice hotel. Clean and well maintained. Parking is very limited. While there was enough parking, the later you arrive the more you will have to "invent" a spot for your car. The room was clean and the beds were comfortable. Breakfast is rather limited, so don't expect too much from that. I would recommend having breakfast elsewhere. There is no reason to avoid this hotel, and it is pretty close to the old historical part of town (less than 10 minute drive). It is also close to the express way, making it a convenient hotel if you are on your way to some place after Charleston.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KellyFassett, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you for staying with us on your short trip to Charleston. We are happy that you had opportunity to visit the downtown area. Our location is great due to us being so close to the interstate, shopping, plantations, restaurants and only10 minutes from the downtown. Thank you for choosing us while you were here in Charleston. We hope that you have another opportunity to visit Charleston again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

639 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    343
    197
    69
    17
    13
See reviews for
204
234
32
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, SC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

Not at all impressed with this hotel. Thought the price was high for the area since it's off the beaten path (I know...I visit Charleston often). Room was spacious and comfortable; breakfast was good but the breakfast area was small; hallways also seem small to me. I checked in fairly late but the clerk was attentive, even offered water and trail mix. Next morning, the housekeepers began cleaning the room next to me before 9am. Thought that was odd since checkout was not until 11am but I guess they needed to get started. Probably will not stay here again...I prefer the Mt. Pleasant area.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barbekirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KellyFassett, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I am sorry that we didn't meet your expectations during your stay. We will be going through a complete renovations in 2015, we hope that you will give us another opportunity in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

The staff was helpful, and the rooms were clean and quiet. The free wireless internet and free breakfast were nice surprises. The fridge in the room worked out perfectly for our kids, and made the stay easy after a long day of travel.

Room Tip: We had the pool to ourselves, and there were plenty of dining and grocery store options around the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mikey_P342014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KellyFassett, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
We are so happy that the Holiday Inn Express worked well for your stay. We are happy that you enjoyed everything from the free WiFi, to our new breakfast bar, and to our clean guest rooms. So glad to hear that you had the opportunity to enjoy the pool all to yourselves. We hope you have an opportunity to visit us again. Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgetown, Kentucky
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

This was our 1st time staying in a Holiday Inn... express or otherwise... it was a fantastic experience. .. the front desk clerks were very nice and helpful ... the room was clean and smelled very nice. .. the breakfast liked small. .. but was more complete than a comparable free breakfast. .. our party couldn't be more pleased.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KellyFassett, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
WOW! We are so happy that you stayed with us as your 1st time at a Holiday Inn Express. We are so pleased that you enjoyed everything about your stay. We hope you continue to stay at Holiday Inn Expresses in the future. Thank you for you wonderful comments about your recent stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

I have stayed at many holiday inns, and this one was not the best. Overall, this hotel was just ok and nothing special. No real problems with our stay, just not super impressed. It seemed to be an older hotel that had been renovated.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KellyFassett, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you for staying with us during your recent trip to Charleston. I am sorry that we didn't meet your expectations during your stay. We are planning a full renovation in 2015 and we hope that you will give us another opportunity in the future. Thank you for your feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

We wanted a nice hotel that did not break the bank for our weekend in Charleston. This hotel was just what we wanted- comfy beds, pleasant staff, and a good location. It was barely 8 minutes to get to the downtown area. Rooms were very clean and we were always greeted warmly by the staff. Will definitely stay on our next visit.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tariqsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KellyFassett, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you for staying with us, we are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. I agree that our location is close to everything, it's close to the downtown area, restaurants, shopping and plantations. We are pleased that you enjoyed our new beds, our clean room and of course our friendly staff. We hope you have an opportunity to visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Traveling for a 2 week trip south, we wanted to keep within our budget and have affordable, comfortable, clean hotels that served a free breakfast. We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express for 3 nights on Savannah highway rather than the downtown location because of the above-mentioned needs. We didn't mind the 10 minute drive to the historic city, because we loved the hotel and it's amenities, not to mention the value. The room was clean and well appointed, and the bed allowed us wonderful sleep. It was great to have a hot breakfast that was replenished frequently, and quite good and plentiful for buffet style.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PatC1809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KellyFassett, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
We can't express how grateful we are for the wonderful review. We are so happy that you decided to stay with us for the 3 nights while you were in Charleston. So delighted that you enjoyed our New Breakfast Bar, we just added new items to it last month. It has a wide selection of hot items, healthy choices, and your option to be able to just grab and go. We hope that you will have another opportunity to visit Charleston again. Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn
BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn
#28 of 60 in Charleston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,095 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites West of the Ashley
1.1 mi away
Sleep Inn Charleston
Sleep Inn Charleston
#36 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
0.1 mi away
Town & Country Inn and Suites
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charleston /  West Ashley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Charleston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Charleston

Property: Holiday Inn Express Charleston
Address: 1943 Savannah Highway, Charleston, SC 29407-6250
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Charleston
#23 Family Hotel in Charleston
#27 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#31 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Charleston 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel Charleston is the perfect choice for value and convenience, located five miles from Historic Downtown Charleston and Charleston International Airport. At check-in, enjoy freshly baked cookies and icy lemonade. In addition, our friendly staff will assist in your plans to explore Charleston shopping, Charleston golf, Charleston area beaches, great local Charleston restaurants and many other Charleston attractions. For your convenience, tours are available with convenient pick up from our lobby. Our friendly staff will assist you with Charleston tour packages, directions and discount coupons. Charleston Annual Special Events & Festivals (within 5 miles of hotel) Southeastern Wildlife Expo (February) Charleston Food & Wine Festival (February) Festival of House & Gardens (March) Flower Town Festival (April) Cooper River Bridge Run (April) Charleston Cajun Festival (April) Family Circle Cup (Tennis April) Spoleto & Piccolo Spoleto Festival (May-June) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Charleston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Charleston (Us 17 And i-526)
Holiday Inn Express Charleston (Us 17 & i-526) Hotel Charleston
Holiday Inn Charleston
Charleston Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing