We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY nice place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Charleston
Ranked #31 of 62 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Grain Valley, Missouri
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“VERY nice place to stay”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

A friend and I booked online after reading reviews and trying to find the best place for a decent rate.
I can not tell you how happy we were with our stay. The rooms were clean, the breakfast options were great. Everyone who helped us was Extremely nice!! They helped our daughter surprise us with gifts in our room prior to arrival and everything.
I HIGHLY recommend this place and it takes Alot for me to recommend a hotel. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Our particular room was 105, just a little ways from traffic to the breakfast and front desk and we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LisaMcLallen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KellyFassett, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Thank you for the wonderful comments about your recent stay. So pleased that you enjoyed everything about the hotel. We are so happy between the staff and your daughter we were able to surprise you. Thank you for sharing your experience with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    349
    200
    72
    17
    13
See reviews for
210
238
32
53
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

My first time in Charleston and it was fun. We had better rates by staying five miles from the Historic District and the drive was easy. We went west to visit the plantations and to the east to the beaches and Historic District. The hotel was clean and well staffed.
Things to do: Visit the Bay and take a boat tour. You will hear lots of information on the early town, see Fort Sumter and other forts, and cruise under the beautiful bridge.
A carriage ride is a must to hear about and see the beautiful homes. Afterwards, we took a walk through the area. It is amazing. The homeowners we visited with were proud of their homes and happy to let us view the gardens.
Wonderful restaurants were plentiful and the locals were happy to tell you about their favorites. We never were guided wrong. It is a very friendly area and all we had to do was start the conversations.
Lastly, visit the beaches. Our favorite was Folly Beach. There are some good restaurants near there, too.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bhfsar2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KellyFassett, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Thank you for sharing your stay with us. We appreciate the wonderful comments about the hotel. We are so happy that you had the opportunity to actually see Charleston. I truly enjoy walking downtown as well and looking at the beautiful homes. It looks like you had a blast and that you had a chance to do so much. We hope you have an opportunity to visit Charleston again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taylors, South Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

My family stayed here for 6 nights while on vacation. The room was nice and clean. The beds were very comfortable. Most of the staff was very friendly. Breakfast was pretty good. Hotel lobby always smelled fresh and clean.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KellyFassett, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience about your 6 day stay with us. We are so pleased that you had a great time while you were in Charleston. We hope that you have another opportunity to visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adairsville
Level 6 Contributor
262 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

I reviewed so many hotels for Charleston that I could hardly remember which was better than the other. I did not want to spend big bucks for a room but wanted a clean comfortable hotel with breakfast. After weighing all the options, I chose this Holiday Inn Express. This was a short vacation for my adult daughter, husband and myself. This HI was close to the highway into Charleston - that we were able to access all we wanted to see within 20-30 min. All the hotel staff was very friendly and made it understood that they were there to make our stay as pleasant as possible. We had a room with 2 queen beds that gave more than enough room for us to store our things and get dressed without tripping over each other. Plenty of towels were provided so we didn't have to beg. Beds were high off the ground and you had a choice of firm or soft pillows. Bathroom was spotless with the most interesting basket weave wall paper and Bath & Body Works shampoo,conditioner & lotion. Our only complaint was there is no fan so it got quite steamy during showers.
Breakfast was WONDERFUL -always fresh and filled as soon as it got low. The sausage gravy was some of the best we have ever had There was also several choice of dry cereal, instant oatmeal cups, fresh fruit, yogurt and make your own pancakes. The 3 mornings we were there also included scrambled eggs, sausage (link & patty) delicious crisp bacon, biscuits and sausage gravy on 2 mornings. There were always several trays of wonderful fresh,warm cinnamon rolls -yum. My daughter remarked that the breakfast alone made this a top score hotel.
Our one concern (other than the fan less bathroom) was the air conditioner seemed to be quite damp (humidity) to the point that even the carpet felt damp. It did a wonderful job of cooling the room but it also made you feel kind of clammy . It was in the high 90's while we were there so that might have had something to do with it.
We would definitely stay here again when in town. Great trip!
There were several family type restaurants near the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sally W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KellyFassett, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
WOW!!!! So happy that you had a fantastic stay with us. I truly enjoyed reading your review, I appreciate all the wonderful the wonderful comments about the guestroom, breakfast, and your experience. We are so pleased that you had a wonderful time in Charleston. We hope you have another opportunity to come and visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

My wife and I stayed at this HI Express during a recent visit to Charleston. We found it to be a bit above the quality of other HI Express hotels in which we have stayed in the past. The staff was very friendly and helpful, the room was sparkling clean, and the breakfast was quite good. It is located only a few minutes' drive from downtown Charleston, and the front-desk personnel provided good directions and useful information about what to see. If we pay a return visit to Charleston, we will stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank InspectorT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KellyFassett, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Thank you for sharing with us your wonderful experience at the Holiday Inn Express. We are so pleased that we met all your needs during your stay. We hope you have an opportunity to stay with us again. Thank you for staying with us, we truly appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abbotsford, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

From our arrival to our departure the next morning, we were warmly welcomed and acknowledged by each and every member of staff we encountered, from the cheery front desk staff to the smiling room cleaners. The decor is current and smart, our room was clean and fresh smelling, and the bed was very comfortable with wonderful pillows. Well done, keep up the good work!

Room Tip: We were in room #103 on the ground floor. The closest to the lobby and front doors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mandaliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KellyFassett, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for the amazing review! We are so happy that you had a great stay with us while visiting Charleston. The staff enjoys interacting with our guest, and they want everyone to have a memorable experience while they are staying at the hotel. We appreciate the comments you shared with us about your stay. We hope you have an opportunity to visit Charleston again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We arrived in late July for a two-day tour of Charleston and Middleton Plantation. We could not be more pleased with this Holiday Inn Express. The staff greeted us cheerfully, helped us map out our drive into Charleston (10 minutes away), and our drive to Middleton (also conveniently right up the street, 18 minutes). Our rooms were comfortably air-conditioned (very quiet too!), clean, well-appointed, and recently updated. The complementary breakfast was very nice, with a wide variety of options, including hot meats and eggs each morning. This hotel exceeded our expectations at this price point. Would book a reservation here again if ever in Charleston. :)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nezubitto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KellyFassett, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Charleston, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Thank you for the wonderful comments about your recent stay with us. We are happy that you experienced such a great time visiting Middleton Plantation and Historic Downtown. So pleased that you enjoyed every moment about your stay from a good nights sleep to a delicious breakfast. We hope you have another opportunity to visit Charleston again. Thank you so much sharing your comments with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
1.1 mi away
Sleep Inn Charleston
Sleep Inn Charleston
#37 of 62 in Charleston
241 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western Charleston Inn
Best Western Charleston Inn
#24 of 62 in Charleston
1,174 reviews
0.1 mi away
Town & Country Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites West of the Ashley
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Charleston Riverview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Charleston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Charleston

Property: Holiday Inn Express Charleston
Address: 1943 Savannah Highway, Charleston, SC 29407-6250
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Charleston
#23 Family Hotel in Charleston
#27 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#31 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Charleston 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel Charleston is the perfect choice for value and convenience, located five miles from Historic Downtown Charleston and Charleston International Airport. At check-in, enjoy freshly baked cookies and icy lemonade. In addition, our friendly staff will assist in your plans to explore Charleston shopping, Charleston golf, Charleston area beaches, great local Charleston restaurants and many other Charleston attractions. For your convenience, tours are available with convenient pick up from our lobby. Our friendly staff will assist you with Charleston tour packages, directions and discount coupons. Charleston Annual Special Events & Festivals (within 5 miles of hotel) Southeastern Wildlife Expo (February) Charleston Food & Wine Festival (February) Festival of House & Gardens (March) Flower Town Festival (April) Cooper River Bridge Run (April) Charleston Cajun Festival (April) Family Circle Cup (Tennis April) Spoleto & Piccolo Spoleto Festival (May-June) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Charleston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Charleston (Us 17 And i-526)
Holiday Inn Express Charleston (Us 17 & i-526) Hotel Charleston
Holiday Inn Charleston
Charleston Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing